trafficlight Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 I haven't seen a thread which is used to just in throw in any questions folk might have. If there is one, dump this in there, admins. Anyway, the question that inspired this : The current 12 match unbeaten league run. Is this a club record, and if not, what is? Auld yins will know this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 Season 1981-82 was a good one for us, albeit outwith the top flight. According to 'Well Again we went 22 league games unbeaten.... 5th Sep to 6th Feb. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted March 14, 2010 Author Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 22 games unbeaten is very good. What about in the top division? Another question but of a different kind. Will there be a new home strip next season? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 22 games unbeaten is very good. What about in the top division? Another question but of a different kind. Will there be a new home strip next season? We went 15 games unbeaten in 1994-95. Lost to Rangers at Ibrox on the openingday and didn't lost a league game until December 10, when a struggling Aberdeen won at Fir Park. My old man already disliked McLeish, despite the great start and insisted he'd played for a draw to assist his old team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 ................... My old man already disliked McLeish, despite the great start and insisted he'd played for a draw to assist his old team. Never liked the Ginger Tosser either, took us from 2nd top to 2nd bottom and bought utter shyte .............. wish him failure where ever he goes, media darling wanker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 Anyway, the question that inspired this : The current 12 match unbeaten league run. Is this a club record, and if not, what is? Auld yins will know this. Dunno, but as I mentioned in the Hearts thread, it does equal the longest unbeaten run in the SPL outside the Old Firm. (Previously held by Hibs--earlier this season in fact--and Hearts). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 What was our record in our league winning season? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 What was our record in our league winning season? Unbeaten runs of 19 and 14. We lsot twice;1-0 at Rugby Park in August and 1-0 at Ibrox on Boxing Day. We managed a 22 match unbeaten in 1933-34 from the start of the season until mid-December. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted March 14, 2010 Report Share Posted March 14, 2010 has anyone got a list of the top 20 players with the most appearances? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 has anyone got a list of the top 20 players with the most appearances? I have a post-war list somewhere but I'll need to find it and it will be a little out of date. EDIT. OK, a little out of date but gives you a general idea. League appearances - it's not my list so I can't vouch for the veracity of it! I found it on the internet somewhere. Obviously Stevie Hammell would be much higher up the list and Craigan has 200+ appearances. I think I'm right in saying David Clarkson would also make the 200+ list. EDIT - Started updating it. Corrigan, Craigan, Hammell, Clarkson. Anyone else likely to have gone over the 200 league appearances mark? Joe Wark - 469 Willie Kilmarnock - 452 John Johnston - 323 Charlie Aitken - 313 Archie Shaw - 313 John Philliben - 302 Andy Paton - 301 Stevie Kirk - 301 John Martis - 297 (Stevie Hammell - 291) John Gahagan - 284 Willie McCallum - 277 Chris McCart - 260 Tom Boyd - 256 Dougie Arnott - 240 (I have Arnott on a final total of 253 league appearances) (Stephen Craigan - 251 by my count) Bert McCann - 246 Ian McLeod - 243 Martyn Corrigan - 208 (I have Corrigan on a final total of 242 league appearances) Brian Martin - 237 Willie Hunter - 229 Willie Redpath - 226 (David Clarkson - 220 by my count) Jim Forrest - 215 Andy Weir - 202 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 I have a post-war list somewhere but I'll need to find it and it will be a little out of date. EDIT. OK, a little out of date but gives you a general idea. Not sure if this is total appearances rather than just league appearances cos it's not my list so I can't vouch for the veracity of it! I found it on the internet somewhere. Obviously Stevie Hammell would be much higher up the list and Craigan has 200+ appearances. I think I'm right in saying David Clarkson would also make the 200+ list. Joe Wark - 469 Willie Kilmarnock - 452 John Johnston - 323 Charlie Aitken - 313 Archie Shaw - 313 John Philliben - 302 Andy Paton - 301 Stevie Kirk - 301 John Martis - 297 John Gahagan - 284 Willie McCallum - 277 Chris McCart - 260 Tom Boyd - 256 Bert McCann - 246 Ian McLeod - 243 Dougie Arnott - 240 Brian Martin - 237 Willie Hunter - 229 Willie Redpath - 226 Jim Forrest - 215 Martyn Corrigan - 208 Andy Weir - 202 Stevie Hammell - 200 Legends all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Legends all. Ach, pish! It is amazing to think that three of our current team are in the top 25 post-war for appearances, and that another eight are in the recent past (ie, my time) given that most people would tell you that the days of loyalty to a team and 'one club men' are over. I must admit to being surprised at that list. