alanbmfc Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 As I said earlier, Leitchy with an experienced number two would probably be the prudent choice and best way of keeping the continuity going at the club. Suppose it's all conjecture at the moment but if he does folllow MM (if MM goes at all of course), I think Mio currently doing youth at Celtic might be a good choice if say wee Tommy joined him as a number two. All about 'reigniting the family spirit' you know! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
London Irish Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Totally agree. Mark McGhee has been excellent for us and I don't think there is anyone out there (given our lack of pulling power) that could do better. I think he is the best manager in the SPL, hence the speculation about Aberdeen/Celtic. If he goes it's bad news. As far as the Hearts thing is concerned I can't believe Well fans are still bitter about that. He was offered a job at a bigger club with more money and he turned it down to stay with us. His only crime was that he thought about it. I am a Well fan but in my view if he does get offered the Dons job he would be making a mistake not to take it (he should have taken the Hearts). He would leave with my best wishes. Not the politically correct thing to say, but you are right, McGhee did make a mistake for him personally by not going to Hearts. The concept of loyalty in football is dead - fans are so fickle that to base any career decision on loyalty to them or to a club is just laughable. McGhee got little credit for sticking by the club last season, so he should do the sums. Naturally, I hope he has another misguided attack of conscience and sticks by a team that can offer him much less in terms of career prospects and reward. I actually there are strong prospects that he will be daft enough to do this! But if he doesn't, then good luck to Boyle in finding anyone near as good as him. I did see Plymouth's progress after Williamson took over from Sturrock and it was not pretty, not pretty at all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 ffs will we ever learn about appointing first time managers? Scott Leitch, while obviously a good club man, is most definately not the man to take on the manager's job. Spot on. Leitch has a job for life at Motherwell as far as I'm concerned. But not as Number 1 - not now anyway. It will be Malpas all over again, except I reckon Leitch has even fewer contacts in the game than Malpas had through his Scotland work. This will lead to VERY poor signings. IF McGhee goes it should be experience that comes in. I wouldn't be adverse to a furrener coming in either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 I reckon it's a WHEN not IF That's the same for any manager. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gary_411 Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 just heard strachans left celtic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Yup, early names are MMG and owen coyle! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Au revoir Mark McGhee .....next season could be horrible Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Au revoir Mark McGhee .....next season could be horrible NO CHANCE the sellick hoardes would want McGhee - a man who 'guided' a team from 3rd to 7th with a poor 'big game' and cup history too. Forget it. It will be a nig name. That crazy guy, Bilic or someone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 It's Celtic, they always take the cheap option. If McGhee can take us to third with no money.....then am sure he'll win the league with their money. Have you seen how bad Rangers are(some of their players cannae even scramble a egg,BROADFOOT, BROADFOOT, BROADFOOT)???? Celtic hordes are fickle and thick, they'll love McGhee....they don't like Strachan because he's not a "Celtic man", even though he won 6 trophies(including three championships in four years) and qualification to the later rounds of the Champions League....that's mare than Martin O'Neill ever did but they see him as a god!!!!. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 It will be a nig name. That crazy guy, Bilic or someone. Didn't Bilic turn down a Premiership club to stay at Croatia, or did I make that up!? Although I can see why he'd be on the Celtic radar... "Thought to be a common practising Catholic, he has been seen many times proclaiming his love for his religion, thanking it for his success. He is known to often carry a medallion of Pope John Paul II, which he accidentally dropped during a celebration and re-showed respect for by kissing it three times before pocketing it again." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
east stand loyal Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 NO CHANCE the sellick hoardes would want McGhee - a man who 'guided' a team from 3rd to 7th with a poor 'big game' and cup history too. Forget it. It will be a nig name. That crazy guy, Bilic or someone. Ruud Gullit? I think Celtic will try to get someone of a higher profile, as for Aberdeen I don't know tbh, I think if he was offered the job he would probably take it! McGhees linked with goin to another club every second week its a royal pain in the arse! If he does go I'd have liked us to go for the legend that is Ian Holloway but he became the Blackpool manager last week so thats him ruled out! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 If he does go I'd have liked us to go for the legend that is Ian Holloway but he became the Blackpool manager last week so thats him ruled out! That who i would have liked too. As for Aberdeen, i wouldn't be surprised to see Lee Richardson gettin' the job there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 The Aberdeen fans seem to want Darren Ferguson or Eric Black based on what they are saying on their boards. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 As for Aberdeen, i wouldn't be surprised to see Lee Richardson gettin' the job there Was that the English guy who was a bit of a thug? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rammer Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Was that the English guy who was a bit of a thug? This the prick? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Yep Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Was that the English guy who was a bit of a thug? Indeed it is. Scored a cracker against Torino in the Uefa Cup once upon a time. Eric Black seems to be the popular choive amongst their support. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 Looking at the Aberdeen boards, somebody has posted that Yogi will be their new boss while others have posted Craig Robertson who will be mentored by Willie Miller. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 They seem sure... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 I honestly dont think Aberdeen are a big step up at the moment. With a few key players leaving (Severin et al.) its a bit of a rebuilding mission there as well, and with their lack of cash, i would be surprised if MM took it if offered. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 They seem sure... McGhee's Aberdeen minded Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 McGhees linked with goin to another club every second week its a royal pain in the arse! I could handle that but the first week isnae even half done that's whit annoys me Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 I could handle that but the first week isnae even half done that's whit annoys me It's like when you have a burd who is too good looking for you! Every other guy is a potential danger Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu92 Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 From that dons forum... "To add to this 'story' there are rumours elsewhere that McGhee has already quit Fir Park." Lol. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted May 25, 2009 Report Share Posted May 25, 2009 It's like when you have a burd who is too good looking for you! Every other guy is a potential danger Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...