postiejim Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Penalty on youtube hope this lik works. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 was well struck, but sadly at an easy height for the keeper to make a save. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Good save. Only thing wrong with the penalty was that it was a good height for a keeper but more often than not those would go in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Great save. If McGregor had went the other way, we'd be talking about how it was a good penalty. Perhaps a bit too high off the ground, but plenty of power and would have been a goal had it not been for a cracking save. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 It wasn't awful, but at that height and speed, if the keeper guesses right he will save it almost every time. Forbes pen was much better. Keeper guessed right, but still couldn't reach it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 When you take a penalty you should ALWAYS go top left. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Wrong man took the penalty. O'Brien was fucked after running himself into the ground. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 i was never confident when we got it. mcgregor has a great record of saving pens and we had no one on the pitch who had scored one for us before. coke and jennings both looked they wanted to take it and i have been happy with either of them but o'brien has been great so you can't blame him for wanting it. it was a decent pen but a great save. mcgregor must have saved 7 or 8 pens in the last couple of years now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Should have tried this approach. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 after pires and henry i don't think we'll be seeing that ever again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 When you take a penalty you should ALWAYS go top left. If right footed, go bottom left. If left footed, go bottom right .......... that way the ball is always moving away from the keeper and the low ones are more difficult to save ...... so an ex-friend told me anyway Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Great save. If McGregor had went the other way, we'd be talking about how it was a good penalty. Perhaps a bit too high off the ground, but plenty of power and would have been a goal had it not been for a cracking save. I'd agree, Jay, thought it was a tremendous save and I hope Jim doesn't let it get to him, he was certainly gutted about missing. Onwards and upwards, it happens. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 I thought Jimbo was a strange choice for the penalty. He also looked f*****. Shooting looks the weakest part of his game at moment. I would have thought Hammell or Coke were better candidates. Fair dos he was keen to take it though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellworn Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 I thought Jimbo was a strange choice for the penalty. He also looked f*****. Shooting looks the weakest part of his game at moment. I would have thought Hammell or Coke were better candidates. Fair dos he was keen to take it though. Agreed mate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 It was a shit penalty, because he put it at the perfect height for the keeper and too near the middle of the goals. It's probably the only spot in the goals where, if he guesses right, the keeper will save it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
swordfish Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Awful penalty. Thought Hammell would have taken it. JOB played well apart from that though, hope he doesn't dwell on it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Was it actually a penalty? Looked soft from where I was- not seen it on TV though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
helliseasterroad Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Was it actually a penalty? Looked soft from where I was- not seen it on TV though. I'd say it was never a penalty, he was already falling when the tackle came in, but hey I wouldn't be complaining if we scored from it! How often do the Auld Firm get the soft penalties 5 minutes from time! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellimp Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 I'd say it was never a penalty, he was already falling when the tackle came in, but hey I wouldn't be complaining if we scored from it! How often do the Auld Firm get the soft penalties 5 minutes from time! Too right. About time the diddy teams got dodgy penalties instead of the Auld Scum!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pop84 Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 mcdonald's attempt to even up the splrefs.com stats! anyone? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 I was in shock at McDonald actually giving us a penalty at all. Probably more shocked at that than Jimbo failing to score! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellworn Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 I was in shock at McDonald actually giving us a penalty at all. Probably more shocked at that than Jimbo failing to score! Aye so was I it was surreal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 I was in shock at McDonald actually giving us a penalty at all. Probably more shocked at that than Jimbo failing to score!This. It probably wont happen again this season . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted September 12, 2009 Report Share Posted September 12, 2009 Awful penalty. Thought Hammell would have taken it. JOB played well apart from that though, hope he doesn't dwell on it. Maybe he'll write a song about it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted September 13, 2009 Report Share Posted September 13, 2009 At the time I didn't think it was a pen, but looking back at it you can see why McDonald gave it. Well done to him for sending Bougherra off too, many refs would've shat it. O'Brien was unlucky in many ways, but his body shape in the run up let McGregor know where he was putting it. He felt confident though so no blame is attached to him and I hope he can continue to play as well as he has this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...