arbroath55 Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Superb knowledge there, arbroath  Was the main stand built to not run the full length of the pitch due to cost ?  Thanks, and thanks for reading it !  I got most of it from a book I mentioned on another post today "A History of the Steelmen 1886-1986" by John Swinburne but the book doesn`t answer your question.  From the same period I discovered that Hughie Ferguson who scored the goal for Cardiff City when they beat Arsenal to win the 1927 FA Cup signed for us in 1916 and went onto score 362 goals before his transfer in 1925 for £5,000. Hughie died young in Jan. 1930.  Another poster mentioned he was related to a player called Frame , a W. Frame was transferred from Clyde in October 1924 for a fee of £550 with an additional £100 for the player himself. Frame made his debut v Dundee in a 2-1 win and his name appears on teamsheets recorded in the book until November 1926 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Villageman Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Being a Well supporter for half a century and more, and living round the corner from Fir Park for most of the early years my memory of the stand being built in this fashion was because the owner of the house(s) needed to extend to the corner refused to sell to the club. One house at least would have had to be demolished. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Shirt sponsorship arrives in Motherwell courtesy of Scottish Brewers. Â The Rangers fans are silenced. Â The Celtic fans are silenced. Â Putting the Kill into Kilmarnock. Â Celebration Motherwell style. Â Who's the player? _ _ _ _ / _ _ _ _ _ _ _ Â Peter Miller has King Kenny in his back pocket. Â Half time entertainment Fir Park style. Â The greatest ever goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shallow Dave Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Who's the player? Â Â Â My guess is Ange Oueifio? Â Â Â SD Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted July 27, 2009 Author Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Who's the player?   My guess is Ange Oueifio?    SD   That's my guess too. I was just about to say it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 My guess is Ange Oueifio? Well done that man! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellAyrshire Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 nae wonder the pitch was wrecked with them jigging away in their high heels! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
another number Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 I still mind someone trying to get a Heeeeeeyyy baabbyy sing along with his name in cause "I wanna know" rhymes with "Ange Oueifio". It didn't help that a lot of folk were at a loss as to who he was. Don't know if it ever caught on... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted July 27, 2009 Report Share Posted July 27, 2009 Who's the player?   My guess is Ange Oueifio?    SD   Not being funny (or racist) but it is the double of the wee black guy from Mean Machine starring Vinnie Jones, even running like him anawl!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009 Great picture!! The two 'Well players in picture are Ian St John (scoring) and Pat Quinn. The Hearts goalie is Gordon Marshall - yes the daddy of our Gordon Marshall. Â Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009 Not being funny (or racist) but it is the double of the wee black guy from Mean Machine starring Vinnie Jones, even running like him anawl!! Â Massive? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009 Well players in picture are John Goldthorp (on ground) Willie McCallum (No.5) Tom Forsyth (No.4) Celtic Players are Willie Wallace (No.9) and Bertie Auld (No.. Was at this one - somewhere behind the goals at Taggarts end. Â Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
arbroath55 Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009 Great picture!! The two 'Well players in picture are Ian St John (scoring) and Pat Quinn. The Hearts goalie is Gordon Marshall - yes the daddy of our Gordon Marshall.   St John scored most of his goals inside the 6 yard box Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009  Motherwell v Stoke City The Texaco Cup  Andy Paton v Celtic Scottish Cup SF replay 1954 V Celtic Scottish Cup QF 1952 v Rangers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009 Well players in picture are John Goldthorp (on ground) Willie McCallum (No.5) Tom Forsyth (No.4) Celtic Players are Willie Wallace (No.9) and Bertie Auld (No.. Was at this one - somewhere behind the goals at Taggarts end. My favourite old picture of Fir Park. Way before my time but I would of loved to have experienced it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
arbroath55 Posted July 28, 2009 Report Share Posted July 28, 2009 Post above  I was at the Texaco cup game against Stoke, during the same era I remember seeing us gubbed by a very good Burnley team, think it was 0-3 and losing 0-1 to an Everton team with Joe Harper in.  Pic at top I recognise Keith MacRae with the red hair, Keith was at Lanark Grammar 5 years above me, whilst at school he played outfield and in goal for `Well reserves and made his first team debut in goal. Our PE teacher at the Grammer was Roger Hynd Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
B.K. Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Think you've got your teams mixed up, we never played Burnley or Everton. Â Could have been Blackburn you were thinking about in the Anglo Scottish Cup ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keef Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Andy Paton v Celtic  Andy Paton is a legend. Us Motherwell fans in Fife have had the pleasure of getting to know him since he moved up this way a few years ago. An absolute gentleman. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellLee Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Totally agree Grumpy. Fir Park isn't perfect but nearly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Â Pics bringing back great memories! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Not FP, I know but casey has asked for this great pic of the Grew (against Airdrie in that ill-fated cup semi at Hampden is my guess). Â Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Post above I was at the Texaco cup game against Stoke, during the same era I remember seeing us gubbed by a very good Burnley team, think it was 0-3 and losing 0-1 to an Everton team with Joe Harper in.  Texaco Cup nights at Fir park were fantastic, my fav being the 3-1 humbling of the might Tottenham Hotspur Great crowd and 3 great goals from Heron, Watson and Donnelly  Like the Goose, I don't recall games against Burnley or Everton. Stoke, Coventry, Spurs, Norwich, Notts County and Fulham yes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Proving that heavy rain fall is nothing new. v Celtic early 70's  v Celtic mid 70's  Coyne has a word with a Swedish diver  v Celtic 11-04-1931  v Celtic 1933 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 This game against Celtic (we lost 0-5) was played at FP on the Saturday before we played and beat Spurs in the Texaco Cup the following Wednesday. Even though Celtic humped us Jock Stein predicted that we would beat Spurs as we played this game with one eye on Spurs. Â Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted July 29, 2009 Report Share Posted July 29, 2009 Aye, Big Jock certainly did know.... that we'd beat Spurs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beesher Posted July 30, 2009 Report Share Posted July 30, 2009 There's a crazy amount of people at some of these well games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...