Steve Diggle Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 Days like yesterday happen. The proof of the pudding will be next week though - a big chance to make amends. Europe is still well do-able. Loads of twists and turns to come. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 Have to say i was shocked at how we capitulated yesterday and only O'Brian and Jennings getting pass marks from me. Hopefully we can take this on the chin and regroup for next week with fire in our bellies and a desire to make amends to the fans. A cracking travelling support was let down yesterday and to get gubbed by 10 men was painfull. Anyway lets draw a line under it and move on...On the plus side we found a good boozer in Dundee...Tickety Boos. Wish i'd stayed in it.... . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mon_da_well Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 We we're due a humping and I'm glad it was against a team like United and not Hamilton or Aberdeen. Pretty sure this is a one off and even if it's not, 6th is the worst we can do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellTiliDie Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 Gutted to have lost yesterday i thought it was game over when they got the red card. We created hardly anything going forward with the extra man with Murphy missing a sitter of the header the only chance i can think of. Having seeing our disallowed goal on Alba again it doesn't look offside to me but United thoroughly deserved to win. What was Ruddy playing at the second goal Hit it first time way your right peg simples. Was a great day out yesterday apart from the 70 minutes of the game that i sat through. Hopefully we'll get back on track next week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 Gutted to have lost yesterday i thought it was game over when they got the red card. Yeah for us........... Have you not been taking note of what has happened this season when opposing teams go down to 10 or even 9 men - we DO NOT win...... It would have been better 11 v 11. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gary_411 Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 We beat Hibs after they went down to ten men... the only time we've played 11v10 under Craig Brown Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WellTiliDie Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 Yeah for us........... Have you not been taking note of what has happened this season when opposing teams go down to 10 or even 9 men - we DO NOT win...... It would have been better 11 v 11. A lot has changed in the last 3 months. We'd conceded 3 goals in 12 matches and won 8 of them. So with United going down to 10 men, with 70 minutes to go, there was no reason to believe that we wouldn't win the match. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 A lot has changed in the last 3 months. We'd conceded 3 goals in 12 matches and won 8 of them. So with United going down to 10 men, with 70 minutes to go, there was no reason to believe that we wouldn't win the match. Fair point there. Listening on roadio, I expected 'Well to take the points when United went down to ten. Hey ho, it wasn't to be, but top six is a near certainty; a situation everyone would have taken last summer when the squad was down to the bare bones. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gary_411 Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 doesnae look offside to me Fair enough everything we produced after that was disallowed was pish, but regardless. That would've probably given us the confidence to go on and maybe see out the match. second time those jammy bastards have been saved by a dodgy linesman's call against us Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 really starting to wish there was some way of appealing these awful decisions on offside goals against us. Really dont think that one was offside. Completely changes the complexion of the game. I DEMAND A RE-MATCH! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 This decision and Murphy's miss meant so much in terms of how things played out. We never recovered and gave away 3 goals - just relived it on BBC Sport - not good viewing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolhandluc Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 What was Ruddy playing at the second goal Hit it first time way your right peg simples. Met the big man and Reynolds at the golf show today at SECC. He said it bobbled as he was about to hit it Anyhow, he's a far better goalie than a golfer going by his attempt at the pitching compy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted March 28, 2010 Report Share Posted March 28, 2010 First one was tight but looked onside to me, 2nd one was definately offside. That was a shocking challenge for the red card and oh my tragi-comedy stuff with the defending. Missed opportunity to really stake a claim for 3rd place, hopefully we'll brush it off and help condemn Falkirk to the drop on saturday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 Very disapointing to lose heavily playing against 10 men for 75 minutes and after Utd had had a tough game against Rangers the previous Wednesday. Didn't see that result coming at all! The red card was as shocking a tackle as you're likely to see. Hopefully it's just a blip, and we can bounce back next week with a good win against the team at the bottom of the league. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smeddum07 Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 Looked to me from replay that both were onside shocking goalkeeping for first two and should of been stopped on third but these things happen! Still think we will get europe this year! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 The red card was as shocking a tackle as you're likely to see. Was listening to the Beeb interview with Houston - who (at that time) thought Dixon was unfortunate and that O' Brien had gone over the ball and put his studs through the poor wee scone's sock. He might have reconsidered since then as overall he was quite complementary about us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 Bad result no doubt, but sounds like we just didn't get the breaks and with Dundee Utd having Webster and Kenneth at the back it was always going to be difficult to pull back a 2 goal deficit. Beat Falkirk on Saturday and we are right back in the hunt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 Maybe negative but both spot on. 3-0 isn't such a shitty prediction now is it? 1 right out of 13 and you're claiming it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 1 right out of 13 and you're claiming it? Even a blind squirrel sometimes finds a nut. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted March 29, 2010 Report Share Posted March 29, 2010 Met the big man and Reynolds at the golf show today at SECC. He said it bobbled as he was about to hit it Anyhow, he's a far better goalie than a golfer going by his attempt at the pitching compy Brave man quizzing him about it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 30, 2010 Report Share Posted March 30, 2010 Even a blind squirrel sometimes finds a nut. Even 8 year olds get new patter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted March 30, 2010 Report Share Posted March 30, 2010 From the highlights Sutton is a mile onside! Game was still 0-0 at that point! How many points have linesman cost us this season now? 3 goals chopped off this season that had hee haw wrong with them! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted March 30, 2010 Report Share Posted March 30, 2010 Even 8 year olds get new patter.I wasn't going to waste the new patter on a troll regurgitating the same old weekly keech. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted March 30, 2010 Report Share Posted March 30, 2010 I wasn't going to waste the new patter on a troll regurgitating the same old weekly keech. Meet the new patter, same as the old patter? Keeping on topic, mind the game we beat them 4-0 up there under Mcghee? Saturday felt similar. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myteam Posted March 30, 2010 Report Share Posted March 30, 2010 knew it wasn,t going to be our day when we had to park about 1/2 mile away from tannadice. the result was bad enough but i would have preferred to have seen the game while there instead of having to watch it on alba. not for 1min do i want to be a killjoy but i like everyone else paid to watch a game not people,s backs as they continually stand up. i know youngsters especially like to rebel ,but they really spoiled our away day, all those who stood up. i really hope the powers-that-be introduce safe standing areas very soon as i now wish for 2 reasons we hadn,t bothered travelling. i even had to txt my son about who got the red card as my view was totally blocked. so please consider others when you stand during games. we couldn,t change seats due to the great travelling support so well done those who made the journey. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...