Calm Doon Giles

east stand loyal

"Everybody wants to be in their position and playing for a massive club"

"In a way we want their shirts so we'll be gicing 100 percent for a result"

"It is going to be live on Sky so lots of people will be watching it. Its going to be massive and I hope to put in a good performance and catch the eye of a few scouts"

Is it not a bit early for that kinda talk? considerin hes not even 10 games into his Motherwell career?

Despite only signing on an initial one-year contract, the Londoner has already expressed an interest in extending his deal in North Lanarkshire.

Both Coke and Motherwell have the option of a year’s extension and if things continue the way they are, the midfielder would be only too happy to sign.

“I’ve signed one year with a year’s extension and that was basically to see how it went,” he said.

“So far, I’ve loved it so there’s no reason why I couldn’t or wouldn’t stay here for longer.

“Coming to Scotland has allowed me to step it up a notch, play in big games like Saturday which is also live on Sky Sports. Playing either of the Old Firm is a massive game; they are both massive clubs, so as a player you want to be involved in games like that.”

You've been a wee bitty selective in your comments east stand loyal, he never insinuated at all he was looking for a move quite the opposite from what i hilighted.

I'm not a fan of one year deals but if the club is able to help further players careers and has proven to do so then why not.

We are a developement club and have to be to survive, bobody down south grows up saying they want to be a footballer and play for motherwell in front of 6 thousand a week.

They want 50 thousand thats why the big man's looking forward to it, it's getting himself into the arena for the world to witness his talent not only as a player but as a part of motherwell.

If this leads to a big move then good luck to him, i don't have a problem with players putting there cards on the table early on as long as they put there bit in while there here and cokes is doing and has done.

Mon the well

I guess only those who were at the press conference will know what exactly was asked, in what context and what the response would have been.

I don't doubt that there will be separate agendas at work here in both accounts. Clearly our official site is duty bound to push the positive side of anything said whilst the tabloids often try to make anything not directly relating to the Old Firm as bite sized and easy to understand for the run of the mill Old Firm fan - who ofcourse make up the vast majority of their readership.

The way pish like "ex-hoops starlet", "former Gers hitkid" get included in articles about players to attempt to bring some relevance and interest to the bulk of the readers.

In this case we have Giles Coke. It doesn't take too much reading between the lines to see the line the Record has gone for. Giles who they'll be thinking? Okay son you don't play for Rangers or Celtic but you've come to Scotland. Clearly then you must either aspire to play for them or are here to play against them. And the angle of the article is born.