el-pidge Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Ive picked a full squad... Ide actually like to get this bunch together just to see what happens! ST - Gerry Britton, ST - Steven Craig, CB Andy Dow, ST - Calum Elliot, ST - Roy Essandoh, MC - Shaun Fagan, CB - Eddie Forrest, GK - Michael Fraser, ST - John Hendry, GK - Mikko Kaven, ST - Paul Keegan, ST - David Kelly, ST/MC - Brian McClair (II), MC/CB - Eddie May, MC - Simon Mensing, CB - Alex McLeish, CB - Danny Murphy, CB - Ange Ouefio, CB - Karl Ready, MC - Andy Roddie, ST - Abel Thermeus, MC - Derek Townsley, ST - Stephen Halliday, ST Joni Lehtonen, ST -Jason Dair, MC - Greg Denham. My team sheet wuld be: GK - Mikko Kaven LB - Ange Ouefio CB - Eddie Forest CB - Karl Ready RB - Alex McLeish LM - Shaun Fagan MC - Simon Mensing MC - Greg Denham RM - Andy Roddie ST - Brian McClair ST - Gerry Britton Subs - Fraser, Lehtonen, Essandoh, Murphy, Townsley Manager - Maurice Malpas Assistant Manager - Harri Kampman Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Bit harsh on the Flask! Did he no only play 2 games?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonesy Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 I'd say its a bit harsh having Fraser in there as well. I'm not much of a fan of his either but Colin Meldrum or Stevie Woods should be well ahead of him in any of these teams. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Melly can avoid it for his 50 minutes against United on the last day of the season a few years ago. Fucking amazing so he was. Stevie Woods was minging, consistently for years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonesy Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Melly can avoid it for his 50 minutes against United on the last day of the season a few years ago. Fucking amazing so he was. Can I drop him back in it for his performance against St. Mirren in the last home game of the season, when we were 2 up and lost 3-2 with Meldrum flapping 2 of them in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Stevie Woods was minging, consistently for years.Still no as bad as Gardiner. At least Woods had some saves in him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Can I drop him back in it for his performance against St. Mirren in the last home game of the season, when we were 2 up and lost 3-2 with Meldrum flapping 2 of them in. Not entirely sure anyone from that day is exempt then. Frankly, we'll just never mention it again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ernie Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Ive picked a full squad... Ide actually like to get this bunch together just to see what happens! ST - Gerry Britton, ST - Steven Craig, CB Andy Dow, ST - Calum Elliot, ST - Roy Essandoh, MC - Shaun Fagan, CB - Eddie Forrest, GK - Michael Fraser, ST - John Hendry, GK - Mikko Kaven, ST - Paul Keegan, ST - David Kelly, ST/MC - Brian McClair (II), MC/CB - Eddie May, MC - Simon Mensing, CB - Alex McLeish, CB - Danny Murphy, CB - Ange Ouefio, CB - Karl Ready, MC - Andy Roddie, ST - Abel Thermeus, MC - Derek Townsley, ST - Stephen Halliday, ST Joni Lehtonen, ST -Jason Dair, MC - Greg Denham. My team sheet wuld be: GK - Mikko Kaven LB - Ange Ouefio CB - Eddie Forest CB - Karl Ready RB - Alex McLeish LM - Shaun Fagan MC - Simon Mensing MC - Greg Denham RM - Andy Roddie ST - Brian McClair ST - Gerry Britton Subs - Fraser, Lehtonen, Essandoh, Murphy, Townsley Manager - Maurice Malpas Assistant Manager - Harri Kampman Did the Ginger Whinger ever play for the first team? I think putting the most capped Scottish Centre Half at Right Back is a bit rough too. No matter what people think of him as a manager of our club he would he was a good player in his time. There have been a lot worse than McLair played up fron as well although I do agree that he shouldn't have been back for a second term with us Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Did the Ginger Whinger ever play for the first team? Yes. Once, maybe twice, during an injury crisis. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ped_MFC Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Remember him playing, sure it was at Rugby Park. We had so many injuries that he played a young reserve forward called Paul Ferguson at right-back and then spent the first 45 minutes screaming abuse at the boy, blaming him for his own mistakes, before subbing him at half-time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretbandonambershirt Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Shuggie Shuggie swing on the bar Nae way he's worthy of mention in here, and anyway which jersey wid that be? The blue yin he wore agin ra Shellic or the green yin he wore against the Vile h*n? Yep, he sure was a legend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddiesteelman Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Done a "Scream Team" to accompany a "Dream Team" I did for GLF a few years back, and the line up I came up with was, 1. Stevie Woods, 2. Peter Carr, 3. Billy Dickson, 4. Allan Mackin, 5. Karl Ready, 6. John Capaldi, 7. Mike Cormack, 8. John Reilly, 9. Jim Gillespie, 10. Davie Shanks, 11. Gordon Mair. Enjoy the memories !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Done a "Scream Team" to accompany a "Dream Team" I did for GLF a few years back, and the line up I came up with was, 1. Stevie Woods, 2. Peter Carr, 3. Billy Dickson, 4. Allan Mackin, 5. Karl Ready, 6. John Capaldi, 7. Mike Cormack, 8. John Reilly, 9. Jim Gillespie, 10. Davie Shanks, 11. Gordon Mair. Enjoy the memories !! My eyes, my eyes............... What a a heap of crap would replace Woods with Kaven though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
