east stand loyal Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Fantastic performance today. Don't know why we persist with Hammell and some of the others when we have Reynolds and Hately, two players that can pretty much play anywhere. Loved crags' wee maizie run in the first half, he looked terrified So many positives. Only one negative imo - Jennings. Get him punted! Don't think this guys match fit yet....I was expecting him to be the best signing as well, he's certainly the highest profile player signed so far. In all fairness I reckon Hateleys not 100% either but I know what you mean with Jennings, looks like its gonna take him a while to find his feet. Great performance today all round, the defence looked amazin which was good to see O'Brien had a blinder, Coke ran the midfield, Forbes was impressive too. Crackin performance for the fist home game, hope we can keep it up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Can't believe no one has mentioned Craigan's 40 yard march past the Killie Strikers and midfield. Fucking moment of the match, and as soon as that happened I knew we had the beating of them. Killie are not a great side, they had Taoule and that was it. Kyle was in Hutchisons' back pocket for almost the whole game, and then Hutchison had the audacity to show Kyle what a striker is supposed to do Hateley as has been mentioned looks already to be the find of the season. Another display this time in front of the defence. Jim O'Brien ripped thier right side to shreds almost everytime he had the ball. Had the beating of their right back all game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 I think Jennings will be a player for us although he is off the pace still. The best thing for him is time on the pitch till he adjusts to the pace of the Scottish game. Give the guy time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 I think Jennings will be a player for us although he is off the pace still. Totally agree. I thought he did alright when he came on but he was lost when he was the most forward player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Forgot to say, delighted to see Crags have a good game. Had a chuckle to myself when he went on that run in the first half. Great to see. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Claret&Amber Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Not much I can add to what has already been said. A very positive performance with plenty of of things to be happy about. I'm really enthusiastic about Gannon. I think we are going to have a few bumps along the way this season because we have a young team, although I think we are a great shout for the top six. I suppose we'll figure out really how strong we are when we play the other top six challengers like united, hearts etc. But against the dross like killie, st. mirren and falkirk I think we'll do well more often than not. Good times! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigcol Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 The biggest critisism of the day is for Hateley. Not the young Motherwell player Tom, but his dad, his suit could have done with a right good iron ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 The biggest critisism of the day is for Hateley. Not the young Motherwell player Tom, but his dad, his suit could have done with a right good iron ! So could his coupon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewK Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 There is so so many positives to take from the game today and you want to whinge about Slane not passing when we were 3-0 up at the time? And he did "pass the ball in a good position" when he darted down the left skinned 3 Killie defenders and rolled it off to (Coke? Forbes?) who never read the pass when Paul could easily have took the shot on. Anyway, where do I start? Oooft. Jim O'-fucking-Brien - what a man. Did he waste a ball? Not that I remember. Did he give Killie defenders a head ache? Yeah, damn right he did. Absolutely cracking performance from him. Such a good game, taking players on, whipping crosses in all day long and had a good few efforts on goal and of course won the penatly. And awesomely had the full stadium on their feet when he left the park with a roar. I'll admit I was a little worried with Saunders at right back when I heard the line-up for today but fair play to you mate. Had big Sammon in his pocket the full game. Well in! Coke looks more and more impressive the more we see him. What can you say? He opens uo play finds himself that little extra second on the ball. Doesn't stop running, tracks midfielders runs - just does his job and does it well. Cracking show again Giles, fancy signing for a few seasons now? John Sutton took his goal well. Another good display from the big man, can't complain with his contribution. Shauny Hutchinson, you are my hero! Took your goal amazingly well for a CB and never let Kyle have a sniff of the game. That is all. And last but not least - Ross Forbes. Can anyone hit a ball any better? Your last minute shot deserved to go in just to top off another brilliant display, in my eyes. Took the penalty so coolly. Top man. Not a failure in the team today, everyone done their job and as a team played very damn well. I might sound like I'm getting to excited and I don't expect this from the boys every week but damn, when it happens it happens. Pretty delighted with the 3 points today, to say the least. Gannon your a top man - nice to have a manager that cares for the fans and applauds them every game. Great game, great team, great manager. Brilliant post there, sums it up perfectly. Everybody passed with flying colours Nothing much to add apart from a comment on Craigans performance. It was good to see him adopt more of a passing game compared to his usual "punt it up the park" tactics. I think it