Ian-in-Oz Posted April 19, 2010 Report Share Posted April 19, 2010 What odds do you reckon i'd get at the bookies for betting that our first game next season will be away to Inverness? I'd be willing to bet my mortgage on it coz we always get the tie no one else wants. SPL w*@#ers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kylie Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 What odds do you reckon i'd get at the bookies for betting that our first game next season will be away to Inverness? I'd be willing to bet my mortgage on it coz we always get the tie no one else wants. SPL w*@#ers I'll give you 'Hoose for Hoose' on that bet Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 Home game for me then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonesy Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 We should be starting next season with a home game. It's well over due, started away for the last 3 seasons. 07/08 - St Mirren, away 08/09 - Hearts, away 09/10 - St Johnstone, away EDIT: And both times previous to this when we started with a home game, they were against one of the OF. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyRoss Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 Speak for yourself mate, I'd love Inverness away. In August it's no likely the game would be off eithier! The fitba bores me just now, might as well have a good day out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 Have to agree with Andy I'd be more than happy to get Inverness on opening day. Strengthens the argument for getting to nod to head up if its the first game of the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 We'd probably take a decent support with us due to the season opener factor and I know a few that would make the trip that day but not a week or so later, But what if we are travelling back from a Euro away game at 'middle'o'nowhere FC' would prefer a cheaper day at Fir Park than the added expense of an away trip. and the club might want to challenge the Fixtures commitee on this matter, cash flow might very well mean a much needed injection is required sooner than later. throw into the mix, the pitch might want to be 'rested' a week or too longer after more remedial work, and who the hell would want to be a General manager at MFC So to re-cap. Maybes aye Maybes naw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC_MKI Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 We've only been at home on Day 1 twice in the last six years, one against Celtic in 2005 and Rangers in 2006. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 We've got plenty more SPL slagging to do before this season ends without moving onto next season already <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DEWELL Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 Yep Inverness away 1st game will do for me. A cracking awayday and hopefully weather still ok. <_ .> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TAM Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 I wouldn't be at all surprised to see Celtic arrive at Fir Park for the first game of next season! Early chance to recoup lost revenue from this season Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted April 20, 2010 Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 Would rather it was Motherwell vs Inverness but either way hope we avoid the OF on opening day. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted April 20, 2010 Author Report Share Posted April 20, 2010 Would rather it was Motherwell vs Inverness but either way hope we avoid the OF on opening day. Inverness have to be at home first game to unfurl the Division One flag. Much better to be travelling away to newly promoted teams a few weeks into the season when their confidence is low coz they've had a few humpings as opposed to first game of the season when the place is buzzing and the team is full of confidence. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted April 21, 2010 Report Share Posted April 21, 2010 Inverness have to be at home first game to unfurl the Division One flag. Much better to be travelling away to newly promoted teams a few weeks into the season when their confidence is low coz they've had a few humpings as opposed to first game of the season when the place is buzzing and the team is full of confidence. St Mirren come to mind on both counts. I'm sure they started their SPL stint with an away game at Inverness on the opening day so perhaps you don't always get scheduled at home. But they did have the buzz and confidence you speak of, albeit we were particularly inept under Maurice Malpas at the time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well_Jaggy Posted April 22, 2010 Report Share Posted April 22, 2010 I would be pretty happy with an away first game. totally selfishly, my wee one is due around that date and I will most likely not make the season opener. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...