faddythedaddy Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Softie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pretzel Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Eliphas Shivute Didn't the club we let him join for nowt sell him to a club in china for £400,000, I loved him Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 In the early 1970's we were always looking for the next Dixie Deans, it was a wee while before Willie Pettigrew arrived on the scene, and we had various players up front and three I always liked were Jumbo Muir, John Goldthorpe, and Kirkie Lawson. Agree with that ..................... Jumbo's goal in the Texaco Semi at Swynecastle will live with me for ever. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branchy Well Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Ian Marshall for me. But then again maybe Mio Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JT1886 Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 For me has to be between John Philliben or Brian Martin. JT. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliePettigrew Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 I agree with the Bobby Graham comment, If you look at Pettigrews scoring record after the left Fir Park there is no comparison all because her never have someone like Bobby Graham to give him the ammo. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alex Spark Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 John"Airwolf"Reilly Did Dave McCabe score at all for m'well?Think he was highly rated,can only remember his disallowed "goal" against the H*ns John Hendry:another great McLeish signing,remember teflon Eck stating the reason for Hendry's poor form was that he couldn't sell his flat in London Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spam Boy Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Mickey Weir. He played a massive part in keeping us up in 97 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 I would like to throw Stevie 'Clangers' Woods in the mix. I know he made some costly errors but seen him make some top drwer saves, so At Times i think he should perhaps have gotten more credit. I remember the day livi shipped 5 past him and fans were ready to literary jump the dyke and batter him. He took some abuse from day dot and would stay 9 years. not too shabby Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 I agree with the Bobby Graham comment, If you look at Pettigrews scoring record after the left Fir Park there is no comparison all because her never have someone like Bobby Graham to give him the ammo. I've aways been a member of the Bobby Graham fan club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Brian Martin for me all the way. Along with Dougie, big hero of mine when I was a kid. Think he is currently in charge of Stonehouse Violet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Bobby Graham never got the credit he was due when he played alongside Wullie Pettigrew. Graham would get the ball, hold it up, wait for Pettigrew to arrive and play it in front of him to run onto and Wullies pace took him past defenders and scored a lot of his goals due to the assists from Bobby Graham. I disagree with that. My memory of the time was that it was the exact oopposite. Pettigrew never got the credit he did because a lot of people said it was all down to Bobby Graham. Bobby Graham left Motherwell two seasons before Pettigrew did and it didn't stop Willie from scoring goals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Joe Carson. Your original " nae f*ckin messin" centre-half if ever there was one!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PettyWulliegrew Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Rennie, Watson,Wark,Mcvie,Millar,McLaren..........all shy wallflowers !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 shy wallflowers !! Gregor Stevens MkII Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VWBug Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 The Kaiser for service to the club through tough times and a shitty way to end his well career. One of the best players in the modern era for Well, and a great guy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 The Kaiser for service to the club through tough times and a shitty way to end his well career. One of the best players in the modern era for Well, and a great guy. 100% agreed . cant forget his skills either 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted May 31, 2009 Author Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Aye, but the Kaiser is hardly unsung to be fair. Another unsung guy was Billy the Fish. There was one year where he was amazing for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted May 31, 2009 Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Fantastic subject for a thread although think some are missing the point of unsung heroes/guys you never hear about Among the first I thought of was Rab Shannon was a bit of a cult hero to me and my mate didn't ever get the feeling anyone else rated his contribution at the time John 'Softie' Philiben, did he not play in every game of the cup run up until the Final where he didn't make the squad due to the limited spaces thus not getting a medal Gutted for the big man and he also has a fine record as Motherwell Manager although seem to remember he was prone to the occasional OG and the amount of balls he put over the roof of stands around the country must've cost a fortune what about George 'Pace/Shades' Burley served us well even tho' the legs were going he had the footballing brain about him to read the game ala Craggs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted May 31, 2009 Author Report Share Posted May 31, 2009 Aye, George Burley is a right good shout! I remember the reception he got in his last game in his 1st spell with us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted June 1, 2009 Report Share Posted June 1, 2009 Michael Doesburg. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...