was topped off with his crazy run up the park straight through the Killie midfield, what a run that was I dont think theres any question that he'll play a part in the team But aye, Jim O'Brien, what a fuckin' performance Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Superb performance today, to a man everyone played well. Craigan and Hutchinson marked Kyle out the game only the one slip up when Kyle put it over the bar. Going forward we look some prospect, O Brien has got some engine on him and he fairly can boost when needed, Slane showed as well when he came onw hat he can do, and I think that's the role we should use him in this season where possible, about 30mins left fire him on to run at tiring defenders. What I will say is, I have never seen us play a team off the park so comprehensively and in doing so never get out of first gear, really, today looked like a breeze for the lads, maybe the extra sharpness, I don't know, but we looked like we could still crank it up if needed. That Starting XI definitely looks our strongest from what I've seen in the Euro ties and the opening two matches and I hope to see the same team take the field at Aberdeen next week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Immense today. Just immense. Not seen a standing ovation like JOB's today for ages, maybe years!!! Forbes looks like he will get a goal every game, so that's 38 goals sorted. And finally, I can't remember the last time I felt so desperate to see the next Motherwell game at the final whistle. Jim Gannon, your boys are looking tremendous!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
frazwellfan Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Very good performance today and a great result. I thought we would struggle with Kyle but the defence marked him well. Hutchinson looks a good prospect and will be a danger from set pieces. O'Brien was really good today and Coke impressed me again. Looking forward to Aberdeen next week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 "The second half was better, but we've got no complaints. Motherwell deserved to win so we've got to take it on the chin and bounce back. Jim Jeffries. Wonder trully, will never cease! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Just cements that we were that good if he's coming out and saying that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helliseasterroad Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Excellent performance. A million miles from the last home game of the season against Kilmarnock. A lot of people wrote us off today, including some of our own on this forum. The guys proved them all wrong, well done! All I can say is Up Yours Craig Paterson! (Predicted a Killie win) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Surely a lookalike has said that! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 That's what I was going to say. Jovial Jeffers normally wouldn't concede the steam off a shite................ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 ruddysaunders hutchison craigan hammell hateley forbes coke o'brien murphy mchugh is my realistic choice i definitely got closer to the starting x1 than anyone else! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 i definitely got closer to the starting x1 than anyone else! I would have got there cos I saw Gannon line them up in training yesterday, but that wid have been cheating so I didnae post it. Anyways Hammell n Reynolds werenae training and Slane wis in wi' Hateley at left back in the practice session so you probably got as close as I would have. Have to say from what I saw yesterday Gannon's practice session paid dividends cos he had them defending set pieces with balls flying in from all areas of the pitch. Obviously designed to elminate their ariel threat and worked a treat cos Killie had fuck all else to offer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 for me the jury is still out on gannon. i was impressed today, hateley in midfield is a great choice. 2 or 3 more correct choices and i'll be a believer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 didn't realise the link text was really a quote Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Gannon has, in my opinion, transformed that team already. Considering how much disarray the team was in after McGhee finally managed to get whored somewhere else he's done a brilliant job even at this early stage. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Gannon has, in my opinion, transformed that team already. Considering how much disarray the team was in after McGhee finally managed to get whored somewhere else he's done a brilliant job even at this early stage.Agreed. I said it early in the Euro campaign, but it's worth repeating. JB did a good business in selling some bankable players and bringing in Gannon as early as he did. With the uncertainty over Setanta etc. plus the money we spent on the pitch, it appears he has made a decent job of balancing the books without hurting the team too much. By taking action early, he appears to have found a good manager and given him time (and money) to get some players in. Meantime, some of our rivals are still struggling to rebuild. No doubt Boyle has made some mistakes in the past, but I think he took some tough (but timely) decisions this time that will pay dividends. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellarmy Posted August 22, 2009 Report Share Posted August 22, 2009 Its great coming onto the forum and reading everything that you were going to say but i'll say it anyways. Great team performance, great individual performances, even the support for the team was fantastic and thats fuckin unusual to say the least Well done boys, youse deserve a few of these Although youse probably aren't old enough yet Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...