likely_lad Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Sean fagan, Kevin mcbride, Richard offiong and Tony Vaughan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdt Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Very very harsh on McBride. He was some player before getting injured. Tony Vaughan is spot on though. Only ever seen him play once where he scored against Dundee United but even that wasn't enough to save him from abuse. Absolutely terrible player Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Mac Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Yes. Once, maybe twice, during an injury crisis Remember him playing at least once at FP (possibly against Falkirk?). He did come as a player-manager, remember. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 The worst I've seen by a country mile is John Hendry and McLeish should be horse whipped everytime he comes near Fir Park just for that signing alone. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Did the Ginger Whinger ever play for the first team? I think putting the most capped Scottish Centre Half at Right Back is a bit rough too. No matter what people think of him as a manager of our club he would he was a good player in his time. There have been a lot worse than McLair played up fron as well although I do agree that he shouldn't have been back for a second term with us I dont remember McClair ever scoring a goal for us, I dont doubt there have been worse strikers.. but McClair was given a fair run of games (something like 20) and never scored. McLeish i stuck in to be contoversial, I remember seeing him play a couple games, i didnt like him playing, his job was in the dugout. he is a RB just to highlight the monumental gash pairing of Ready and Forrest. Someone else said it was harsh on Fraser too... Ive always had a lot of faith in most of the goalkeepers we have had since I have been a fan while Sieb was No1. But basically it was a toss up between Woods and Fraser for the bench. Woods divides the fans while Fraser let in a goal against Llanelli looking like a 6ft penis... so he got the nod. The team as a whole is from my own hazey memory... i didnt spend hours studying video footage or corelating comparative statistics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 I dont remember McClair ever scoring a goal for us, I dont doubt there have been worse strikers.. but McClair was given a fair run of games (something like 20) and never scored.First time around he played more of a midfield role and banged in 15 goals in 40 games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 First time around he played more of a midfield role and banged in 15 goals in 40 games. Happy for him but he's in my diddy team for his second stint at the club not his first. I put him in the team sheet as Brian McClair (II). He did play for Man U before he came to us, I'm a harsh critic but my standards arent quite that high. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 callum elliot most useless striker i have ever seen in a claret and amber strip Worst striker ever in claret and amber was John Hendry - Klinsmans prodigy !! Its hard to find worse than either, but I reckon Ally Graham might just have been the worst Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Did the Ginger Whinger ever play for the first team? I think putting the most capped Scottish Centre Half at Right Back is a bit rough too. No matter what people think of him as a manager of our club he would he was a good player in his time. There have been a lot worse than McLair played up fron as well although I do agree that he shouldn't have been back for a second term with us Certain I saw his last ever match. For the Well in a 1-1 draw with Killie at Rugby Park? Anyone confirm this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brainier Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Certain I saw his last ever match. For the Well in a 1-1 draw with Killie at Rugby Park? Anyone confirm this? Confirmed. he also played four games the previous season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted February 3, 2010 Report Share Posted February 3, 2010 Certain I saw his last ever match. For the Well in a 1-1 draw with Killie at Rugby Park? Anyone confirm this? I remember him playing at Rugby Park. Frankly it was embarassing to watch him try and play when way past his best, although to be fair he probably had no other option due to injuries. Certainly don't remember him giving it another go! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 4, 2010 Report Share Posted February 4, 2010 Stevie Woods was minging, consistently for years. If he was that minging he wouldn't have been here for as long, simple as. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...