orange county dosser Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 was just thinkin that I've probably seen more goals from outside the area in the last 6 weeks than I have in the last 2 years !! a team thats not afraid to have a go from distance can only be a good thing in my book ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Aye and the best from Slane and Forbes. Young players with an eye for goal, not afraid to shoot, and can burst the net!!! Crackin'! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGMFC Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 what a goal from forbes today, was spectacular, he made it look far too easy! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Yep the last player to score for us outside the box was Mitchell Van Hire against Dunfermline in about 1995 to save us fae going down. . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keef Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 We've been over-reliant on forwards (albeit some very good ones, who have delivered the goods) for some time. By nature, most of their goals - the occasional screamer aside - will be from inside the box. Goals from midfield have been rare in recent years, but Ross Forbes has already scored more goals this season than Stephen Hughes (for instance) managed in two years, and three of these have been absolutely stunning long range efforts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FJ-94 Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 the last gout outside the box wasnt 1995 clarky got at least 1 last year and maros got 1 to Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 the last gout outside the box wasnt 1995 clarky got at least 1 last year and maros got 1 to Exactly mate he was talking shite. Ged Brannan is another and Bob Malcolm ffs done it last season. Brian Kerr done it agianst Aberdeen the guy is just a baw bag who hasn't a clue. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 We've been over-reliant on forwards (albeit some very good ones, who have delivered the goods) for some time. By nature, most of their goals - the occasional screamer aside - will be from inside the box. Goals from midfield have been rare in recent years, but Ross Forbes has already scored more goals this season than Stephen Hughes (for instance) managed in two years, and three of these have been absolutely stunning long range efforts. Are you counting his goal against Rhyl? He has scored three in competitive games. Two against Flamurtari and one today. One of the goals against the Albanians was a penalty. A good goal.....but not a screamer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keef Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Are you counting his goal against Rhyl? He has scored three in competitive games. Two against Flamurtari and one today. One of the goals against the Albanians was a penalty. A good goal.....but not a screamer. His volley against Steaua Bucharest wasn't too bad though, was it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 mind Jimbo's turning volley against Celtic at Fir Park? That was one of the most stunning goals i've seen at Fir Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Exactly mate he was talking shite. Ged Brannan is another and Bob Malcolm ffs done it last season. Brian Kerr done it agianst Aberdeen the guy is just a baw bag who hasn't a clue. I think he was exaggerating for effect. We have a habit of trying to walk the ball into the net. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 I think he was exaggerating for effect. We have a habit of trying to walk the ball into the net. But im pissed oot my tree! How do you expect me to notice exaggerations . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 The should have given it away. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 His volley against Steaua Bucharest wasn't too bad though, was it? Aye Cannae believe I forgot that one. Apologies. My error!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 The should have given it away. Again I'm gonna blame the alcohol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 mind Jimbo's turning volley against Celtic at Fir Park? That was one of the most stunning goals i've seen at Fir Park. Voted best ever SPL goal if I remember correctly!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keef Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Aye Cannae believe I forgot that one. Apologies. My error!!! If Forbes keeps going at this rate, we'll all be struggling to remember all of his goals! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Amazing when some people were saying the reason why we needed to keep Hughes many said there are not many goal scoring midfielders in our price range... Naw bad, nae need for this transfer crap when your own youth does a good enough job. Division 3 Championship winner to Motherwell's top goal scorer. Naw bad for a midfielder. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Amazing when some people were saying the reason why we needed to keep Hughes many said there are not many goal scoring midfielders in our price range... Naw bad, nae need for this transfer crap when your own youth does a good enough job. Division 3 Championship winner to Motherwell's top goal scorer. Naw bad for a midfielder. Already a legend ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 Amazing when some people were saying the reason why we needed to keep Hughes many said there are not many goal scoring midfielders in our price range...I don't remember anybody saying that. The Hughes discussion was about whether we could could find ourselves a midfield playmaker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 I don't remember anybody saying that. The Hughes discussion was about whether we could could find ourselves a midfield playmaker. And Forbes is it! So what's your point caller ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 No it was a counter claim - by you and others that Hughes was a success with us, and although he didn't score many (3 in two seasons?!) what are we to expect within our price range. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 And Forbes is it! So what's your point caller ? You expect a point? I'm still waiting for his point after some of the research he asked for Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 15, 2009 Report Share Posted August 15, 2009 You expect a point? I'm still waiting for his point after some of the research he asked for Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...