Yabba's Turd Posted August 14, 2009 Report Share Posted August 14, 2009 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mb Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted August 14, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 14, 2009 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mb  Thanks for that, much appreciated. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mbClassic stuff - I remember that game well. Back in the days when we were the featured game on Scotsport despite being the First Division. When I was at the match I said that Wullie P took it easy on us with his hat trick chance; and it still looks like he did I always liked Irvine as a player too, but he didn't quite have Wullie P's pace there! Not the best 'Well team ever, but gave me some of my favourite times as a fan. As I recall, Wullie Irvine and Brian McLaughlin battled it out until the last game of the season for top scorer. They went to Tyncastle equal and Irvine's goal let him finish ahead, and stop the Jambos from being promoted.  Good times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mb Halcyon days right enough! Was THE powderkeg fixture of its time, I and plenty others of my age I know weren't allowed to the game. Was sat on my grans verandah at Elvan Tower listening to the roar awaiting the return of my old man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davkel Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 The guy was class ...RIP sir . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WELLDAFT Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 <br />A Real class act as a player, he was one of my heros as a kid. i'll never forget the cup game against Aberdeen at fir park when we were in the 1st Division and Aberdeen were one of the best teams in Britain, we got beat 1-0 with a goal scored after 9 seconds and Brian McLaughlin was excellent, but got sent off due to that cheating wee wean Strachan..........i do recall McLaughlin did knock him about 12 foot in the air tho!!<br /><br />RIP Brian, always remembered fondly by Motherwell fans.Legend<br /><br /><br /><br />Â Thats a game Ill never forget, the poisoned dwarf niggled him the whole game until as you say 12 feet in the air, after the goal in 9 secs we pummled them, and came away with nothing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 RIP Brian  I never saw you play but you will always be a Motherwell legend Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
090388 Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 R.I.P. Brian McLaughlin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Sad news indeed. I remember when there were rumours we would sign Brian as at the time he was scoring regular screamers for Ayr United.  Then my old man took me to Douglas Park about that time to a midweek game against the Accies and much to my delight we had signed him that day and he started the game.  He scored a belter that night on his debut and was one of my favourite 'Well players after that.  Big Roddie McDonald who used to play with him at Celtic told me that but for the injury he would have been as big a name as Dalglish.  RIP Brian   That was the first game I ever went to without my da'.  Remember seeing BMcL in the warm up and being chuffed we'd signed him. He was a regular in the BBC highlights scoring screeeeemers for Ayr. Also, if I remember correctly we'd lost Vic Davidson (I may be wrong about that bit) and McLauchlin had Davidson's ability on the ball but was probably a more direct player. A great servant to MFC.  Sad loss indeed !! RIP. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGMFC Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mb  honestly how the fook did gahagan miss? how did he hit the bar from teh 6yrd box!! lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 I blame the pitch.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 honestly how the fook did gahagan miss? how did he hit the bar from teh 6yrd box!! lolIf Johnny G could shoot, he would have been sold on to a big club for a lot of dosh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGMFC Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 I blame the pitch.... Â yeah..... it was far too good!! lol bloody groundstaff!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted August 16, 2009 Report Share Posted August 16, 2009 That's sad to hear. Very first ever Motherwell game I watched he had a penalty saved by an unusually superb Alan Rough save as Thistle stole a 1-0 League Cup win at Fir Park. Terrific player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted August 16, 2009 Report Share Posted August 16, 2009 Halcyon days right enough! Was THE powderkeg fixture of its time, I and plenty others of my age I know weren't allowed to the game. Was sat on my grans verandah at Elvan Tower listening to the roar awaiting the return of my old man. Â Aye, the Jambos at Fir Park was always an interesting encounter. They had the most bampots I've ever seen, and Edinburgh such a lovely place too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted August 17, 2009 Report Share Posted August 17, 2009 A great player. Ran our midfield. I was sorry he didn't stay longer with us. Â Sad end to a good player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted August 17, 2009 Report Share Posted August 17, 2009 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mb Great stuff, and a very young Matt Oliver in the shed . RIP Brian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
briano Posted May 30, 2010 Report Share Posted May 30, 2010 Motherwell v Hearts 1981 350mb  Hi I am unable to to open this attachment! Can anyone send me it in another format or help me open it please?  I grew up with Brian in Grangemouth and would love to see him in action one more time.  Thanks in advance for your help  Brian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted May 30, 2010 Report Share Posted May 30, 2010 RIP Brian.  Utmost respect to a great player who was underrated by a lot of people  My respects and thoughts to his family Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burn_Broomfield Posted May 30, 2010 Report Share Posted May 30, 2010 RIP Brian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted May 30, 2010 Report Share Posted May 30, 2010 Hi I am unable to to open this attachment! Can anyone send me it in another format or help me open it please? I grew up with Brian in Grangemouth and would love to see him in action one more time.  Thanks in advance for your help  Brian http://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/ind...?showtopic=6466  RIP Brian Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
casey Posted May 31, 2010 Report Share Posted May 31, 2010 http://www.steelmenonline.co.uk/forums/ind...?showtopic=6466Â RIP Brian Can u pm me the password to watch they highlights? Â Cheers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted May 31, 2010 Report Share Posted May 31, 2010 I would appreciate the password for the clip too please Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted May 31, 2010 Report Share Posted May 31, 2010 Thanks Yabba greatly appreciated. Great reminising. I was probably standing down in front of the choir near the fence that day lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ross_mfc91 Posted May 31, 2010 Report Share Posted May 31, 2010 RIP Brian. Very sad news indeed . I'd heard alot about him off my dad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...