Maxi Posted February 2, 2011 Report Share Posted February 2, 2011 The one with a family crisis could have been Jim Paterson. That was a reason he missed last nights Plymouth game. Purely a rumour though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyRoss Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Despite what Sky would have you believe the transfer window opened at the start of January. We knew we needed a striker and we failed to get one. Those in charge have failed to improve our chances of success and the blame lies firmly at their door. We've managed two league goals in five SPL games and those both came in the same game. It's a piss poor record and shows no sign of improving. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Despite what Sky would have you believe the transfer window opened at the start of January. We knew we needed a striker and we failed to get one. Those in charge have failed to improve our chances of success and the blame lies firmly at their door. We've managed two league goals in five SPL games and those both came in the same game. It's a piss poor record and shows no sign of improving. spot on andy Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
uberbernie Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 looks like we could get francis jeffers!! http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Trans...icle688597.html would a good signing that could be great move by mccall IMO. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Trans...icle688597.html would a good signing that could be Could indeed, although given that he seems to have left Newcastle Jets because they couldn't agree new terms, you'd have to wonder what sort of wages he'd be looking for. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pingu Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Could indeed, although given that he seems to have left Newcastle Jets because they couldn't agree new terms, you'd have to wonder what sort of wages he'd be looking for. Plus he hasn't kicked a ball in how many years and gets punted from every club he's been at. Couldn't get a game at Sheff Wed, is he good enough for us on the wages he'll probably be on? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Doubt we're going to get anyone without a downside who is currently sitting without a club. From the position we are in is he the best we are going to get? If we can afford him probably. Though I wouldn't be breaking the bank for him - I'd rather stick with what we have. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Scotland or America? I think we could lose out again. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Scotland or America? I think we could lose out again. Watched Jeffers play for the Jets a few times. Dunno if he couldn't handle the heat or was just unfit but he was pish. Wouldn't be an improvement on the pish poor forwards we already have. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 I think Jeffers the original fox in the box would be a good signing would work well with Sutton Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burn_Broomfield Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Absolute enigma of a player. £8m fee to Arsenal, 1 cap 1 goal for England, joint record for number of U21 goals for England, list of ex clubs include Arsenal, Everton, Blackburn and Rangers but 17 goals in a decade, terrible injury record and won't come cheap. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KirkySuperSub Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 I find it hard to believe Francis Jeffers is only 30 years old, well at least acording to his wiki page. A decent goal per game ratio whilst at Everton early in his career, albeit over four seasons, but not exactly prolific elsewhere he's played. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 No for me. Would cost a fair whack and it would take him a while to get his fitness, if ever. Now that we have missed out on the window, attention has to turn to nailing 1 or 2 quality pre-contract deals. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gullane Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Former Everton striker Francis Jeffers is being offered a surprise return to British football with Stuart McCall's Scottish Premier League side Motherwell after a spell in Australia with Newcastle Jets. Full story: Daily Mirror A very big, and I suspect, expensive risk. Jeffers has had so many last chances, its hard to see him ever showing his potential talent. An injury prone, enigma. I honestly don't see us declining into a relegation battle, so why not give Casagolda and McHugh (once fit) a chance. Neither are going to develop as mere late subs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Total bombscare of a signing if it happened. Played for Rangers in the SPL and did the square root of fuck all. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Total bombscare of a signing if it happened. Played for Rangers in the SPL and did the square root of fuck all. Well think about the defences he came up against back them Benito Kemble Marco Di Marchi Tero Pentilla and think about it now Glenn Loovens Davie Weir Garry Kenneth He'll run riot up here Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 If Jeffers came up here he'd probably be our highest paid player. I'm not excited by the idea of him in Motherwell colours Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Not excited about this at all! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Tbf we really should wait till he signs or not and see how he plays. Take a look at the reaction of us signing Jones from the currently the worst team in the football league but people have began to change their opinions of him. No doubt huge risk but let see if signs and if he does how he plays. As almost any player we can sign now is going to likely have a chequered past since they'll be free agents half way through our season Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Dont even think about it he is as Ian-in-Oz says pish thats why the Jets got shot of him. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 no matter what happens, i would give him no more than a 6 month contract! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DC'd Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Tbf we really should wait till he signs or not and see how he plays. Take a look at the reaction of us signing Jones from the currently the worst team in the football league but people have began to change their opinions of him. Tbf, Walsall are League 1, gie the guy/team some credit.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 no matter what happens, i would give him no more than a 6 month contract! It be shocking and scary if we offered more although an option to extend should be added Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 Tbf, Walsall are League 1, gie the guy/team some credit.. So they are. They have been woeful this season though Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobby Russell's lovechild Posted February 3, 2011 Report Share Posted February 3, 2011 He's only played 199 league games since his debut 14 years back! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...