fatcalf Posted October 25, 2009 Report Share Posted October 25, 2009 Only just seen it on the wee clip and it's a pen, no question IMO. Trailing foot catches him. Nae debate anyways, ref says it is so it is, get o'er it. If we hudnae got that The Duke wid likely got a hat-trick onyways. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Faraway Saint Posted October 25, 2009 Report Share Posted October 25, 2009 Only just seen it on the wee clip and it's a pen, no question IMO. Trailing foot catches him. Nae debate anyways, ref says it is so it is, get o'er it. If we hudnae got that The Duke wid likely got a hat-trick onyways. You ever heard the phrase " Your talking pish"? Stop making things up, it's not smart. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted October 25, 2009 Report Share Posted October 25, 2009 EDIT: Deleted as I was talking mince thanks to a badly-written Sunday Herald article Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigcol Posted October 25, 2009 Report Share Posted October 25, 2009 Says McPherson ! Case open Case closed again since numpty withdrew Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Faraway Saint Posted October 25, 2009 Report Share Posted October 25, 2009 EDIT: Deleted as I was talking mince thanks to a badly-written Sunday Herald article Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParks finest Posted October 25, 2009 Report Share Posted October 25, 2009 Faraway saint.. When you see the pen you`ll be eating your words. Definite penalty,even though i didnt think it at the time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest 'Flow Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 We've watched it again (a good few times) on the massive projector screen, slowed down, and for me, it's a penalty. O'Brien touches the ball slightly to the left, then Murray comes through him and then the ball and it's on the line, alas, a spot kick. Referee was spot on (No pun intended)! 'Flow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 Doesn't matter if it was or wasn't, it was awarded, we bagged it, game on. Anyone else ecstatic we turned around a 2 goal deficit with 18 minutes to go? A point definitely won imo. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 I watched the highlight last night to see this mysterious nalty for myself. What could the radio commentators be on about (no one in the ground bar the ref knew why it had been given)? What could poor wee Gus be on about. Jee Soh Man! When you see it it's a stonefuckinwaller. if I had thought it was soft I'd have no hesitation in saying that. You say all these debatable jobs every week. However I defy anyone to explain to me why that wasn't an absolute stone waller. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 You ever heard the phrase " Your talking pish"? Stop making things up, it's not smart. Heard it? I'm reading it aff you every post. It's a pen, we got it, we scored it, get over it. No matter how often you tell yirsel it's not, it still is, end of. Fuxake everything's black and white wi you intit? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 I must admit, at the time I was pissing myself laughing as it looked like he'd won the ball outside the box, but having seen it on TV, just the once at normal speed from a different angle, it looked like a penalty right enough. To be honest, I'm not sure, but I'm also not caring. Them's the breaks. Edit: I must admit, it's much easier to say that when it's your team that has benefitted. If we get put out of the cup tomorrow night with them getting a similar 'nalty, I hope I'm big enough to come on here the next day and say the same thing, but I'm not convinced I wouldn't be whinging like a big girl. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 Jee Soh Man! When you see it it's a stonefuckinwaller. I defy anyone to explain to me why that wasn't an absolute stone waller. Well ask Jim O'Brien- quoted in the record today as saying that it wasn't a penalty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kmmfc Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 I think St Mirren should be more concerned that they blew a 3-1 lead after the penalty than moaning about whether it was a penalty or not. Looking forward to the game tomorrow night and hopefully, Saturday's match gives us a psychological advantage. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 And hopefully the argument over the penalty gives the game a wee bit of fire. Cannae beat a bit of handbags in a cup tie. I'm well up for this tomorrow. Moan The 'Well!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 Well ask Jim O'Brien- quoted in the record today as saying that it wasn't a penalty. A bastion of truth that paper. Says in The Express he didnae think it was a foul and that the player won the ball. TV clearly shows the player didnae win the ball so therefore he's mistaken. Penalty!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted October 26, 2009 Report Share Posted October 26, 2009 O'Brien is being nothing more than objective in his comments and says nothing to wind anyone up whatsoever. He states he fell over because he was tackled. That sometimes happens you know! I can see why it was given, the guy slid in with a a late tackle and too often these go unpunished. The comments from certain areas of the press stating "that only the ref knew why he gave it" are utter pish. It's quite obvious why he gave it. Maybe the St Mirren fans should be man enough to notice that there was a foul on a Motherwell player that allowed them to gain possession to score the first goal. Albeit, we could've still defended it better. That's fitba. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...