Juan Kerse Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Surely this deserves a thread outwith the mindless transfer speculation thread!? The pictures of him in the Bristol City shirt are boak inducing!! Davie is and always will be OUR player. Not often you get a guy who gives 8 seasons to a club and not once utters a bad word about the club! No asking for bigger moves, NEVER is the press acting like the billy big baw bag so many young footballers do. Davie is a class act. It isn't often you get a player who has so much emotional attachment to the club and witnessing him with the 'Well scarf on coming over to our support at Hearts was the most emotional football moment in ma puff. Perhaps that is why he needs to leave actually, he will always have that emotional attachmnet to the club. That aside though, Davie was quite simply a Motherwell player, who loved the club he got his break with. He seemed to love every goal like it was his first and last, no arrogance about him at all. Welcome back anytime, I'm sure we all know we will be showing up in the first game at the new stadium in 2016 to witness two particular Old Favourites line up for the 'Well once more. Davie and James, make it happen Anyway, all the best DC - Ledgend!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 I tend to agree, anyone who racks up over 250 appearances for the Well before his 24th birthday deserves a wee bit of a tribute. As you've said, the way he has conducted himself off the field could be used as an example to any young player. And his commitment while on the field never wavered, even when he wasn't the most popular guy around the place he never hid. With the impending sale of Paul Quinn, you can't help feeling it's kind of the end of an era. The four very young bucks of the first post administration season will all be gone. Although the thought strikes me that for a team that finished bottom, we've done well out of them. The sales of McFadden, Pearson, Clarkson and Quinn will have brought the club something like £3,000,000 in fees. Respect to the youth policy. But I digress. Cheers DC. You'll always be welcome round here. A legend at 23... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 The real reaosn we are replacing the pitch is cos Davie wore out the old one with his constant running. Been rare to see a player work so hard for the team. All the best to him, and thanks for everything (including the tidy wee transfer fee). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 But I digress. Cheers DC. You'll always be welcome round here. A legend at 23... Much the same as 'oor James', can only echo the sentiment above. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 The real reaosn we are replacing the pitch is cos Davie wore out the old one with his constant running. Sometimes in the Champions Legue games, the TV will flash up the stat as to how much ground a player has covered. Love to have seen Clarkson's stats for that... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Welcome back anytime Davie, hope he destroys that league and is back here with James McFadden in 2013. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
carlukemurray Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Hopefully he will get the service that his intelligent running requires. Didn't get much last season and still bagged a respectable number of goals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ernie Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Sad to see him go agree with Haggis that i have never seen a player cover so much of Fir Park. All the best Davie thats for the memories. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EastStandWellFan Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Don't remember ever being so gutted that a player left (and I have nearly 35 years of supporting MFC under my belt).......and for the simple reason that I never expected it to happen. I wish Davie all the luck in the world - I couldn't be happier that in the last two years we saw him at his very best and he proved so many wrong. He stood tall when he was hurting on the inside and matured beyond belief. Sad to see him go, but can't blame him. Stuart. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Farewell and good luck Clarky boy. A player who's come on leaps and bounds in his time here and gave us 110% every single time he took to the field. We will miss him greatly I fear. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 As I said in another thread all the best Clarky!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
macdmfc Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 All the best Clarky! Gutted Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 So sad to see him go ,like someone else said it was so unreal to see him holding up the Bristol city jersey ,a great ambassador and role model for our club all the best Clarky. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
angusexile Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 A sportsman should have character not be a character. Could have been written for Clarkson. He has been through some real tough times and comes out head held high. All the best Clarky, thanks for the memories Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonesy Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Gutted he's gone. Could never imagine him wearing another club's strip. Hopefully we'll get to have him back one day along with Faddy. Getting those two back into a front line along with Porter would be very interesting. All the best Clarky, hope it works out for you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 All the best to him. I said in another thread that when I first posted on the forum a couple of summers back Clarkson was a figure of fun due to his lack of goals. The sadness with which has departure is now being met shows how he's improved. He obviously has guts and has worked hard to prove his doubters wrong. By SPL standards this undisclosed fee will be quite big, and he's earned his chance to move on. I hope he enjoys his time at Bristol. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Cheers for the memories clarky. Top bloke! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Good Luck DC and the best for the future. Hope we get you see in C&A again in the future. Gutted that we've lost him but can't grudge him his move. He has been through every emotion possible while with the Club and i am glad to see he got a move to somewhere he can start afresh and progress his career. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 All the best Clarky. Sad to see you go. Just disnae look right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Excellent bit of business. Good luck Clarky. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamesc Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 good luck clarky ! you`ll be a legend down there aswell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 I've been saying it for weeks that he is the one player in the squad that I would be devastated to see leave. From scoring an overhead kick on your full debut, to having an up and down two seasons, to then becoming a free-scoring Scottish International and player of the year, two seasons in a row, he's been through it all. I thought he would be at Motherwell for life but that was just idealistic thoughts, I don't begrudge him his move whatsoever. If anyone deserves better things it is him, from getting from where he was two years ago now to where he is now is remarkable. A great player and icon for the club on and off the pitch, an ideal role model, he will be sorely missed. The next no. 10 will have a lot to live up to from the previous three! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
andybug Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Good luck Clarky Lets hope the manager sees some of the transfer fee! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 Can only echo what's been said already - A brilliant servant to the club who has come through a hell of a lot in his time here. No matter how low his head got at times he ran himself into the ground. Cheers Clarky! All the very best mate! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
another number Posted June 29, 2009 Report Share Posted June 29, 2009 All the best to Clarky. So glad we've sold him to someone down south rather than up here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...