TvTotherwell Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Was walking by firpark this morning and noticed an enormous bubble sticking above the roof of the east stand after having a wee nosey at it, it appears its a big bloon covering the whole park. started to wonder if this was due to the undersoil heating still not working ? it was doing a fair bit of moving about, not sure if there were mibby heaters blowing warm air around or jst the wind ? at least the jambos game will probably go ahead fingers crossed! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 They allegedly have both undersoil and a cover system. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TAM Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Saw this being put in place last week while at FP with the wee man. Looks like quite a bit of kit hope it does the job. Should be given it's been on since 31st Dec - Must be costly though. Should we pray for a mild snap so that we can afford maybe a loan signing!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 They allegedly have both undersoil and a cover system. The ironic thing is only a working undersoil type is required to comply with SPL rules. I reckon we bought the cover system as a 'cover' for the first system being fucked. Unfortunately our cover was blown when the recent home game was called off. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brazilmfc Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 It's fuckin baltic today, if this continues we'll need both to be in supreme working order for wednesday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 The ironic thing is only a working undersoil type is required to comply with SPL rules. I reckon we bought the cover system as a 'cover' for the first system being fucked. Unfortunately our cover was blown when the recent home game was called off. You reckon wrong... Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 it doesn't actually have to work does it? it just has to be there? Or you only have to have it working as entry criteria for the SPL... once you're in, who cares? Is that it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest JohnnyDefault Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Was walking by firpark this morning and noticed an enormous bubble (Is it Bob Malcolm's Heid???? )sticking above the roof of the east stand after having a wee nosey at it, it appears its a big bloon (Aye, It's Bob Malcolm???? )covering the whole park (Probably No' Bob Malcolm then? ). started to wonder if this was due to the undersoil heating still not working ?it was doing a fair bit of moving about (Definitely No Bob malcolm then? ), not sure if there were mibby heaters blowing warm air (Aah! Mibbez John Boyle? )around or jst the wind ?(deffo John Boyle!!! ) at least the jambos game will probably go ahead fingers crossed! Couldny Resist Sorry! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 You reckon wrong... Frazzle And reckoning right would be.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cambo97 Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 And reckoning right would be.... Rule H6.6 requires each Club in membership of the League to ensure that there is an efficient and effective system of winter pitch protection at its Registered Ground and that the system is efficiently and effectively operated. All such systems must be under pitch or underground heated types. Clubs are required to fully utilise those systems where there is a reasonable possibility of a pitch otherwise being frozen or covered in snow or ice such that a match may be compromised. So his reckoning is wrong Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scott_mfc Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 we have had that big bubble for years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Rule H6.6 requires each Club in membership of the League to ensure that there is an efficient and effective system of winter pitch protection at its Registered Ground and that the system is efficiently and effectively operated. All such systems must be under pitch or underground heated types. Clubs are required to fully utilise those systems where there is a reasonable possibility of a pitch otherwise being frozen or covered in snow or ice such that a match may be compromised. So his reckoning is wrong Nope, its right. That basically means undersoil heating. It has to be underground and in working order so if we have USH and it isnt working, the bubble isnt deemed suitable by the SPL. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 Nope, its right. That basically means undersoil heating. It has to be underground and in working order so if we have USH and it isnt working, the bubble isnt deemed suitable by the SPL. We've had that balloon for years, i reckon they are doing a belt and braces job and making sure Wednesday's match is on. The good thing about the balloon was the players could train on the pitch while it was up apparently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 We sold that balloon when we installed USH and bought it back (at a huge loss) last year. Allegedly!!!!!! (or maybe it was the covers we brought in for the rainy days, getting hard to remember all the twists n turns) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 You reckon wrong... Frazzle Eh!!! I reckon right according to your quote from the rule H6.6. "All such systems must be under pitch or underground heated types" No mention of 'Above Soil Heating systems'. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted January 5, 2009 Report Share Posted January 5, 2009 2 things 1) Who gives a rats ass whether its undersoil or a big baloon as long as the pitch is playable officialdom wont concern themselves. 2) We can always move the lines a la accies (how long before they get to move the goalposts too) 3) or III or iii or C Forecast is improving every day perfect weather to hump the jambos Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted January 6, 2009 Author Report Share Posted January 6, 2009 Couldny Resist Sorry! Am gona pee maslef laughin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...