Last 5 Years League Table Stats.

SuperSteelman

Actually surprised to see that Dumpdee Utd's fortunes seem to follow a trend similar to ours.

A tremendous season all things considered - hats off to Gannon for giving us belief in ourselves after MMG's defection, and massive plaudits to Jack & Victor for turning the confidence of the team from what seemed to be a downward spiral.

Looking forward to seeing what J & V can do with us next season

I was quite surprised to see us only two points away from Mark McGhee's good season after 35 games. This season has been mental, most were predicting a relegation fight before Gannon left and we are now a baw hair away from Europe again.

'mon the 'well.

If I'm honest I expected a relegation fight from day one but Gannon very quickly dispelled those thoughts with his signings and our early season showings. IT has been an excellent season whatever happens now but it would be the icing on the cake to take 4th and back into Europe.

Never expected relegation tbh as I always thought Falkirk, St Mirren, Kilmarnock and Accies were worse than us. Never thought we would have such a good run under Gannon and Brown though. I thought it would be more choppy that it has been under both managers (results wise) rather than good run followed by bad, followed by very good followed by bad.

Amazing to see though I think this is the first season ever in the SPL Dundee United have ended in the top 4.

I didnt realise we were so close to mutleys best points haul! It really has been one of the best seasons I can remember. Ive probably made it to more games this year than ever before as well. First time I have had the season ticket since pre-administration days and I'm delighted its been this one!

Ive managed to see 30 games this season so far including european fixtures and friendlies, 5 of which were on telly/internet, 19 home games, 5 away games, and the rest I have listened to on the radio. Only games I knew nothing of were against Flamurtari. Its been top belter and well worth the £150 i spent on my season ticket and the 50quid spent on away days.

I really hope we can seal 4th against hibs on the last home game of the season!

I think the reason that this team has quietly picked up so many points is because we have lost so few games. In McGhee's first season we were good for giving a goal away so when the strikers didn't find it we lost. This season we have had six 0-0s (Aberdeen (a), Rangers (h), Celtic (a), Falkirk (a), Hamilton (a) and St Mirren (a)) and these points (most of them scraped after being the poorer team) all have helped us eat into that total.

If you could actually take the second half of November and December this season and last out of the equation Motherwell have been the best team outwith the OF in the SPL by miles over the last three seasons.

When you view stats like that it shows how much of an unappreciative bunch we really are and how fucked up the supposed football hotbed that is Lanarkshire really is.

When you consider how greetin faced we tend to be and how even on a good run we can barely get any 'swing voters' (in a football sense) oot the house of a Saturday.

In terms of individual players, which manager do you all think had the better squad to play with? McGhee or Brown/Gannon? My initial instinct is to say McGhee but on paper I wouldn't say there is much between them. In fact, I'd maybe even say this years first team (when they are all on their game) is the stronger .

I would say McGhee's was stronger because the key players in all positions were basically Motherwell players. Yeah we still had loanees come in (Lappin for example) but the likes of McCormack, Porter, Clarkson, Quinn, Craigan, Paterson/Hammell, Smith etc were Motherwell players - owned totally by MFC - many of which were there for longer than a year.

Saying that going by previous season, I would say McGhee also had the harder challenge due to morale being lower due to an awful season under Malpas (fans and players a like felt it no doubt). Although if the rumours are true - even half, morale must have been at a very low ebb when Brown came in.

As opposed to Gannon's arrival when we had hardly any players to suffer lack of morale likes? McGhee left us in that sorry state, it's a shame that's what I'll remember him for cos the first part of his first season was immense. I would put this season above that one for the simple reason we had no team at the beginning of pre-season, immense performance to turn it round to where we are now. Hats off to all who played their part.

As opposed to Gannon's arrival when we had hardly any players to suffer lack of morale likes? McGhee left us in that sorry state, it's a shame that's I'll remember him for cos the first part of his first season was immense. I would put this season above that one for the simple reason we had no team at the beginning of pre-season, immense performance to turn it round to where we are now. Hats off to all who played their part.

In addition to all of that, it was annoying to read of Boyle's eulogy to McGhee at the recent AGM and to be honest i don't believe a word of it. He left us in a shit position with zero players. perhaps he was just saying Thanks for the compensation in a roundabout way!

Not that club were ever gonna stand in the way of any of those players leaving. Letting that happen and taking the coin is our lifeblood. However McGhee had done absolutely zero groundwork to bring anybody of note in in the final phase of this last season (bar Fraser)..

I think many when the dust finally settles will look back on the opening months of this season more realistically and sensibly than they currently do.

Disappointing season, for me. When we did the 'where will we finish?' league prediction thingy before the start of the season I said third. :whistling: The annoying thing is that we can all look back at more than one or two results where had a goal stood or a pen gone in or we'd gotten a result against

All kidding aside about me being disappointed, I'm actually proud of what these guys have achieved this year especially given how tumultuous it has been. Well done to all.

Methinks if the defeats had been better spaced out many more would have marked this down as a good season much earlier. The two bad runs we went on soured the campaign a bit in many eyes.

I have to agree again with this statement.

The Falkirk game was my last for this season. If the team has no fight im not paying to watch them knocked out in the first punch.

As opposed to Gannon's arrival when we had hardly any players to suffer lack of morale likes? McGhee left us in that sorry state, it's a shame that's what I'll remember him for cos the first part of his first season was immense. I would put this season above that one for the simple reason we had no team at the beginning of pre-season, immense performance to turn it round to where we are now. Hats off to all who played their part.

So you agree with my first paragraph then? :whistling:

I also don't remember us surviving with only two games to go - which would have been a morale booster. Nor do I remember many fans or the pathetic empty season tickets being thrown onto the pitch at the end of last season like we got at the end of the Malpas season. Hence why Morale would have been higher at the start of the season (Europe and all to look forward to) - well at least until about end of October/beginning of November that is

What a roller coaster season (a whole lifetime of supporting the Well covered in one season). From the absolute lows of Llanelli in the first game to some great football under Gannon to abject despair and playing relegation football to almost clinching a European place under Jack and Victor. It is what supporting Motherwell is all about.

Lets hope we are all celebrating in some nice European square in August!!! :)