Andy H Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 I'm glad they finally saw sense and brought the Derbies back for 2nd Jan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Yeah, one of Clarky's goals was a lovely little lob over the goalie from the edge of the box. He had just got a hat-trick against Dundee Utd. and nearly made it 2 in a row at Perth. I'm not sure but I seem to remember he was subbed and didn't look pleased. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 bus load never got in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 some good fixtures. if we get a good start against st j and killie we'll hopefully take a good crowd up to visit mr mcghee in abereen. Â h*n.s at fir park midweek is always good. we have a good record playing them at night midweek. Â two trips to edinburgh in december, the second one on dec 30th should be a belter. celtic at home in december as well, hopefully it'll be a three o'clock kick off (i love floodlights) Â accies at fir park on jan 2 should be a belter as well. then the scottish cup the week after. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 yeh your right, it was something like he would have been the first person to score back to back hat-tricks in (Scottish?) Proffessional footy? something like that anyway  don't think so. larsson scored two hat tricks in a row then scored four against us in the no goram 1-7 game (i'm still raging at that!). tam cowan had said he'd chop his left baw off if larsson got a hat trick against us but then claimed he didn't have to cause he scored 4 not 3. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 bus load never got in One did, and was promptly lobbed out for trying to argue the point over those refused entry Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martin86 Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Really looking forward to playing Aberdeen now  As Steelboy says hopefully if we get a good start we'll bring a decent crowd up there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Oh dear, St Johnstone away first game  My feelings exactly Dave. Apart from the OF away this was the one game I really wanted to avoid as the opening fixture. Its their Cup Final and a game we'll struggle to take anything from. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 My feelings exactly Dave. Apart from the OF away this was the one game I really wanted to avoid as the opening fixture. Its their Cup Final and a game we'll struggle to take anything from. Â aye the cardboard cut outs will be right up for it. Â last time a motherwell manager made his debut there things did not go well. micheal fraser better not get chipped from the halfway line. Â some decent memories there as well. obviously the scottish cup game but also spencer's solo 30 yarder. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 One did, and was promptly lobbed out for trying to argue the point over those refused entry you watched from the hill and others had some fun Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Not bad, not bad.  First game at McDiarmid though could be on Monday night if Setanta get their finger oot. Remember they had Accies first game on against Utd to give them their limelight for coming up. That would be a shitter as I predict a LOT of 'Well fans going up for that one  'Derby Day' is good and we have a good chance to get 6 points on the board from the first 2, which I can't remember doing for AGES!!  Although back to back Old Firm - AGAIN ang AGAIN and AGAIN for us!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 I long for the days when we played each other just the twice the second half of the season was almost a carbon copy of the first. Now the inconsistencies are glaring, we play Celtic twice in 6 weeks, October and December, then dont play them again until the last match before the split, 4 months later. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 I long for the days when we played each other just the twice the second half of the season was almost a carbon copy of the first. Now the inconsistencies are glaring, we play Celtic twice in 6 weeks, October and December, then dont play them again until the last match before the split, 4 months later. Â Â That was done on purpose, as clubs requested that the 'groundhog day' (or groundhog quarter) effect was removed, playing team 'A' first game of quarter, team 'B' second etc.... Â It isn't 'inconsistencies' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 I remember going up to Perth in the Cup and a certain Scott Mcdonald got a double after coming on as a sub, first game for the club? Does that sound about right? I was steaming so I could be remembering wrong... Â think it was only one he scored, beat them like 3 - 0 and clarkson scored one of the three, as did skippy, just canni mind who also scored Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 we have a good chance to get 6 points on the board from the first 2, which I can't remember doing for AGES!! Â Poor memory then cos it was only McGhee;s first season. December looks a tough month and the last two games are frought with danger if we chasing anything though there is a caveat that the Celtic (a) game at the end may move if someone is in Europe. Also think midweek cup semis are a daft idea. I know the season has been compressed because of the WC and Burley's desire for a free Saturday on 8th but that'll further reduce attendances for what should be biggish games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Something tells me Alex Burns? Â Â Soccerbase says: Â Scottish FA Cup - Round 3 - KO 15:00 St Johnstone 0 (0) - 3(2) Motherwell Clarkson 24 Clarkson 32 McDonald 90 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonesy Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Toastie done everything that day except score. Even to the point he went for a diving header and kept pulling himself along the ground to try to connect with the header. Â I think it was one game where people were feeling sorry for him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 i had completely forgotten about alex burns' second spell here. Â he was shite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Wonder if the Bird Table is still there. Â I have a feeling some of our residents may feel like a trip down memory lane. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Happy days if your quick you'll get us at 400/1 to win the SPL and 1000/1 to win the europa league , what a double Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 you watched from the hill and others had some fun  Yip, carry oot fae the supermarket and our ain escort watching o'er us tae make sure we didnae cause any bother. As always they were in the wrang place at the wrang time, sannies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted June 17, 2009 Report Share Posted June 17, 2009 Yip, carry oot fae the supermarket and our ain escort watching o'er us tae make sure we didnae cause any bother. As always they were in the wrang place at the wrang time, sannies. Trying to get in the St Johnstone end didnae really help our cause either.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 18, 2009 Report Share Posted June 18, 2009 Trying to get in the St Johnstone end didnae really help our cause either.... Your fault then? FWIW I fancied Accies early whilst the weather wis okay for a walk in the park, November smells. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted June 18, 2009 Report Share Posted June 18, 2009 Trying to get in the St Johnstone end didnae really help our cause either.... i blame wee dougies hospitallity Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted June 18, 2009 Report Share Posted June 18, 2009 FWIW I fancied Accies early whilst the weather wis okay for a walk in the park, November smells. Don't think the local constabulary would. Me? I'll be in hospitality Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...