DEWELL Posted November 22, 2009 Report Share Posted November 22, 2009 Thought Aberdeen overall were the better side and some marvellous point blank saves from Ruddy kept us from a 2 or 3 goal defeat. We gave them far too much room in midfield and actually made Kerr look like a good player for them as he basically ran the show 2nd half. . To get a point is fab that plus the pitch still looking good is the 2 plus factors from yesterday. Anyway 1 defeat from 11 games is brill but we'll need to play a helluva lot better next saturday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted November 22, 2009 Report Share Posted November 22, 2009 The press wouldve been saving their pencils for tomorrows reports on the chants at Tannadice today im sure Well done NWF, and just think, at 12 he's about the right age to sit up the end of the East singing his heart out with the rest of them ! Don't go disowning him now ! He will get a slap across the lug . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted November 22, 2009 Report Share Posted November 22, 2009 I thought both sets of players should've been commended for providing an exciting and entertaining game in what were absolutely atrocious conditions. In terms of the game, I think we were a wee bit fortunate to get the draw as Aberdeen missed two great chances in the first half and were by far the better side in the second half. Aberdeen started both halves much better. Our goal came against the run of play and our inability to stop cross balls into our box eventually cost us the goal. They certainly bossed the first 20 minutes of the second half and we only came alive again after their goal. Overall though considering where we were before Jim Gannon came, only 1 loss in 12 games, clear 5th in the SPL by 4 points I'm quite happy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 Not commented much on the match yet. Always like to leave it a couple of days to let things calm down to stop me being too positive or negative. Only really commented on our right back (aint that right SteveDiggle ) so will miss him out of anything in here as a full thread is on the go at the moment. Thought overall the draw was the correct result. We were the better in the side in the first half and were rightfully ahead despite the bit of luck with Langfield being poor for our goal. Thought Murphy was excellent on Saturday but should have done better with his one of one with Langfield which was eventually cleared off the line from his header. He was at the heart of almost everything positive about or attacking play and he looks confident after his Scotland displays. Was disappointed that O'Brien didn't start on Saturday as he is such an attacking threat for us. Forbes just doesnt have the engine to play that side of midfield (I think Melvin Bragg is spot on with the Fitzpatrick/Forbes comment he made somewhere else on this board) and I think replacing him with O'Brien at half time was the correct change to make but possibly at the wrong time. Would have maybe given it another 10-15mins. I have not been impressed with Jutkiewicz since he came to us on loan but he is starting to impress me in his last couple of outings. I reckon he could do alot worse than take a move to Scotland for a year (depends on his contract situation at Everton) and get more games under his belt before moving back down south similar to Chris Porter. John Ruddy is top notch. I dont think I have seen a better goalkeeper at Fir Park since Sieb Dykstra. I think Melvin Bragg was made to eat his words when he said he would rather have Langfield than Ruddy before the match started. Hang your head in shame big man! It will be impossible to keep a hold of Ruddy beyond the end of the season (hopefully we can keep him in January) as this lad is certain to go onto bigger and better things. Great shot stopper and commands his box superbly. Couple of wee negatives to comment on: Why don't we have anyone on the back post at corners? That is two goals in the last two matches that could have been prevented if we had a man on the post? Poor finishing from Sutton. Should have played in O'Brien but chose to shoot directly at Langfield and he also took a poor touch from the square ball that Jutkiewicz played to him. Must do better or I can see Sutton having the same issues as Craigan. Overall it was the correct result and look forward to next week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ross_mfc91 Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 When was the last time Sutton scored? Was it killie in the 2nd game of the season?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 When was the last time Sutton scored? Was it killie in the 2nd game of the season?! Correct Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 I'm really enjoying seeing Reynolds get forward so much now. I've always thought he'd be a tidy midfielder but having him rolling forward from centreback is cracking. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nijholt91 Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 I'm really enjoying seeing Reynolds get forward so much now. I've always thought he'd be a tidy midfielder but having him rolling forward from centreback is cracking. Aye, did well against Hamilton going forward too. Sure he was a midfielder in his youth and I'm sure played for Scotland U-20s in midfield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 Disappionted we didn't win but, on the whole, won't argue the visitors deserved a point. We didn't play particularly well and irrespective of the merits or otherwise of the substitutions, Gannon perhaps saw something amiss we didn't. One defeat in 12 games, that's remarkable. And, away from home, I make it our best start to a season since 1933-34 and it was mid-January 1934 before we lost away in the league that season. Agree with that Rickoza and also impressed by the fact we have only lost 1 game and we are nearly into December. That said the draws are hurting us. 7 Draws. We would have more points if we had taken 3 wins and 4 losses out of those 7 games!!! Interesting to note (probably been mentioned elsewhere) that due to a quirk in the fixture list we now play the 4 teams above us in a row and with Aberdeen - make it the full top 6 in a row!! Could drop out of the top 6 by the end of that run. Hope not. Reading some of the posts you would think we had only 1 win to our name this season............typical Steel(MOAN)men Online Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 Just a wee comment on Jutkiewicz and Ruddy, they have done well for us but are they really going to move on to bigger and better things I think these guys have found there level ,two decent players in an average team playing in an average league .They WILL move, but like so many other players that have left Motherwell in the past 3 or 4 seasons will find the step up a bit harder than they might think or have been led to believe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitch Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 Just a wee comment on Jutkiewicz and Ruddy, they have done well for us but are they really going to move on to bigger and better things I think these guys have found there level ,two decent players in an average team playing in an average league .They WILL move, but like so many other players that have left Motherwell in the past 3 or 4 seasons will find the step up a bit harder than they might think or have been led to believe. I reckon Jutkiewicz will struggle to go much higher but Ruddy has the potential to be an excellent top flight keeper in England! