ixi the patriot Posted February 5, 2011 Report Share Posted February 5, 2011 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted February 6, 2011 Report Share Posted February 6, 2011 Guys I'm pretty sure we were requested not to use the Club crest or sponsors logos on reproduced/fantasy kits ............ copyright and all that my bad, didnt know Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted February 6, 2011 Report Share Posted February 6, 2011 We have a winner! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 6, 2011 Report Share Posted February 6, 2011 We have a winner! +1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted February 6, 2011 Report Share Posted February 6, 2011 I think it's honking. Still not a fan of this blue shirt idea. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 I think it's honking. Still not a fan of this blue shirt idea. Me neither. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Not that Blue anyway ...... if it was petrol blue then fair enough, there's a connection, with some claret and amber trimming. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Not that Blue anyway ...... if it was petrol blue then fair enough, there's a connection, with some claret and amber trimming. petrol blue 1.(UK) a greyish blue colour, tinted with green. There's a lot of merit in doffing the cap to the men and women who set our club on it's way back in 1886. We should be able to unashamedly use a petrol blue shirt for some of our 125th season if that's what comes to pass. I'm all for it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 petrol blue1.(UK) a greyish blue colour, tinted with green. There's a lot of merit in doffing the cap to the men and women who set our club on it's way back in 1886. We should be able to unashamedly use a petrol blue shirt for some of our 125th season if that's what comes to pass. I'm all for it. Agreed .................. I think the Club's 125th anniversary is the ideal opportunity to honour the Club's origins. Wonder what the fans thought of the change of colours to claret and amber ? Can just imagine the outcry now if that move was reversed Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 I think if we got the colour absolutely spot on the reaction would be hilarious. R*****s Fans "Showin yer true colour noo wi a green shirt" C****c Fans "Showin yer true colour noo wi a blue shirt" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Agreed .................. I think the Club's 125th anniversary is the ideal opportunity to honour the Club's origins. Wonder what the fans thought of the change of colours to claret and amber ? Can just imagine the outcry now if that move was reversed got to say i dont think that many would be bothered. i have lost count the amount of people that have said they dont like the C&A colours. would be a refreshing change i think, and if we went back to petrol blue then we wouldnt realy be changing the club, we would be changing it back. i think the perfect time for it would be if we built a new stadium, fresh start and all that, but thats just me....... and apart from that i just realy like the petrol blue Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 I'm all for anything that makes us look more like Sampdoria. Cracking kit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augh! Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Agreed .................. I think the Club's 125th anniversary is the ideal opportunity to honour the Club's origins. Wonder what the fans thought of the change of colours to claret and amber ? Can just imagine the outcry now if that move was reversed I think it'd be fine to have a blue kit during the 125th anniversary season...as an away kit. Its fine to have a nod to the past and to the original Motherwell colours, but in living memory of just about every Motherwell fan we've worn claret and amber and they're our colours. I know we knicked the idea off Bradford but its unique in Scottish football and we changed our colours specifically because of the number of clashes with so many other teams wearing blue. It wouldn't seem right to change what makes us stand out and has done for the vast majority of years of our club's history in order to celebrate the club's history. Blue might have been Motherwell's original colours but claret and amber were our best Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Hi-Viz Yella was the best! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Hi-Viz Yella was the best! Aye that bliddy ADIDAS strip Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 I think it'd be fine to have a blue kit during the 125th anniversary season...as an away kit. ................... That's what I meant, (the petrol one anyway), so should have put it that way .... sorry. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Petrol blue away kit for next season. Only one year.........I'm 100% behind it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmo Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 I take it I am wrong in thinking that when MFC first formed in 1886, they played in blue and white stripes? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pettywulliegrew-2 Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 I take it I am wrong in thinking that when MFC first formed in 1886, they played in blue and white stripes? Correct ! From Historical Football Kits 1885-1888 1890-1891 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pettywulliegrew-2 Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 MFC blue kits 1894-1913 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martin Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Also think we should have the wee MFC monogram on the commemorative kit instead o the crest. Looks quite cool methinks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 does anyone know who designed the current crest and when? i know roughly when it apeared on the shirt but was it around before that? and have we ever had any other crest? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted February 7, 2011 Author Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Also think we should have the wee MFC monogram on the commemorative kit instead o the crest. Looks quite cool methinks. Depends on which monogram you mean. The script font used on some recent kits and training gear is in my opinion a poor substitute for the much classier original MFC script. The large M used on our 70’s Admiral kits also looks a little on the clumsy side. So yes use a monogram as long as it’s the original and superior late 60’s, 70’s verison. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martin Posted February 7, 2011 Report Share Posted February 7, 2011 Depends on which monogram you mean. The script font used on some recent kits and training gear is in my opinion a poor substitute for the much classier original MFC script. The large M used on our 70’s Admiral kits also looks a little on the clumsy side. So yes use a monogram as long as it’s the original and superior late 60’s, 70’s verison. Agreed mate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pettywulliegrew-2 Posted February 8, 2011 Report Share Posted February 8, 2011 I like the modern version......imho Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...