TvTotherwell Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Some mob from the unibond league have stolen our nickname. . . . . . . . Clicky ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 swell Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 No' oor real nickname though is it? Steelworks werenae even there when our club were formed. 'mon the Dossers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
huggins Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 No' oor real nickname though is it? Steelworks werenae even there when our club were formed. 'mon the Dossers I thought the Dossers originated from the steelworks aswell though? Well Fans sleeping on their shift to make the game on the Saturday? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted August 24, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 No' oor real nickname though is it? Steelworks werenae even there when our club were formed. 'mon the Dossers Depends how u look at it! I see myself as a fan being a Dosser but as a club we're the steelmen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Llanelli refer to themselves as The Steelmen as well.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Llanelli refer to themselves as The Steelmen as well.. No they don't! They refer to themselves as the tinmen. You were close though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 No they don't! They refer to themselves as the tinmen. You were close though Ever read their website? Several mentions of the steelmen, nothing to do with us Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Ever read their website? Several mentions of the steelmen, nothing to do with usIs it not Port Talbot that are the Steelmen in Wales? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Is it not Port Talbot that are the Steelmen in Wales? Acht nae idea, definitely a Welsh mob, I read it on the Llanelli website on articles that had nothing to do with us Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Probably match reports against Port Talbot then. There is a huge steel works there. Or was, the last time I visited. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Is it not Port Talbot that are the Steelmen in Wales? Your right it is Port Talbot. Llanelli are also known as the Reds or the Tinmen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted August 24, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Acht nae idea, definitely a Welsh mob, I read it on the Llanelli website on articles that had nothing to do with us Mibby they decided to adopt it, in memory of the time the played the greatest fcukin team in the world Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 I thought the Dossers originated from the steelworks aswell though? Well Fans sleeping on their shift to make the game on the Saturday? No that was John Swinburne's version, my Dad's version was somewhat different and not related to the steelworks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted August 24, 2009 Author Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 No that was John Swinburne's version, my Dad's version was somewhat different and not related to the steelworks. Well do tell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
orange county dosser Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 No that was John Swinburne's version, my Dad's version was somewhat different and not related to the steelworks. c'mon man ! ye canny leave it at that ! if theres a story in there , lets hear it ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
huggins Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 We're all sitting confortably... So let's begin... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest 'Flow Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Something like a shout from the old terracing along the lines of, "C'mon Motherwell, you're playing like a bunch o' Dossers" - and it stuck after that! Whatever, I've always thought "The Steelmen" was kinda the official nickname whereas "The Dossers" is a more affectionate name our fans use for the team?! Whatever, it's really good that it's more commonly used - I really like it and the sentiment behind it. 'Flow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Check them that huvnae read any of ma books Along Flow's lines really, not much of a story but legend has it we were playing poorly one day and some wag on the terracing shouts just what Flow said implying they were half asleep. Allegedly the name stuck after that. I didn't hea Swinburne's version until just a few years ago so cos I didn't hear it in my youth I dismiss it, preferring to believe the story I grew up with. Simples Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
orange county dosser Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 every day's a school day as they say !! never knew that version (sorry MJ not read any of them ....YET !) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Its a gay nickname anyway! My ex bird thought I was browsing a gay chat sight when I said I was on "steelmenonline"! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mourin-Hoe Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 You must have previous Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dodge Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 Something like a shout from the old terracing along the lines of, "C'mon Motherwell, you're playing like a bunch o' Dossers" - and it stuck after that! I hope no-one suggests updating our nickname using the same method in the present day. Could you imagine what our new nickname would be? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 I hope no-one suggests updating our nickname using the same method in the present day. Could you imagine what our new nickname would be? I'd hazard a guess but reckon it's a banned word on here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 24, 2009 Report Share Posted August 24, 2009 every day's a school day as they say !! never knew that version (sorry MJ not read any of them ....YET !) Fuxake, don't know what upsets me more, you no' reading ma books or ma auld Da's version not being as widely known as I originally thought. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...