Shallow Dave Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 All, We've experienced a period where the club captain, when fit, hasn't even featured on the bench. During that period, one of our "senior" players; Mark Reynolds, at the age of 22, has worn the armband. On this forum there is opinion that, despite solid performances for N Ireland, Craigan is no longer good enough to play in the SPL. Personally I look back to Tom Boyd and I see comparisons with Reynolds in a young defender who has a bit of versatility about him. Making Reynolds captain may even increase his profile and commercial value. So, should there be a change of captain or should the establishment previal? Vote & discuss! SD PS Not having started a thread; never mind a poll, there is a chance that I have messed up the technology here. Apologies if so Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Craigan, always. His until he leaves or doesn't want it anymore. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gav212 Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Craigan, always. His until he leaves or doesn't want it anymore. Thought it was the case that he didn't like what he perceived to be added pressure of the captaincy? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hoof hearted Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 nae point giving it to reynolds hes off in january. am no sure who i'd have as captain when craigans captain hes pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gav212 Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 I think Giles Coke would be a good captain, only things against him are his short contract and short length of time which hes been at the club for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxi Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 A new signing who actually has leadership qualities Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shallow Dave Posted December 29, 2009 Author Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Maxi, I can't argue with that! Though, would we really appoint a newcomer and immediately appoint him captain? I think not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxi Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 I just look at the squad there is no real leader thier, well Craigan but hes bad enough trying to marshall a defence. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sinky Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Tam Hateley or Giles Coke Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
macdmfc Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 I like Reynolds But Always been a Craigan Fan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kim Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Craigan. He's been a great servant to motherwell on and off the pitch for many years. I wouldn't give it to Reynolds because I reckon we'll cash in on him in January... but Las is a good shout. Plus, it'd be harsh to take it off Craigan in his testimonal year. Just MHO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Craigan, always. His until he leaves or doesn't want it anymore. Spot on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the fox Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Voted for Craigan Las is not fit for long enough and Reynolds too young what happened when Chelsea went down in 78/79 with Wilkins captain proves what happened with young capteins. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Was Jennings not touted as captain material by the tranmere fans? Don't think it matters too much anyway Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
niall Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Voted for Craigan Las is not fit for long enough and Reynolds too young what happened when Chelsea went down in 78/79 with Wilkins captain proves what happened with young capteins. that's a bit selective. Wilkins got the captaincy in 75/76 and they won promotion in 76/77, they only got relegated after the manager resigned. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 I would have went for Reynolds but like some have said he might be away soon, Craigan and Lasley have had there best years and shouldn't even be in the frame, so its someone else for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faddythedaddy Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 Dont think theres any maybe about it, stories been doing the rounds for a wee bit now that Reynolds will be off to a Championship club in January. The 2 sources couldnt really be any stronger to be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 How much $$$? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted December 29, 2009 Report Share Posted December 29, 2009 How much $$$? Therein lies the question. Enough to buy a goalkeeper (Ruddy or otherwise)? Possibly also strengthen elsewhere...? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted December 30, 2009 Report Share Posted December 30, 2009 Would still give it to Reynolds for the remaining games, Best player we have and the most leaderlike. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 30, 2009 Report Share Posted December 30, 2009 If Reynolds is leaving, and that allows us to keep Ruddy, not only is it a tremendous bit of business, but could also provide us with our new, long-term captain. If big Ruud told me to do something, I'd fucking do it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted December 30, 2009 Report Share Posted December 30, 2009 If Reynolds is leaving, and that allows us to keep Ruddy, not only is it a tremendous bit of business, but could also provide us with our new, long-term captain. If big Ruud told me to do something, I'd fucking do it! In recent weeks that would most likely be "Can you fetch that ball out the net for me mate" I'd go for Jenno or Coke if either of them are keen on staying. I believe Reynolds will be away (otherwise it would be him I'd plump for) For all that it appears Gannon hasn't helped his own situation - like I mentioned elsewhere no one is squeeky clean in this whole thing and Craigan for me appears a wee bit Barry Ferguson to Gannon's Paul le Guen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faddythedaddy Posted December 30, 2009 Report Share Posted December 30, 2009 How much $$? No idea, although I would hope it would be at least half a million. Not holding my breath though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted December 30, 2009 Report Share Posted December 30, 2009 It's Craigan for me. Being a captain requires more than just what you do on the pitch. You need to be able to represent and be the voice of the players off the pitch, and Craigan appears to have those qualities. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moorey Posted December 30, 2009 Report Share Posted December 30, 2009 It's Craigan for me. Being a captain requires more than just what you do on the pitch. You need to be able to represent and be the voice of the players off the pitch, and Craigan appears to have those qualities. Agree with this totally, couldn't have said it better myself....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...