decorator Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 was this not the game that was played on a sunday and we got beat 1-4 or 5? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 Whos is that with the '8' shirt on ? I know it's the gentle Mr McVie in the air but surely Wullie P would normally have had the '8' shirt that season ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PettyWulliegrew Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 Motherwell v Ayr United 1976? Think thats Somerset Park.........not the 'Arc ! The midweek game was a replay which we won 2-1 1972 lost the next round to the h**s ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
studos Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 Whos is that with the '8' shirt on ? I know it's the gentle Mr McVie in the air but surely Wullie P would normally have had the '8' shirt that season ? Is it Pat Gardiner ? A side shot of his pigeon chist would confirm though. To be honest if it is wee Pat then the view we've got was never seen by many defenders as you have to get by them afore they see yer erse Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGMFC Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 love this thread !being a rather younger supporter, it is great to see how fir park looked back in the days, plus my dad seems to recall some of the older pictures cause yer da is ancient!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David MFC Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 cause yer da is ancient!!! a tell him that aw the time gavv ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 Whos is that with the '8' shirt on ? My memory is hazy but I think it's Pat Gardner who played in the midfield. This may have been his last season as I'm sure he was transferred to somewhere like Arbroath the following season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 My memory is hazy but I think it's Pat Gardner who played in the midfield. This may have been his last season as I'm sure he was transferred to somewhere like Arbroath the following season. Might be Gardner mate. I seem to remember he played very little that season and left us for pastures worse :-) He was the Fitzy of his era, in that he was the one the fans blamed everything on. Looking back at them days when you had guys like Peter Miller, Stewart McLaren, Willie McVie and Gregor Stevens in your team, nae cnut f*cked wi' the 'Well :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 Young Well, Northern Ireland Milk Cup winners 1983. Anybody recognise anyone from this very young Well youth side? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted November 18, 2009 Report Share Posted November 18, 2009 A young Chris McCart in the front row with a full head of hair? Would leitchy have been there that year? and which one is Stephen Connors, Player of the tournament 12 goals?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted November 19, 2009 Report Share Posted November 19, 2009 Might be Gardner mate. I seem to remember he played very little that season and left us for pastures worse :-) He was the Fitzy of his era, in that he was the one the fans blamed everything on. Looking back at them days when you had guys like Peter Miller, Stewart McLaren, Willie McVie and Gregor Stevens in your team, nae cnut f*cked wi' the 'Well :-) Can confirm that is the one and only Pat Gardner. Signed from Dunfermline. Great passer of the ball but always a move ahead of team mates for which he got the stick!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted November 19, 2009 Report Share Posted November 19, 2009 Can confirm that is the one and only Pat Gardner. Signed from Dunfermline. Great passer of the ball but always a move ahead of team mates for which he got the stick!!!I think your confusing 'a move ahead' with 'a week behind'. Arguably the worst player I can remember in a Motherwell shirt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted November 19, 2009 Report Share Posted November 19, 2009 One from the 1960's and one from the 1980's v Celtic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 If I remember right this was a Scottish Cup tie played on a Wednesday afternoon. No, that was a coupla years earlier. I was at Knowetop at the time, (top floor facing Fir Park), and they wouldn't let us off school to go. Got in at half-time though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 Is that Murdo MacLeod? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 Murdo McLeod, Ray Farnigham (moustache) and Gary McAllister (I think) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fi2810 Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 I'm with Cakes here ............ I was also of the belief the claret and amber was to do with racing colours of Lord Dalziel or Hamilton. Not sure now though. Fir Park was donated to us tho ? yes ? I have heard both versions re the claret and amber but the one I heard at an open day was about Bradford City Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 Murdo McLeod, Ray Farnigham (moustache) and Gary McAllister (I think) Tam Boyd wearing No.6 I have heard both versions re the claret and amber but the one I heard at an open day was about Bradford City Racing colours theory has been widely discredited in recent years. Seems when we were looking for an alternative to Blue we either copied Bradford cos of their FA Cup success or they donated a set to us for some unknown reason. Certainly our first C&A jerseys were the exactly the same as theirs of the time. Bradford shirt of the time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 Tam Boyd wearing No.6 Aye, well spotted sir. not skinny enough to be Gary Mac. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 I thought it was Tom Boyd, but didn't want to make an arse of masel in case Fatcalf picked up on my error Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellimp Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 Young Well, Northern Ireland Milk Cup winners 1983. Anybody recognise anyone from this very young Well youth side? Is that Uncle Phil on the extreme left of the front row?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 I thought it was Tom Boyd, but didn't want to make an arse of masel in case Fatcalf picked up on my error Aye best leave that tae Yabba Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted November 20, 2009 Report Share Posted November 20, 2009 Aye, well spotted sir. not skinny enough to be Gary Mac. Well, he played for Leicester City then no? That picture was the night Softie's shoot out penalty rattled the square post in the League Cup Semi-Final I'm sure. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted November 21, 2009 Report Share Posted November 21, 2009 Young Well, Northern Ireland Milk Cup winners 1983. Anybody recognise anyone from this very young Well youth side? The guy in the back row second in from the right looks like Peter Weir who played for St Mirren and Aberdeen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted November 25, 2009 Report Share Posted November 25, 2009 The guy in the back row second in from the right looks like Peter Weir who played for St Mirren and Aberdeen. The guy third from the left in the back row looks like Paul Tracey, I was assistant coach at St Columba's Boys Club in 1981 when he was there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...