fatcalf Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Noticed the club have handed over some season tickets to serving soldiers, good on 'em. Fine gesture to our troops. So that thread a wee while ago was to gauge opinion was it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Seen it the Record today. Fine move by the club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Aye, well done to all at MFC. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Noticed the club have handed over some season tickets to serving soldiers, good on 'em. Fine gesture to our troops. So that thread a wee while ago was to gauge opinion was it? If it was, they obviously ignored it, as my recollection is that most people said "why should soldiers get special treatment" Giving out a limited number of season tickets, rather than just letting them all in free, seems like a reasonable compromise, though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geedub Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 It should be 1 kill = 1 family season ticket. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Well done MFC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 If it was, they obviously ignored it, as my recollection is that most people said "why should soldiers get special treatment" Giving out a limited number of season tickets, rather than just letting them all in free, seems like a reasonable compromise, though. Indeed that thread gave the impression that whilst a a fair few supported it more didn't. Height of nonsense if you ask me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 26, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Indeed that thread gave the impression that whilst a a fair few supported it more didn't. Height of nonsense if you ask me. No what that thread did was allow those with issues against this daft war our troops are fighting to get their grievances out whilst those without issues kept out of the argument. This board is no more representative of the overall fan base than a quick Q&A round Starka of a Saturday night as the responses on any thread depends on those who choose to comment. I wasn't asking you anyway just congratulating the club on a good move in my eyes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Nice idea but some of my colleagues took some of the kids we work with to an European game at ibrox they sat next to the squadies who go free tickets and they were shocked to hear then start pro UVF chants. I was not surprised to hear the stewards/police/tv/papers/radio missed it. Just hope we don't get the same at Firpark. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 26, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Nice idea but some of my colleagues took some of the kids we work with to an European game at ibrox they sat next to the squadies who go free tickets and they were shocked to hear then start pro UVF chants. I was not surprised to hear the stewards/police/tv/papers/radio missed it. Just hope we don't get the same at Firpark. Somehow I very much doubt that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 how often can a soldier actually get to fir park? maybe some cheap season tickets heading to ebay? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted November 26, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 how often can a soldier actually get to fir park? maybe some cheap season tickets heading to ebay? My understanding is the tickets are left in the barracks for those based here inbetween tours. Could be wrong though but nice gesture all the same. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 how often can a soldier actually get to fir park? maybe some cheap season tickets heading to ebay? Most folks I know, If they can't use them, would let a fellow Dosser use it ! For FREE....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Next up.......... Some 'Free' season tickets to local OAP's................ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Most folks I know, If they can't use them, would let a fellow Dosser use it ! For FREE....... aye but it might be like that story in the record the day with the regiment that ran up massive phone bills in afghanistan and then juked the bills and put the phone company out of business. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 aye but it might be like that story in the record the day with the regiment that ran up massive phone bills in afghanistan and then juked the bills and put the phone company out of business. It's aww If's and but's then ehhhhhh ! Mon the Motherwell supporting troops........... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 Its the in thing at the moment to be seen to be giving the troops a good deal. No idea why, they do a job and are paid a wage reflective of that job just like the rest of us. Which without knowing I would suspect is larger than most of us. Club must be hoping that if people get into the way of going to Fir Park when they are not in action that when they leave the army they will want it as a way of normal life and they will then purchase one of their own. To be honest I don't see it being a great success for the club apart from a nice wee bit of publicity in the Record today. We're not a charity! Soldiers don't get free milk from Asda, free beer from Jack Daniels or free lotto tickets from Camelot so why football clubs seem to think it is their duty to give them stuff for free is beyond me. That is not to say I am not grateful for the work our soldiers do and the risks they take; but I am also grateful to doctors, nurses, fire officers, cancer researchers, teachers and nobody is expecting them to get a freebie. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 26, 2009 Report Share Posted November 26, 2009 It's aww If's and but's then ehhhhhh ! Mon the Motherwell supporting troops........... i'm just saying i wouldn't be suprised. a boy that works for the health board told me there's folk pulling a scam where they smoke 40 fags then go into chemists and take a carbon monoxide breath test then get hunners of nicotine patches for free cause of the free perscriptions then they're firing them on ebay and selling them for 50% of the retail price. nothing would suprise me these days. if the wean needs a xmas present or you need a new pair of oakleys for afghanistan a season ticket on ebay could cover that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gav212 Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 I agree completely with you Tweed, its their job. I appreciate what they do for the country but i also appreciate the work that, for example, Doctors and Nurses do as well. Perhaps Wishaw General should be handed free season tickets for the nurses to use on their days off? Load of pish letting them in for nothing if you ask me. Tin hat on (ironically). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 I don't know if I like it to be honest. You just don't know where the line has to be drawn. And I'm sure there are people going to the football whose pockets are hit harder than soldiers in between wars would be! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 I think its a great gesture by the club and cannot understand any of the supposed negatives the stadium is almost 2/3 empty at lot of games So any gesture towards any organisation or members of the community is good in my opinion doesn't seem to be any negativity towards giving boys clubs free entry? or reducing prices for kids/families in general, (do adults not know what they are signing up for when they have kids, why should they get cheap/free entry ) Well done MFC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 Very much in vogue. Usual detractors apart, the club have worked themselves some very good PR with seats that would have lain empty. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 Indeed that thread gave the impression that whilst a a fair few supported it more didn't. Height of nonsense if you ask me. I'm sure you would rather they were givin to Muslim extremists...bawbag. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jk2205 Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 Good effort from MFC. Although i would like to see the offer extended to other groups...amputee's for example. It costs them an arm and a leg to get into Fir Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted November 27, 2009 Report Share Posted November 27, 2009 Think Tweed is spot on. Nice wee bit of media attention for Motherwell but I disagree with the principle. The Army is a chosen career path so let them get on with it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...