sydney devine Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Morning All, Anyone got any information on former Motherwell striker Rab Stewart? Need a wee bit of background and can only remember the briefest of details from his time at Fir Park. And I'm afraid he's been blanked by Wikipedia. (Surely this is your territory, Pie/Foghorn?) Thanks in advance, Syd Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 The guy who scored the winner against Brechin to win promotion in 1984/85? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Was it not Andy Walker who got the winner against Brechin? Think Rab got the opener that day and about 8 or 9 others that season. Seem to recall we signed him from the Pars for about 5k or something. Sure he played for us briefly in the Premier the season after, scored a peach when we lost 3-1 to Dundee fairly early season, but disappeared after that. Not sure where he ended up to be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rammer Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Was he the wee ginger heided player? I'm sure he ended up a dentist/orthodontist at Strathclyde Hospital. That says it all about his playing days really! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Not exactly a mine of footballing information, but lists some former clubs at least: Trashy article from some downmarket tabloid And scoring for Dunfermline against Rangers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Clicky "Rab was signed from dunfermline athletic and he was the club's top scorer as they won promotion in 1984/85 with 9 goals to his name. he was capable of performing well out wide or through the middle, he was very fast and while at fir park he did pick up a few injuries which sidelined him for months. he joined falkirk in 1985, he was also part of the deal which brought crawford baptie to fir park. he scored 10 goals in his 'well career." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Nice wee bit on Rab from Andy Walker here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
4-3AET Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 As Andy "oil painting" Walker eluded to, Rab wasnae the best looking footballer ever! Sure his nickname reflected this, "Wee Quasie" springs to mind but not 100% sure? And that was the Motherwell fans!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brainier Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 eleven goals in 30 games in 84/85 9 league Ayr away 3-1 Meadowbank away 2-4 Accies home 3-0 East Fife away 2-1 Falkirk away 2-0 Killie home 2-2 Ayr away 2-1 St Johnstone home 4-0 Brechin home 2-1 (the first goal, Andy Wanker got the second) 2 cup Dumbarton home 4-0 one goal in 8 games in 85/86 away at Dundee in 1-3 defeat. Didn't score for Falkirk until 87/88 when he got seven including one against Well in a 3-0 win. Played alongside Brian Martin, Gordon Marshall, Ian MacLeod and the legendary Crawford Baptie at Falkirk. And yes, quite ugly. See page 155 of Genge Fry and Jim Jeffrey's book of Well players! Wee Quasie indeed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Meadowbank Now there's a team you don't hear of everyday...blast from the past seeing that...! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Use to see him regularly on my visits to the Dental Hospital where he was a technician. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 RAB STEWART Born: Airdrie d.o.b: 3 January 1962 Position: Forward Teams Seasons Apps. Gls. Dunfermline Athletic 81-84 79 17 Motherwell 84-86 33 10 Falkirk 85-89 57 7 Queen of the South 88-90 16 0 Totals 185 34 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 Did Rab Stewart not sign at the same time as Ray Blair?, probably completely wrong but that's what i've got in my head. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted May 11, 2009 Report Share Posted May 11, 2009 I'm sure he appears in one the archive games that Yabba's got. PS He was in the daily record's ''new home'' page a while back( see yer wife for details!). Remember Rab as a wee skinny guy that would get blown over by a gust of wind. But check him in that paper article, now a fat b@stard Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydney devine Posted May 12, 2009 Author Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 Thanks to everyone for your help - that's plenty. Now, here's another challenge for all the same anoraks... does anyone know what happened to a guy we signed called Bob Malcolm...? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 Bob Malcolm? There was a Bobby McCallum, signed in 1958, is that who you meant? Made 150 appearances over 9 years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cambo97 Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 Is it not that guy we signed just over a year ago and has made 23 appearances but has not played for us yet? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deaddogman Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 Thanks to everyone for your help - that's plenty.Now, here's another challenge for all the same anoraks... does anyone know what happened to a guy we signed called Bob Malcolm...? he was spotted running round in circles on St Mirren park , but just a fleeting glimpse mind you although i may have just been seeing things Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 he was spotted *running* round in circles on St Mirren parkLies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 RAB STEWART Born: Airdrie That'll explain the 'good looks' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 he was spotted running round in circles on St Mirren park , but just a fleeting glimpse mind you although i may have just been seeing things Remember you were not too well at Greenhill Road, so maybe you were delirious? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deaddogman Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 Remember you were not too well at Greenhill Road, so maybe you were delirious? Ah well maybe your right Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MearnsWell Posted May 12, 2009 Report Share Posted May 12, 2009 Bob Malcolm? Known to trivia anoraks as the only Motherwell player to have entered Miss Scotland. Mind hearing some radio pundit saying that, canny mind who, must have been a complete non-entity... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...