Claret&Amber Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 How many of you folk are going along next weekend to this? I've been on the official site looking at getting tickets, and there aren't many sold. Do you think there is a chance they will make it pay at the gate? Was on Man Utd site and searched, but no mention of anything at all. Wondering if their fans know about this at all - and if they will bring many up with them? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'Wellfan 2k7 Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I think that because the game is only a memorial game and not an official first team match its not regarded as important enough to be publicly promoted on the official website. Its like the master we all get tickets but not via the club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sinky Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Man UTD done the right thing by not telling their fans, I mean who would want to watch thier team lose 4-0 away from home. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I hope to fuck there is a good crowd. I know its not really Man United that we are playing but even their reserves should command a healthy attendance at FP. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigmcd Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 how much are the tickets ? are they on sale at fp Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 As much as I'm dond of Man United I doubt I'll popping along. More than likely to e nursing a Macedonia hangover... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Few beers and watching the well on a (hopefully) sunny sunday afternoon. Sounds like the answer! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 As much as I'm dond of Man United I doubt I'll popping along. More than likely to e nursing a Macedonia hangover... Same boat. No interest in this game at all, so I won't be there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Be intersting to see the team taken up and whether Fergie is there. As it's an event for Matt Busby's centenery, I'm thinking he will. Hope so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Hopefully they'll announce the United XI before the weekend, I'm sure if they publicised if any high profile players were to be there, we'd see a bigger attendance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Sorry, don't like Fergie and what the fekk did Busby ever do for MFC ? Totally pointless game against Man-U unknowns, with nothing to be achieved for anyone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Sorry, don't like Fergie and what the fekk did Busby ever do for MFC ? Totally pointless game against Man-U unknowns, with nothing to be achieved for anyone. Better than watching Scotland big yin Launch of an initiative which will hopefully be a good addition to opportunites for youngsters in this area, can't be a bad thing. Take the white tinted glasses off and see it for what it is. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 what the fekk did Busby ever do for MFC ? Totally pointless game against Man-U unknowns, with nothing to be achieved for anyone. Couldn't agree more. Despite being born near Bellshill you wonder if he ever set foot inside Fir Park or bothered about his local 'big' team. I doubt if I'll be going to the game and i think we will be lucky to see a 1000 fans in the ground. He was a great manager but I can't see why we are playing this game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katie Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I'll be going along. Even their reserve team will be a stern test. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Would somebody going along be kind enough to take a few pics and maybe post them up ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I'll be going along. Even their reserve team will be a stern test.I don't even think it will be their reserves though. It was promoted as the best reserve squad available on international weekend. Which didn't exactly inspire me, I have to say. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I'll be there unfortunately.................... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 Couldn't agree more. Despite being born near Bellshill you wonder if he ever set foot inside Fir Park or bothered about his local 'big' team. I doubt if I'll be going to the game and i think we will be lucky to see a 1000 fans in the ground. He was a great manager but I can't see why we are playing this game. The match isn't about Motherwell FC or Manchester United FC. It is about the whole new initiative that Lanarkshire (North and South) are starting up in the name of Sir Matt Busby. The reason why we're playing in the game is because as you say, we're the local "big" team. If United wanted to play a glamour friendly there are two clubs in Glasgow they would have played. Instead they wanted to play a local club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 The match isn't about Motherwell FC or Manchester United FC. It is about the whole new initiative that Lanarkshire (North and South) are starting up in the name of Sir Matt Busby. The reason why we're playing in the game is because as you say, we're the local "big" team. If United wanted to play a glamour friendly there are two clubs in Glasgow they would have played. Instead they wanted to play a local club. Why don't we all get in to the 'friendly' for free then since both North and South Lanarkshire Councils are involved in this ? I wonder how many of our local 'councillors' will dip into their own pockets to see the game................... Why no mention of John 'Sailor' Hunter ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 John "The Sailor" Hunter is such a legend that every topic that comes up about Legends of Motherwell FC you're lucky if he gets a mention more than once, twice at a push. I would bet 99% of people on this forum would name Tommy McLean long before they thought about Hunter. Sad state, but maybe, just maybe United just care more and have pushed it on North and South (in otherwords put down money for it.... have Motherwell done the same for Hunter?) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 The match isn't about Motherwell FC or Manchester United FC. Maybe it would have been better to have a match between two youth sides one from the South/North Lanarkshire and one from Manchester. Using Fir Park as a venue would have given proper young grass roots sides an opportunity to play in a big stadium. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 John 'Sailor' Hunter is 'THE' legend of Motherwell FC........... ( the club should know that surely) Outwith that, we're playing a friendly against Manchester United (reserves, youth team ? who knows !!! ) Busby wisnae a Dosser, so I don't really care about him to be honest............ I will repeat though............ I wonder how many of our local 'councillors' will dip into their own pockets to see the game................... Jolly A Go Go for them......... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 If any of the 'big' players are appearing then that would boost it. Even if it was Ryan Giggs and 10 unknowns. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted August 30, 2009 Report Share Posted August 30, 2009 I would need to go to the bother of getting this off work, and to be honest I don't think it's worth it. Man United are probably my English team, (ran close by Coventry), but I'd rather use the time off work for a real game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee Posted August 31, 2009 Report Share Posted August 31, 2009 Il maybe go if you can pay at the gate and Iv got no plans when I wake up on Sunday but as SpecialAKA said, I really dont see the point in this game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...