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cambo97 Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 I have a post-war list somewhere but I'll need to find it and it will be a little out of date. EDIT. OK, a little out of date but gives you a general idea. League appearances - it's not my list so I can't vouch for the veracity of it! I found it on the internet somewhere. Obviously Stevie Hammell would be much higher up the list and Craigan has 200+ appearances. I think I'm right in saying David Clarkson would also make the 200+ list. EDIT - Started updating it. Joe Wark - 469 Willie Kilmarnock - 452 John Johnston - 323 Charlie Aitken - 313 Archie Shaw - 313 John Philliben - 302 Andy Paton - 301 Stevie Kirk - 301 John Martis - 297 John Gahagan - 284 Willie McCallum - 277 (Stevie Hammell - 262 by my count) Chris McCart - 260 Tom Boyd - 256 (Stephen Craigan - 251 by my count) Bert McCann - 246 Ian McLeod - 243 Dougie Arnott - 240 (I have Arnott on 253 league appearances) Brian Martin - 237 Willie Hunter - 229 Willie Redpath - 226 (David Clarkson - 217 by my count) Jim Forrest - 215 Martyn Corrigan - 208 Andy Weir - 202 Going by the official site, Clarkson has 254, Lasley 219, Craigan 293 and Hammell 333 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Going by the official site, Clarkson has 254, Lasley 219, Craigan 293 and Hammell 333 Yeah those are total appearances not league appearances I think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cambo97 Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 You're right those are the total appearances, but only looking at Hammell they have him as 291 League appearances. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 You're right those are the total appearances, but only looking at Hammell they have him as 291 League appearances. I'm not sure where I got that previous figure. I actually have 292 but I think I've had that argument with people before! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Ach, pish! It is amazing to think that three of our current team are in the top 25 post-war for appearances, and that another eight are in the recent past (ie, my time) given that most people would tell you that the days of loyalty to a team and 'one club men' are over. I must admit to being surprised at that list. interesting list, dominated by guys from the ancell babes era and then equal reprsentation to tommy mclean's teams and more recently. The 70s seem undereprsented, maybe due to all the managerial changes? the service we've got from guys from our youth system over the past decade has been amazing. hammell, craigan, lasley, clarkson, reynolds and quinn add up to about 1300 appearances between them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 so if hammell plays every game till the end of the season he will be on 299.... can we not just add an extra game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 It is amazing to think that three of our current team are in the top 25 post-war for appearances, and that another eight are in the recent past (ie, my time) given that most people would tell you that the days of loyalty to a team and 'one club men' are over. I must admit to being surprised at that list. Yeah that's what immediately struck me too. I've not long since turned 36 and have seen a dozen of those listed in the flesh. I suppose if you are being picky you could say the more recent players had have the benefit of an increased number of subs avail to pick from - was something close to 100 of Johnny Gahagan's appearances not from the bench. And pickier still there are more games nowadays, with the likes of Kirkie and Softy, and the others who were around in 80's even having some 44 game league campaigns to add extra games to their tally. But I think the point still stands that even today with the opportunities available to players to move on, under the right circumstances some right impressive service can be built up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 good to see the marsh in there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Never liked the Ginger Tosser either, took us from 2nd top to 2nd bottom and bought utter shyte .............. wish him failure where ever he goes, media darling wanker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
East_Stand_Al Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Whats the criteria for a testimonial ? This being craggs testimonial year yet Hammy has played more games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Craigan has been at the club a season longer than Hammell, but Hammell has spent the vast majority of his time here as a certain starter. Craigan wasn't really that when he was first here a lot of the time, then that tit Gannon left him out for half a season aswell. Testimonials are purely based on length of service, nowr to do with games played. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 Joe Wark - 469Willie Kilmarnock - 452 John Johnston - 323 Charlie Aitken - 313 Archie Shaw - 313 John Philliben - 302 Andy Paton - 301 Stevie Kirk - 301 John Martis - 297 (Stevie Hammell - 291) John Gahagan - 284 Willie McCallum - 277 Chris McCart - 260 Tom Boyd - 256 Dougie Arnott - 240 (I have Arnott on a final total of 253 league appearances) (Stephen Craigan - 251 by my count) Bert McCann - 246 Ian McLeod - 243 Martyn Corrigan - 208 (I have Corrigan on a final total of 242 league appearances) Brian Martin - 237 Willie Hunter - 229 Willie Redpath - 226 (David Clarkson - 220 by my count) Jim Forrest - 215 Andy Weir - 202 Wait a minute - been reading these boards for a few years now and aren't all these guys pish/non-legendary? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted March 15, 2010 Report Share Posted March 15, 2010 I stand by my non-legendary assesment of Corrigan - certainly never said he was pish though! The five players from that list who played in the '52 Cup Final are legendary, as is Joe Wark, Stevie Kirk and a few more. Corrigan, Clarkson and even Tom Boyd (maybe) for me, just aren't. I really like Corrigan and Clarkson - two of my favourite Motherwell players of recent years, but they're just not legends. I feel like I am criticising them by saying that, but I'm not. As for Tom Boyd, being a Cup-winning captain probably gives you legendary status by default - I just don't like him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...