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 Ruddy really does have the potential to be an England goalie, it's a position they're hardly anointed in and he seems to have all the key attributes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted November 23, 2009 Report Share Posted November 23, 2009 Got to say getting really pissed off about the negative coverage Crawford Allan has got in the press for sending off McDonald. The rules state he must caution a player who covers his head with his jersey. I know its a daft rule but it is the rule. I'm fed up with journalists taking potshots at people when they are doing nothing wrong (or in this case applying the rules of the game). Glad Stuart Dougal backed him up in the record. But scoring him 4/10 as the Sunday Mail did yesterday because of that decision is disgraceful and disrespectful as it suggests that the journalist who is scoring it does not know the rules of the game. Got to say its a rule that any right minded individual wants to change but to blame the ills of the rule on that referee by publicly slating him is out of order. And Ruddy whilst a very good 'keeper is no where near England's level. I think both he and Jut are better than I expected (or even dared hoped for) but I don't see any of them cutting it in the Premiership. The Jut is too quiet for too long in games though when involved is excelled. And Ruddy makes too many ruddymentary errors. Thinking Hibs game in particular. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottW1886 Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Got to say getting really pissed off about the negative coverage Crawford Allan has got in the press for sending off McDonald. The rules state he must caution a player who covers his head with his jersey. I know its a daft rule but it is the rule. I'm fed up with journalists taking potshots at people when they are doing nothing wrong (or in this case applying the rules of the game). Glad Stuart Dougal backed him up in the record. But scoring him 4/10 as the Sunday Mail did yesterday because of that decision is disgraceful and disrespectful as it suggests that the journalist who is scoring it does not know the rules of the game. Got to say its a rule that any right minded individual wants to change but to blame the ills of the rule on that referee by publicly slating him is out of order. To be fair, Willie Miller has backed the referee today in the press stating that they (Aberdeen) were not aware of the rule being changed to prevent tops being lifted to display slogans on t-shirts, but that the referee was entirely correct to send him off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Miller and McGhee now both agree the ref made the right decision. Stuart Dougal got it spot on in the paper yesterday. The boy was being assessed and although the rule is a joke, not to give the caution would of seen him being marked down by his powers that be. Alot of balls to give the decision and felt the ref had a good game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Ruddy really does have the potential to be an England goalie, it's a position they're hardly anointed in and he seems to have all the key attributes. Agreed, I think by the time Ruddy is 28/29 he'll be one of Englands top keepers. I, like others can see his flaws at the moment, and there are a few... but in 5 or 6 years time I think think we'll look back and be very proud that he played for us during the turning point in his career. Regarding Duke, I think he's also finding a wee turning point and a bit of confidence that, looking at his previous record, he's never had before. I said the other day that he's potentially better than Porter and I stand by that..I think he's near enough as good at the things Porter was, while having a wee bit extra in his game that Ports maybe lacked. Someone said to me that he's only finding it easier because it's the SPL, but then...how easy did Ian Wright/Juninho/Roy Keane/Emerson etc find it...and they had all been superstars in the "best league in the world". It might be the SPL, but putting the ball in the net is putting the ball in the net regardless of where you are, and The Duke is starting to find his game for what seems to be the first time in his career. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 To be fair, Willie Miller has backed the referee today in the press stating that they (Aberdeen) were not aware of the rule being changed to prevent tops being lifted to display slogans on t-shirts, but that the referee was entirely correct to send him off. Seriously? Is that a fifa ruling? Are they trying to drain the life out the game completely? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Seriously? Is that a fifa ruling? Yes, although despite what Willie Miller says, I actually thought it had been the case since the writing-stuff-on-your-t-shirt fashion got a bit out of hand three or four years ago. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottW1886 Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 It may be new to the SPL, that's possibly what he means....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 24, 2009 Report Share Posted November 24, 2009 Agreed, I think by the time Ruddy is 28/29 he'll be one of Englands top keepers. I, like others can see his flaws at the moment, and there are a few... but in 5 or 6 years time I think think we'll look back and be very proud that he played for us during the turning point in his career. And if he didn't have those flaws he wouldn't be here. Glad of that personally. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted November 25, 2009 Report Share Posted November 25, 2009 Yeah of course mate, completely agree. Any more the finished article and we wouldn't get a sniff of any one from a Premiership clubs books. If he uses his time with us to help develop his game and then go on to fulfill his potential then everyone's a winner all round. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...