Psycho1991 Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Wullie McLean was in the paper the other day talking about Craig Brown. He was manager before my time. I asked my uncle about him and his memory had a few swear words in it. He told me he was talking to a former player (can't remember his name) and he told him that McLean used to say to him "Break his legs and if you cannae do it al bring sumbdy on who can" Does this sound right ? Any good memories. If I can find the article I will post it up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Willie MacLean was the manager when we had the team thet got us to 2 consecutive cup semi finals and we were cheated out of both!!!! (sounds like a paranoid smeltic fan). Great team. this was when I started going to games the players I remember were: Stuart Rennie, Willie Watson, the great Joe Wark, Bobby Watson, Willie McVie, Gregor Stevens, Peter Millar, Stewart MacLaren, Vic Davidson, Peter Marinello, Bobby Graham and the brilliant Willie Pettigrew. I might have missed one or two but this was the nucleus of the team that I remember. Centre halves and Midfield were hard as f*ck, nobody messed with them. Davidson and Marinello were silky, Bobby Graham played the ball to Willie Pettigrew....Goal, simple. I loved that team!!!!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Psycho1991 Posted March 6, 2010 Author Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Peter Millar was the man I was thinking about . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellworn Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Peter Millar was the man I was thinking about . Aye but he didne need telling to go in hard as he was as hard as feck. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Good times to follow the 'Well. Doubt there was a manager worth his salt at the time who did not motivate his players in such a way as described above. Some very good players mentioned above, probably the best team not to win anything IMHO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 What happened between him and Owen Coyle? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 What happened between him and Owen Coyle? Can't say, for legal reasons, but remember who did all the talking to the media afterwards ? Lotta ##### Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Can't say, for legal reasons, but remember who did all the talking to the media afterwards ? Lotta ##### PM big fella PM Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Or just tell us what was allegedly said. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted March 6, 2010 Report Share Posted March 6, 2010 Can only echo what was said above. The best Motherwell team I have ever seen. How much of that was down to Wullie McLean, i don't know, but the signing of guys like Vic davidson (struggled to make an impact at Celtic) were inspired. Vic D waltzed round people like they werent there. Bobby Graham/Willie P....what a strikeforce. McVie & Stevens ? Don't mess with them. Joe Wark.....real legend. On the subject of Peter Miller.......I was only a wean and we got gubbed 4-0 by Killie in an Anglo Scottish Cup tie. I was in the enclosure mith my da' and some big killie thug halfed Vic Davidson in two with a tackle. Peter Miller was on the bench and had to be held down by the entire dugout. He was screaming...'you're fuckin dead ya c**t', 'ahm gonnie fucking kill you'. My old man was covering my ears and Wullie Mclean had to try and calm him down. Needless to say, he never got on that night. :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...