PettyWulliegrew Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 Aye it was quite a night. That was the Aberdeen team that arrived at Fir Park without an away goal or point prior to that match, typical Well eh?!!! Smashin' game though, even though it usually means some poor defending was on show! I prefer to focus on the positive though, there was some great play and a few decent goals too. The next day we signed Benito Kemble and a week later we won 1-0 at Shellic thanks to Twads goal, and despite Tealey's first half dismissal!! Strange but exciting times!! Was at the Piggery that night ! Did Gould not make a "Banks" like save from a Spencer header in the first half ? "Its black Its blue Its halfed in feckin two Its Henricks leg" Beggarz didnae like that ! Seem to remember a couple of the Sheeps goals being deflections the 5-6 game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scarecrow Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 Can't be many occasions when a Well player has scored a hat-trick and ended up on the losing side Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 terrible game as i remember it, we're totally shite even although we managed to score five. any game where that wee wank spencer scored a hat trick and andy dow curled in a 25 yard free kick is never going to be fondly remembered by me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alanr Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 I also seem to remember enjoying that game as we had the best of the play yet Aberdeen kept running up the park and scoring. Maybe that's just my selective memory, though. Was it this game that all the Bayern Munchen fans were at? I remember a fair few of them in the East Stand as they were playing Rangers the following night and after learning the tune to 'we fu-cking hate Rangers...' we were treated to a sing-song for the rest of the night. Again this could be selective memory, but I remember thinking 'they've come from Munich for some treat tonight', although it may have been some other high-scoring game at the 'Ark. EDIT: Can't have been that night as Munchen played at Ibrox on 20/08/99. Anyone know what game they turned up to at FP? Am I imagining all of this? Googling Bayern vs the old firm doesn't being up much dates.. Im pretty sure they were behind me in the East Stand though! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Claretwelly Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 On my way from town centre to SECC to see Manics that night, asked taxi driver what score was, thought he was winding me up when he said 4-2 at halftime. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well-army Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 One of the bizzarest nights of my life. Everytime a team attacked it looked like another goal. Certainly one i'll always remember Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scarecrow Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 Two best Scottish keepers of the modern era were both looking for somewhere to hide at full-time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 EDIT: Can't have been that night as Munchen played at Ibrox on 20/08/99. Anyone know what game they turned up to at FP?Am I imagining all of this? Googling Bayern vs the old firm doesn't being up much dates.. Im pretty sure they were behind me in the East Stand though! Was it not a game against Hearts that got abandonned after the pitch was waterlogged? Think we were winning 1-0 through a Teale penalty. Missed the 6-5 game,I'd just started uni and gave it a miss. Couldn't beleive when I heard the score. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alanr Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 Aye think it was. I remember something in particular had happened but I just thought it was a goalfest they got. This was the match they were at, a month before the Aberdeen game. Always hated John Rowbotham but I was raging he called this game off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 It all ended happily ever after though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted October 20, 2009 Report Share Posted October 20, 2009 Was it not a game against Hearts that got abandonned after the pitch was waterlogged? Think we were winning 1-0 through a Teale penalty. the best thing about that night was there were a load of bayern munich fans at the game who went on the pitch after the game got abandoned and led some mad bouncy style chants. nevin's winner in the rearranged game was a belter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigmcd Posted October 21, 2009 Report Share Posted October 21, 2009 aye what a nite that was i was 19 and i can remember sitting in the east stand with my now wife and singing to the sheep "will you ever win a game" was a strange nite dont think i will ever forget it pity you dont see games like that anymore. that game must be one of a few or the only game where 2 scotsmen scored a hatrick each Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madwullie Posted October 21, 2009 Report Share Posted October 21, 2009 I was stewarding at that game in amongst the sheep. This was before we realised it is criminally dangerous to allow a person to stand up during a game so I didn't even have the consolation of manhandling children who celebrated too much. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mourin-Hoe Posted October 21, 2009 Report Share Posted October 21, 2009 Im still adamant Goram was drunk! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan29 Posted October 21, 2009 Report Share Posted October 21, 2009 didnt go that night cause as i remember weather was terrible so stayed in and watched the h*ns in the champ league (dont ask not one of my sane moments !) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GazzyB Posted October 21, 2009 Report Share Posted October 21, 2009 Highlights anyone? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted October 21, 2009 Report Share Posted October 21, 2009 Wasn't at the game but can remember as clear as day checking the final score on teletext after having no idea how the game had gone. It was the most surreal "Fecking Yes... Oh ya c**t" moment I have ever experienced! I was convinced the score was wrong and switched between pages about ten times before reading the match report and it sinking in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 I still shudder at that game, how on Earth we managed to concede six goals to that just a few days after they'd been humped 7-0 at Shellic park (who we beat twice in the next half-dozen games!!). After it went 5-6, you'd have thought we'd have went for it but it wasn't like that sadly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skipper Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 Lived in Aberdeen for 10 years and I can't stand the sheep shagging bassas. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 I was there and I was blootered - for a change. Every shot they hit , went in the net. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kim Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 God, I feel old! Can't believe that was 10 years ago! I still can't believe we scored 5 and lost. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 Highlights anyone? Got them somewhere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 Something wrong if you can't enjoy a game with 11 goals, always something going on. Exciting stuff which is what fitba's about IMO. Beats the Hell out of the typical Sheepymeeh 1-0 vitories we usually had to endure up until then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted October 22, 2009 Report Share Posted October 22, 2009 It was midweek and my boys were still quite young so I ended up watching alone. My memory of that night was a feak show and shambles. I'm sure one of the Aberdeen goals came from a free kick into the box and a free header. That sounds bad enough, but the free kick was a retake, and a carbon copy of the first. Tony Thomas - turned slower than an oil tanker, completely lost. I'd have preferred a dreich 0-0. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...