dazamfc Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Who would u put in ur worst motherwell team and which manager? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Regardless of the players, the worst team is the one that finished 6th in the First Division (79/80 season). The lowest position I have witnessed in my time at Fir Park. Still had a lot of fun going to all the games though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Pup Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Worst team Caven Burley Maaskant McLeish Murphy McGrillen Harvey Townsley Roddie Hendry Nyssonen Manager - Kampman Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amber_nectar Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 In my life time worst manager Harri Kampman or maurice Malpas. Worst goalie John Gardiner or Stevie Woods Worst right back tough one Andy Dornan Worst left back Ruby Murray Worst centre halves Tony the tank Thomas and Karl Ready Worst Midfielders Derek Townsley, John Davies, Kevin McBride, Brian Kerr Worst strikers Stevie fat boy Cowan and John Reilly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Burley? Really? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Regardless of the players, the worst team is the one that finished 6th in the First Division (79/80 season). The lowest position I have witnessed in my time at Fir Park. Still had a lot of fun going to all the games though. Stattistically it's hard to argue with that, but I reckon the team that took us there (Roger Hynd being the main culprit before Ally MacLeod took over the sinking ship) would qualify as MacLeod cleared the decks and brought in 'da yoof' who had some potential but needed time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Pup Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Burley was gash !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 1st time or 2nd time? Thought he did a decent job with us in his first spell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Stattistically it's hard to argue with that, but I reckon the team that took us there (Roger Hynd being the main culprit before Ally MacLeod took over the sinking ship) would qualify as MacLeod cleared the decks and brought in 'da yoof' who had some potential but needed time.Aye, that's probably true, but I like my statistics Plus, I seem to have blanked out most of the Roger Hynd games for some reason. Despite our 6th and 5th place finishes, under MacLeod, I really enjoyed that period of watching the 'Well. Made it to almost every away game and got enjoy the delights of Firs Park, Starks Park, Annfield, East End Park etc. I got my first season ticket that year too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellarmy Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Kampman has to be the worst manager. Fat Finnish wank. Malpas gave him a right good run for his money tho Woods Thomas Kraska Christie Dow Essendoh John Davies Lindqvist Hendry Nyssonen Kelly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 1.Stevie Woods 2.Allan Sneddon 3.Danny Murphy 4.Marc Fitzpatrick 5.Karl Ready 6.Rob Maaskant 7.Martin McBride 8.Andy Roddie 9.Willie Falconer 10.Cillian Sheridan 11.Joe McLeod Manager; Maurice Malpas Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 I have to go with McLeish as worst manager, he did okay at the start with wee Tommy's side but then decided to build his own rteam and almost relegated us, if he hadn't jumped ship to Hibs and relegated them I really think we'd have gone down. 1 Howard Sameroff 2 Willie Watson 3 Alan Sneddon 4 Karl Ready 5 Tony Thomas 6 Eddie May 7 John Davies 8 Andy Roddy 9 Stevie Cowan 10 John Hendry 11 John Reilly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 Manager has to be Malpas (I'm of the age that before wee Tommy, all I knew were the players, the manager didn't matter). John Gardiner Alan Sneddon Bob Maaskaant Alex Jones Jim Gardiner Gordon (the night)Mair John Davies Tony Shepherd Paul (Fu)Kinnaird Richard Offiong Paul Baker Subs Tony Vaughan Paul Shepstone Andy Roddie John Hendry Joe McLeod It tells you how many rank rotten players we've seen over the years that John Hendry and Andy Roddie only make my bench... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted July 6, 2009 Report Share Posted July 6, 2009 I have to go with McLeish as worst manager, he did okay at the start with wee Tommy's side but then decided to build his own rteam and almost relegated us, if he hadn't jumped ship to Hibs and relegated them I really think we'd have gone down. 1 Howard Sameroff 2 Willie Watson 3 Alan Sneddon 4 Karl Ready 5 Tony Thomas 6 Eddie May 7 John Davies 8 Andy Roddy 9 Stevie Cowan 10 John Hendry 11 John Reilly I can't beleive i'm gonnae say this but i think am gonnae defend McLeish He didnae really get Hibs relegated , they were already fooked when he went there. I think his last game managing us was a 6-2 victory over Hibs (ironic) that was some gem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Team: 2009 Vs Llanelli Manager: Malpas Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Seagull Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Burley was gash !! Just goes to show, opinions and all that. I thought Burley was a class act - particularly in his first spell at the club. Don't think I've ever heard anyone have a bad word for Burley before now. Do not get me started on the likes of Kinnaird, Roddie, Baptie, McLeod, Fairlie and all the others that have left me mentally scarred! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 I agree. i thought Burley was a great player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EastStandWellFan Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 In his first spell at the club, Burley was outstanding. Second time around not so good, but in no way would he ever be in the worst Motherwell team. Stuart. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Team; Stevie Woods Kevin Christie Karl Ready Gulli Jonsson Franz Resch Andy Roddie Jan Michels Joni Lethonan Shaun McSkimming Mario Dorner Stephen Halliday Managed by Maurice Malpas and assisted by Paul Hegarty and Donald Duck Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Manager : Maurice Malpas 1. Francois Dubourdeau 2. Alan Sneddon 3. Franck Bernard 4. Mark Reynolds 5. Holm Kraska 6. John Davies 7. Joe McLeod 8. Brian McClair (2nd time - I didn't see him the 1st time round) 9. Richard Offiong 10. Khaled Kemas 11. Andy Roddie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
casey Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Stattistically it's hard to argue with that, but I reckon the team that took us there (Roger Hynd being the main culprit before Ally MacLeod took over the sinking ship) would qualify as MacLeod cleared the decks and brought in 'da yoof' who had some potential but needed time. I didn't think Roger Hynd was THAT bad TBH. He took over a team that was in the relegation zone and ended up just missing out on Europe. The following season we had a terrible start and RH was quickly sacked when we were still in with a chance of surviving to be replaced with Ally who quickly decided that the whole squad wasn't good enough and played virtually the youth team for the rest of the season. We then took 3 long seasons to win promotion again. Sure Ally was a likeable guy but I think his best days were behind him in 1979. RH was never heard of again! I think Jock Wallace was our worst manager BTW. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The African Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Roger Hynd convinced our average squad that theywere world beaters, and theywere believing it until those h*n bastards came onto the park at two nil to nus withtwenty minutes played. Our bottle went and we lost five three. Queens Park put us out of the cup the following midweek. Never forgave those bastards for that-scum then and scum now. Kampma'ns team was probably the worst I've seen- not all his fault though-McLeish left a hell of a mess. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welltastic Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Manager: Harri Kampmann I don't relly like slating players though there have been a few that didn't really do well after promising starts (Dubordeau and Davide Ferrier Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
worf Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 I know its all about opinioms but some people have short memories Stevie Cowans goals against Dumfermline saved us from relegation, and Willie Falconer also saved us from the drop. Mark Reynolds is the only player of real Quality we have in our squad at the moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted July 7, 2009 Report Share Posted July 7, 2009 Mark Reynolds is the only player of real Quality we have in our squad at the moment. Pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...