Eddiesteelman Posted August 23, 2009 Report Share Posted August 23, 2009 Why does no-one on this board (or FPC) ever comment on our two fine fanzines. A power of time and effort is put in by the contributors, especially by the editors, and nobody seems to give any encouragement or feedback. I'm not privvy to the details as to wether the fanzines are self sufficent, but they are produced for you guys, and you've got to support them and tell the contributors if they've got it right or wrong. The latest OSB came out on Saturday, and I thought it was a cracking read, every bit as good as the £2.50 offical programme !!! Long may Matt and Chris keep having the desire !!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted August 23, 2009 Report Share Posted August 23, 2009 Forgot to buy one on Saturday. Will Satursdays Edition be available for purchase in Daniels, where i think i have seen them before? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 23, 2009 Report Share Posted August 23, 2009 Centre pages of OSB were terrific this outing I thought Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted August 23, 2009 Report Share Posted August 23, 2009 Both zines are probably taken for granted in this internet age............ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted August 23, 2009 Report Share Posted August 23, 2009 Folk do comment on OSB there have been a few lengthy debates on passionate subjects raised in the zine ( just not every issue) I quite like to keep forum and fanzines separate, I only purchase the one fanzine nowadays and surely it would be best for the fanzines if folk respond direct to them rather than on internet Oh and Gabby Logan looks well fit sitting next to that mutant Martin Keown Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 23, 2009 Report Share Posted August 23, 2009 Forgot to buy one on Saturday. Will Satursdays Edition be available for purchase in Daniels, where i think i have seen them before? Only available from Bandoni's in New Stevenston and North Motherwell Post Office but could contact Colin this week and see if he's up for leaving some there given our problems with sellers. Self sufficient? Having a laugh, it's a hobby, maybe break even or see the odd profit on a good sales day but makes a loss year on year. People spend money on their hobby though. No feedback means its a good read, only feedback on here generally is for contentious issues but I do get plenty plaudits on the day from folk buying them so I know the appreciation is there, that's enough for me. Funny thing was yesterday everyone telling me I've kept the price at a quid for too long, guaranteed I'd notice sales slump if I raised it I'm sure Dunno about Chris, although I expect it's the same for him and GLF, but it's a labour of love, I get my benefits in other ways and I get to meet hunners of top folks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well-army Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Matt You got any left ? You going to Aberdeen ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Matt You got any left ? You going to Aberdeen ? PM coming if my dodgy connection allows. Been terrible today Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest 'Flow Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Mj, I missed it too and need a copy when you're next up by! 'Flow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Could the club not stock it in the shop....? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 i,ve a spare Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Mj, I missed it too and need a copy when you're next up by! 'Flow You missed it??? try coming oot yir cocoon for 5 minutes on matchdays, you're gonnae suffocate stuck in that place for so long, s'no' healthy fur ye Al be up by in t'morning mate, will drop a copy in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kamikaze Bob Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Having not been at games for over a year, cos of being permanently skint, I haven't read it in ages. Found a discarded copy in JDs on Saturday night tho, on a very rare night out, still a top read. Always bought the fanzines when I was going to Fir Park every other week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Well said, Eddie. Fanzines deserve backing at all clubs. We get OSB and GLF sent down and always enjoy keeping up with latest opinion. I read OSB in my sickbed this morning. You also a Queen's Park man , Matt ? What's the story behind that ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 The Queens Park reference is Pompey John's mate, not mine. In my haste I forget to add his name at the bottom of the page sometimes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Read it cover to cover for the 1st time ever ................ in the bath with a glass of wine. Great read too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PettyWulliegrew Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Read it cover to cover for the 1st time ever ................ in the bath with a glass of wine. Great read too Buckfast ??????? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Read it cover to cover for the 1st time ever ................ in the bath with a glass of wine. Great read too How on earth do you relax in the bath ? Curled up in a ball with a glass of wine Cheers for the response, Matt. I was thinking to myself I don't ever remember you mentioning Queens Park before. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Read it cover to cover for the 1st time ever ................ in the bath with a glass of wine. Great read too Hope your no turnin gay! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Jings I'm in the firing line tonight It was Chardonnay, I've got quite a long bath and no I'm defo not turning gay. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 26, 2009 Report Share Posted August 26, 2009 Must be one of those team baths football clubs used to have, all to yourself big man. By the way, how homo-erotic was that set up ? No thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted August 27, 2009 Report Share Posted August 27, 2009 Read it cover to cover for the 1st time ever ................ in the bath with a glass of wine. When did you turn into a burd?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Who writes the James Brainer column, Matt ? Always enjoy the rants of Airdrie Jim. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Who writes the James Brainer column, Matt ? Always enjoy the rants of Airdrie Jim. That would be telling now wouldn't it? Safe to say it isnae me bt I think the mystique surrounding the author adds to the allure. Loadapish it's Geoff Baby as most will know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I reckon it really is an Airdrie fan. A case of double bluff Very good column Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...