Gaag Posted January 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Our covers only cover about half the ground, but Aberdeen have given us theirs for the week which cover the full pitch. That, plus a forecast thawing during the week from the current -5 degs will hopefully ensure game on. never mind that... any chance of a spare ticket?!? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 I'll take two tickets please as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Why dont you contact the Supporters Ass. as I am sure they got a load of tickets! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Our covers only cover about half the ground, but Aberdeen have given us theirs for the week which cover the full pitch. That, plus a forecast thawing during the week from the current -5 degs will hopefully ensure game on. Hope you're right mate, daily updates would be good if you're up for it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Aye, seen this thaw in the forecasts myself. Spent £60 on transport so would be gutted if it is off! Up to 6 Degrees on Friday and 5 Degrees Friday night, should be OK! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGMFC Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 on the wishaw supporters bus to love street on saturday they had a spare ticket btw @Yir Elder i'm the guy that was sitting directly in front of you on teh bus on teh way home pmsl at yer patter about the guy takein his lassie tae see accies!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted January 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 i don't know anyone on the wishaw supporters bus Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Spent £60 on transport so would be gutted if it is off! £60? I'd expect to be chauffeur driven up there for that. Word of warning, If you or anybody are planning on the train taking the strain, think again. Engineering Works are being undertaken in the latest of what is known as disruptive possessions. Chuff Chuff and bus hopping the order of the day and for many who travelled to Inverness last year will agree - not a pleasant experience. Buses north of Dundee this past week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Inverurie Loco's game at home to Nairn County was called off today, once again a frozen pitch the cause. Forecast looks like it won't be as cold so if they get the pitch covered at night and allow it to be exposed during the day, it could well slowly thaw out and be okay by next Saturday. Weather forecast looks like getting better so should go ahead (http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml) also from thier website 04/01/2009 - Locos to cover the entire surface in attempt to be Well sure of a gameInverurie Locos, like all other Highland League clubs, were forced into cold storage yesterday, frozen pitches the order of the day, and their game against Nairn County, scheduled for Harlaw Park, being postponed, leaves Dave Cormie's team well behind their rivals in number of games played and sadly lacking in match practice As well as the four times postponed tie with Vale of Leithen, eventually played mid December, their only League game played in five weeks was a home defeat by Keith. However hopes are high Saturday's game will go ahead. A goodwill gesture from Aberdeen FC will see Paul Fiske and his AFC ground staff come to Harlaw Park early in the week to lay down the Pittodrie covers which will enclose the whole pitch . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 £60? I'd expect to be chauffeur driven up there for that. Word of warning, If you or anybody are planning on the train taking the strain, think again. Engineering Works are being undertaken in the latest of what is known as disruptive possessions. Chuff Chuff and bus hopping the order of the day and for many who travelled to Inverness last year will agree - not a pleasant experience. Buses north of Dundee this past week. If anyone had a pair of tickets for sale at face value I'd happily give someone a lift , chance would be a fine thing right enough . Gaag has first dibs on spare briefs by the looks of it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Got Gaags pm - didn't get yours. That's the power of being the site owner for you! Frazzle Fiddle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
niall Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 if you can't get tickets, there is another Scottish Cup 4th round game you could go to... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 No chance this game will go ahead if thats the 5 day forecast. Thats not warm enough to thaw out a pitch that has been totally frozen. Move it to Fir Park. EDIT - It was the london forecast I was looking at not Inverurie....actually looks like it will be fine! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted January 6, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Move it to Fir Park. why should they? our pitch is no better. And they have home advantage, if they want to move the tie, then it's up to them where they want to move it to. P.S the BBC is reporting between 8 and 9c on Saturday with sunny spells, should be fine. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 why should they? our pitch is no better. And they have home advantage, if they want to move the tie, then it's up to them where they want to move it to. P.S the BBC is reporting between 8 and 9c on Saturday with sunny spells, should be fine. Cool yer boots mate I was being sarcastic. Also read above. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyRoss Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 I fear the damage early on in the week will cause the game to be cancelled. If not I think it will be a case of wearing 1000 layers , I don't think I have felt the weather as cold as I have in the past few days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted January 6, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Cool yer boots mate I was being sarcastic. Also read above. Sorry! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy J Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Hope you're right mate, daily updates would be good if you're up for it! What the f***s going on with this weather? It was -6 yesterday evening when I got home at 6pm. This morning it was +2 degs and increasing. Good thawing weather I'd have said. Prediction : game on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Its a bit weird down here too mate, not too bad during the best part of the day but starts to freeze overnight, and is duly baltic of a morning! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted January 6, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 quite mild up here this morning actually! First morning in well over a week there hasn't been frost on the car. Good omen hopefully Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 I hope the game is off, so that I can try to go to the re-arranged fixture. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
carl_mfc Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Well mate I hope you dont see that game then!!! I hope the game is on so that the vast majority of the 500 fans who bought tickets get to see the game. I would reckon a large percentage will not be able to make it up for a midweek fixture!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Probably will be quite a few who can't go up midweek, I will though so from a selfish point of view I hope its freezing at the weekend!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
studos Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Just looked at the Beebs 5 day forecast and it's lookin good. Sorry if it's been posted before but canny be bothered trawling through 3 pages of posts. http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?id=1029 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted January 6, 2009 Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Looking at all the forecasts, if the actual weather turns out that way, this game will be on I reckon. 6/7 degrees celsius over Thursday/Friday/Friday night followed by 9 Degrees on Sat itself is enough. If it goes that way that is... Otherwise will just have to spend all day in Aberdeen (Hey where's the Scooping Smiley gone?) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...