Guest 'Flow Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 Dunno if thas been mentioned elsewhere but.... 8 clean sheets from 9 league games is just about our best clean sheet / defensive run in our entire history! Closest I can find - after some very brief research - is 6 from 7 league games in 1931/32 and 7 from 8 in 1968/69 (although, that was seven consecutive clean sheets which is our best on the bounce). All hail Broon! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 It's a phenomenal run we're on. All hail Broon, Knox and indeed the players. Good times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
andybug Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 John Ruddy player of the year! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 John Ruddy player of the year! Not all down to Ruddy by any stretch. He's a fine goalie, but in some of those games our defence has given him very little to do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 I think Jenno & Las have more to do with it than Ruddy, not saying John isn't playing an important role but those 2 have been immense since January. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 John Ruddy player of the year! easily Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 following up on the new record have Jack and Victor had then best start to managing Motherwell? I can't recall what his record was but I'm sure McLeish had a good run when started but I sure it wasn't as good as J+V. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Mac Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 Didn't Scott Howie keep seven straight clean sheets? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 CB+AK is an anagram of BACK and thats where we're solid. Makes sense. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Trac Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 CB+AK is an anagram of BACK and thats where we're solid. Makes sense. Craig Brown and Archie Knox is also an anagram of I CAN GROW OX RICH BANKER, which makes as much sense. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 John Ruddy player of the year! Uft. No. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 Dunno if thas been mentioned elsewhere but.... 8 clean sheets from 9 league games is just about our best clean sheet / defensive run in our entire history! Closest I can find - after some very brief research - is 6 from 7 league games in 1931/32 and 7 from 8 in 1968/69 (although, that was seven consecutive clean sheets which is our best on the bounce). All hail Broon! Not a record - yet! We kept 9 clean sheets in 10 matches in season 1995/96, including 7 clean sheets in a row. The only team to breach the defence during this period was - some things never change - Rangers, who beat us 3-2 at Ibrox. The back five that played virtually every game was: - Howie, May, Martin, McCart, van der Gaag and McKinnon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 Not a record - yet! We kept 9 clean sheets in 10 matches in season 1995/96, including 7 clean sheets in a row. The only team to breach the defence during this period was - some things never change - Rangers, won beat us 3-2 at Ibrox. The back five that played virtually every game was: - Howie, May, Martin, McCart, van der Gaag and McKinnon. That not a back six? Brian Martin scored a real cracker a Ibrox that day IIRC. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted March 1, 2010 Report Share Posted March 1, 2010 Brian Martin scored a real cracker a Ibrox that day IIRC. Think it was a bit of a daisy cutter, aye? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 [quote name='Bill Bones' date='Mar 2 2010, 05:24 AM Brian Martin scored a real cracker a Ibrox that day IIRC. Aye i remember the Screamin Skull scoring that beaut of a goal & i also seem to recall that The Big Shagger van der Gaag went his whole Motherwell career without scoring then scored the winner with a scorching free kick in his last game for us. Could be wrong about that but would happy to be reminded of any other goals he scored. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 According to soccerbase he scored 7 league goals for Motherwell, pretty sure he had a wee spell of being the only player scoring for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 Could be wrong about that but would happy to be reminded of any other goals he scored. Clearly remember him scoring against Raith Rovers, with the 'Well fans sitting in the L shaped stand at Starks Park. Dougie scored that day as well. I liked going to Kirkcaldy we'd usually run up a score, except the one time it really mattered of course! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brainier Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 Not a record - yet! We kept 9 clean sheets in 10 matches in season 1995/96, including 7 clean sheets in a row. The only team to breach the defence during this period was - some things never change - Rangers, who beat us 3-2 at Ibrox. I make that run as eight league clean sheets out of nine. Two before a Cup loss to Aberdeen and the Ibrox game before six more clean sheets. The run started with a 0-0 against Hibs that was the eighth game in a row where we failed to score a goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brainier Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 And as for big Mitch... 95/96 at Thistle 96/97 at Dundee Utd two at Raith at Dunfermline at Raith at Dundee Utd in the Cup then his only one at Fir Park, 'that' goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 The first game I ever left early was at Tannadice in the cup, 4-0 down and I missed Van Der Gaag scoring a header (I think into big Seib, but that could be the memory playing tricks on me). Our bus then broke down on the way back. Great day. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 I make that run as eight league clean sheets out of nine. Two before a Cup loss to Aberdeen and the Ibrox game before six more clean sheets. The run started with a 0-0 against Hibs that was the eighth game in a row where we failed to score a goal. True, I didn't think to look at the cup matches still if you go by league runs then I still make it 9 out of 10. Jan 20 Hibs 0-0 Jan 23 Falkirk 1-0 [SC Jan 27 Aberdeen 0-2] Feb 10 Rangers 2-3 Feb 13 Aberdeen 1-0 Feb 24 Raith 1-0 Mar 02 Falkirk 1-0 Mar 16 Kilmarnock 1-0 Mar 23 Celtic 0-0 Mar 30 Partick 2-0 Apr 06 Hibs 3-0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 What about Drogheda United (away) 0-0..........? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brainier Posted March 2, 2010 Report Share Posted March 2, 2010 True, I didn't think to look at the cup matches still if you go by league runs then I still make it 9 out of 10. Jan 20 Hibs 0-0 Jan 23 Falkirk 1-0 [SC Jan 27 Aberdeen 0-2] Feb 10 Rangers 2-3 Feb 13 Aberdeen 1-0 Feb 24 Raith 1-0 Mar 02 Falkirk 1-0 Mar 16 Kilmarnock 1-0 Mar 23 Celtic 0-0 Mar 30 Partick 2-0 Apr 06 Hibs 3-0 Ah yes, I'd missed a Falkirk game trying to read Well Again without my glasses! Why don't they just list games in the order they were played in Well Again! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocy_Button Posted March 4, 2010 Report Share Posted March 4, 2010 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...