TAM Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Granted we may have little money available - or even none if we do get fined for the Hearts game being off!! But who do you think we should try and make a move for? Who could be a realistic target? For me - I'd like to see us try and get Black from ICT either in Jan or on a pre-contract for te summer. What about a possible loan move for Pearo?? I know this may not be totally popular but I think his box to box play could be an asset to us at the moment. I think we need a right back, but none come to mind at the moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Saw something on BBC the other day I think it was, McGhee has put together a list of 50 possible loan/pre-contract/free signings. Fifty! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser30 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Saw something on BBC the other day I think it was, McGhee has put together a list of 50 possible loan/pre-contract/free signings. Fifty! As long as it's not 50 Jim O'Brians I'll be happy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iain7_mfc Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Wouldn't have bawbag Pearson near the club again. I like the idea of Ian Black as he's the player that would have that dig in the midfield. He's a bit of a dirty player aswell and ain't afraid to put in a challenge. Also trying to find a Porter replacement in January won't be such a bad idea either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellArmy_88 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Surely the defence has to be Mcghees priority in january! The defending has been shambolic this season leading from errors from the senior pro's. Surely a commanding centre half and right back have to be bought. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser30 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Is there a chance we might be going back in for that boy that plays right back for Livingston, Mackay is it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcmainstand Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 on p&b that mackay has signed pre contract with coventry Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dmsd Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 he cant sign one untill the 1st jan Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelmen Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Is it 50 defenders we are signing? mind you we could play them all at once and still conceed from corners.... Lee Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TvTotherwell Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 i might be being a bit mental here but. . . . i jst read that arsenal are going to be sending out alot of youngsters from the carling cup team on loan. Why not try snapp u a few of them, i would love to see the like of Merida and Simpson at fir park. They don't have many defenders that would help us out, but certinaly these boys would shine in the premier league! Any thoughts ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 id take ian black he seems to be caley thistles best player maybe don cowie from them to.lappin again would be good but his wages would probably be a problem for us.i hope we can get maybe two or three in permanantly rather than loan players that are just here to make up the numbers and no get a game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the fox Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 I think getting a game on at Fir Park should be the first target. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dosser30 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 on p&b that mackay has signed pre contract with coventry That was the other boy from Livi James McPake surely? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 That was the other boy from Livi James McPake surely? aye that was mcpake that signed with coventry.he wouldve been a good signing for us but dave mckay would be nothing more than a squad player Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TAM Posted December 9, 2008 Author Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 aye that was mcpake that signed with coventry.he wouldve been a good signing for us but dave mckay would be nothing more than a squad player Given the recent form of Quinn I'm tempted to think that a squad player would be an improvement. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DC'd Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 i might be being a bit mental here but. . . . i jst read that arsenal are going to be sending out alot of youngsters from the carling cup team on loan. Why not try snapp u a few of them, i would love to see the like of Merida and Simpson at fir park. Fran Merida was at Real Sociedad last season, and fully expect him (if sent back out on loan) to return to La Liga/Segunda Division. To a team in the mold of Osasuna or Recreativo. Well outwith our reach and far too good for most teams in the SPL. Jay Simpson, not a bad shout, but was at Millwall previously and I think Arsenal would be looking for him to step up another level to perhaps Championship level to get some experience and someone like Watford, Southampton, Doncaster, Forest perhaps I'd be surprised if they weren't having a look in. Others like Vela, Wilshere, Randall, Ramsey etc are well without our reach. Basically it will be loan signings from Championship Clubs, e.g Grabban, Daniels, Lappin in previous years. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
'WellMagic! Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Ian Black & Don Cowie would decent acquisitions I think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 i might be being a bit mental here but. . . . i jst read that arsenal are going to be sending out alot of youngsters from the carling cup team on loan. Why not try snapp u a few of them, i would love to see the like of Merida and Simpson at fir park. They don't have many defenders that would help us out, but certinaly these boys would shine in the premier league! Any thoughts ? Not such a daft idea in principle. Look at how well the lad Falkirk had did up here. Stokes wasn't it? If they had some decent young players looking for experience it could definitely be a good shout, although not at the expense of our own youngsters, they get priority in my book. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gav212 Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Dougie Imrie from Inverness has been playing really well iv been informed. Hes from Lanark as well so would maybe welcome a move back here. Don Cowie and Iain Black from Caley are also good players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Wonder if guys like Robbie Winters and Mo Ross would do a turn? They have been playing in Scandinavia and would be available now. In midfield both Lappin and Mark Fotheringham aren't getting a game at Norwich, and for me both would be great additions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Wonder if guys like Robbie Winters and Mo Ross would do a turn? They have been playing in Scandinavia and would be available now. In midfield both Lappin and Mark Fotheringham aren't getting a game at Norwich, and for me both would be great additions. i was thinking about fotheringham when i was watchin the norwich game the other day.i agree he would be a really good signing for us and would slot perfectly into our midfield Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well-Made Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Killie and Hamilton are reported to be interested in Winters according to the Express today. It reports that Winters is on trial with accies this week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scarecrow Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Rumour has it we are trailing a working USH, but scouts report that it blows hot and cold Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Given the recent form of Quinn I'm tempted to think that a squad player would be an improvement. I heard a whisper that Coach might be heading off to England. Not claiming a "reliable source" but just a wee something I heard. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
happyslappy Posted December 9, 2008 Report Share Posted December 9, 2008 Surely we need a few players for the defence. Can't see him keeping on Kimpl as he hasn't had a chance to impress due to his injury. If we were to look at Fotheringham then we would be top heavy with midfielders surely and could see us loosing someone as they won't get to play in the first team. Question then is, is fotheringham better than what we have? The 50 player List seems to be all loan signs and if we are hit with any fine over the USH then surely that will limit who we can approach. Is lappin getting a game? what happened to Mamman (yeah i know another midfielder)? I never saw him what was he like? Time for MM to show his german conections me thinks to get in the new and improved Kaiser! Get the youngsters in By all acounts they are doing good in the reserves and youth leagues. Smith and Murphy are surely adequate cover for up front. Midfield is fine unless Hughes or lasley go. So that just leaves the defence.. . . . . . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...