Yassin Moutouatkil

Busta Nut

Humphrey is injured so that wasn't an option.

He fade in the second and his crossing was poor - but he had a handfull of crosses in the early part of the game from the right hand side that were bang on.

He gets the ball and runs at the opposition every opportunity.

Defensively his tackling is generally good when he's back :P

I know Humphrey was not an option for Saturday but going forward it is something that should be looked at. Same as having Reynolds on the left too as I thought he was excellent against Accies.

I cant remember any crosses in the game on Saturday being anything above poor. How often does he put the ball directly out for goal kick by either a poor cross or over running it?

When he gets the ball and runs at pace it does give you that bit of excitement but the end product is not good enough.

He did have a good tackle in the 2nd half on Saturday about 20 yards inside our own half. I will give you that one.

His positional skills leave us badly exposed when teams break.

He was excellent against Rangers and I really liked the look of him but reckon it was a one off.

• Replies 434

Fatcalf makes the point time and time again and never a truer word is spoken.

A lot of folk on here are really really 'spoilt' in terms of the football that MFC have managed to create over the last decade. We could quite easily be in an Airdrie type predicament I've no doubt.

The expectations that some of us have on a Saturday are incredible and In my own pant wetting opinion disrespectful to the efforts going in.

I know Humphrey was not an option for Saturday but going forward it is something that should be looked at. Same as having Reynolds on the left too as I thought he was excellent against Accies.

Reynolds has had some howlers at left back - was Paisley not a bomb scare in the CIS? Was that performance any worse than Yass has put in at right back?

Fatcalf makes the point time and time again and never a truer word is spoken.

A lot of folk on here are really really 'spoilt' in terms of the football that MFC have managed to create over the last decade. We could quite easily be in an Airdrie type predicament I've no doubt.

The expectations that some of us have on a Saturday are incredible and In my own pant wetting opinion disrespectful to the efforts going in.

So because we could have been in an Airdrie predicament we should accept that we have weaknesses in our side and not discuss or comment on them? I mean next I will be hearing the line "atleast we have a team to support. Didnt look that good in the early 00's". A decent season for me would be a comfortable SPL finish and a decent run in a cup competition. I am delighted that we have achieved more in recent seasons but we should always strive to improve. Not just be thankful that we are not in the same bother as our North Lanarkshire neighbours.

We have a decent SPL chairman (despite not being popular!) and a very good manager. Why should we not be looking to improve all the time by replacing players who are not contributing enough? There are a couple of players in the side at the moment who also need to be doing a little bit more. (I will comment on them once a thread gets fired up :P )

Yassan give's me the most jitters out of anyone i've seen play for us in the last few years. Not a case of we must have something to moan about and while he is playing he gets 100% backing. Considering he's probably on a fair amount of money as well, I think we should be looking to replace. And I've thought this since the Rangers game incidentally.

Reynolds has had some howlers at left back - was Paisley not a bomb scare in the CIS? Was that performance any worse than Yass has put in at right back?

Reynolds had an off day at that game, Yass is consistently piss poor, in fact that is the only thing that he has consistently done since he arrive - pray before the game starts and be pish.

That's right SD we are all "spoilt" none of us have supported the "Well for years and years and seen some really poor players pass through the team in that time or watch dismal performances. We all appreciate the football that we have been lucky enough to see the past couple of seasons but when someone is playing really badly, we have the right on an internet forum to voice that opinion, and its up to you whether you agree or not.

We want the best for Motherwell. end of story, we don't expect 11 world beater on the park just competent guys who have some football ability got forbit we would actually feel the need to critisise someone who has been playing very poorly. Continual improvement is just that moving on guys who aren't very good for someone who is better.

The guy would be a decent player if he could cross the ball - he can't, so he is of no use to us.

I was sitting in the East Stand, level with the 18yrd box at the Cooper end in the 2nd half. Every time we came down that side, you just knew that it was going to fall to bits as soon as Yaas tried to cross the ball.

he only manages to do two things consistently, pray before the game and play shite. Does that clear it up for you?

Hammell(for the majority of his 2nd spell) has only been able to play shite, so fair-do on Yassin for carrying out two tasks. :huh:

If Yassin could swing in say 50% of his crosses, he'd be better than Paul Quinn without a doubt at Right Back.

No shit!! - cheers mate but I got that ;) - I'm no biting I'm afraid.

Oh aye, I assumed you got it - it wasn't exactly subtle, I was more just pointing out that everyone reading the thread would have got what you actually meant, and how pathetic an attempt by SteveDiggle it was.

But so far, the thread shouldn't be here because there's tons of positives, anyone who thinks Moutouakil is poor is just spoiled by the football they watch, and you hate Muslims.

It's good times, and a lot more than I was excepting when Busta started the thread during the game on Saturday! :huh:

Tbf most people who want Yass booted also wanted The Duke booted, although the Duke is on course to be our most prolific striker well eh... since god knows when.

I think the biggest difference between the two is that Jutkiewicz looked like he knew how to play the striker's role in that there wasn't any problem with his positioning and awareness. His biggest problem was that he didn't look sharp or confident, and there were questions raised about his actual ability with the ball at his feet. He's shown though that with a bit of self-belief and a few games under his belt, he can play a bit.

Moutouakil's problem is that he has no defensive awareness whatsoever and his positioning is shocking. Even when he's not up the park, it's evident. A couple of times in the second half, Murphy was left with two men because Yassin was standing in our box sleeping. A full backs first priority is to defend, and his defensive qualities are truly minimal. If we're going to prevent goals leaking from the right back slot once other teams clock on, then we need a full back who knows where to be and how to read the movement of opposition players. Yassin doesn't offer us that. That's not a confidence issue IMO.

I agree his positioning is poor, but I honestly believe this is due to what Gannon is telling him to do. Although when I have seen him from the Main Stand he may start of in a poor position but his ability to make up for it, and his tackling is not "shite" as some ave said.

Nah Infamous Duke is on target to be more prolific than him and Porter (that is if my maths is right) - and the Duke has a worse frontline to work with IMHO

Hammell(for the majority of his 2nd spell) has only been able to play shite, so fair-do on Yassin for carrying out two tasks. :P

If Yassin could swing in say 50% of his crosses, he'd be better than Paul Quinn without a doubt at Right Back.

But he cannae swing in the crosses, he mis-kicks, skelps them off the defender, cuts back and lets the midfielder put the ball across, tries his left foot every now and again, every so often he manages to get a wee floaty one in.

If he could learn to cross he would be superb, but he had plenty of practice on Saturday and he wasnt getting any better.

Tbf most people who want Yass booted also wanted The Duke booted, although the Duke is on course to be our most prolific striker well eh... since god knows when.

Well in the last few seasons we have had:

08/09 - Clarkson 13 League Goals

07/08 - Porter 15 League Goals (Clarkson also had 12 and McCormack also on a decent number)

06/07 - McDonald 15 League Goals

05/06 - No One Worth Talking About

04/05 - McDonald 15 League Goals

03/04 - Clarkson 11 League Goals

Lukas Jutkiewicz is currrently on 5 League Goals. I am CERTAIN that he will not beat the amount of goals scored by McDonald & Porter (ie 15 League Goals) this season.

Happy to enter a wager with you with the terms that he has to stay the full season.