johnstone Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Pleased with the signing concerned that its another forward to add to the ranks of forwards at the club, when we still have some long running requirements that never seem to be getting filled within our limited budget and equally concerned that at only a six month deal, its hardly looking to the future, with regards to developing and growing the players who have longer term deals ( hell he might even be keeping other short term players out of the team and then whats the point in the wage bill?) Aye but a six month deal is magic if he turns put to be pish. Also has he not had a few injurys in the last few years? Swings and roundabouts. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 He can play left mid and he can strike the ball / finish I noticed during the Hibs game the difference in finishing between Riordan and Stokes and our lads - on the day the gap was huge in terms of pace, swerve (if req'd), height if (req'd) and accuracy. if he can bring any of that - then great. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well Up For It! Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Think this is a great signing and hope that it's the Gow from his Falkirk days that turns up. I've always seen him as an advanced midfielder with a bit of creativity. Sure he played that position for Falkirk and Hibs last season. Just the type of player we needed. Sure he could cope on the left side as well, but would still love a left sided player to come. As for the 6months, I think we shouldn't read too much into that. Maybe the club are protecting themselves a bit as well, he has had a few injury problems the last few years has he not? I'm sure he will stay on for the whole season at least. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leroy Trusco Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Humble pie for some of the pant wetters on here?! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldel Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Quite happy now. Cheers. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Ha ha brilliant! I bet he thinks you are a wank too! if he shirks anything down where i sit he soon will. we needed to get someone who can play on the left and i think we'll now see a gow-lasley-jenno-hateley midfield with humph going back to being an impact sub. i doubt he's came cheap though so it must mean there was a bit of money there but brown couldn't get anyone else in. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ML1 Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 if he shirks anything down where i sit he soon will. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 6 month contract?!?!? What's that all about? Probably all about him wanting to hoor himself around again at the Winter Break. Fine by me - at least it means he should be knocking his pan in during the next few months to secure the deal he wants elsewhere Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deaddogman Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Injury prone and we already have 5 strikers competing for places. There are other players about without clubs and there are other positions that we need players more. Funnily enough, I subscribe to the theory that Injury prone players at one club could possibly be injury free at another,the difference being down to training methods. Just a thought Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Haha, no sign of the 'WE'REDOOMED' brigade. Funny that, just like when we win a game. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Haha, no sign of the 'WE'REDOOMED' brigade. Funny that, just like when we win a game. Aye we are all in hiding until Gow makes his first mistake, then we will be telling you so in no uncertain terms Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ONeils40yarder Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 willing to give the boy a chance but I hope he is able to play on the left-side of midfield. He has hardly kicked a ball in the past 3 seasons and when we played Hivs last season I thought he was largely anonymous. Definitely worth the risk though, and on a 6month deal the risk is minimal. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmo Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Gow can hopefully provide the spark the team is lacking at the moment whether he plays at left mid or an attacking midfield role. He's a good dribbler with a great left peg who can score aswell as create think it just depends if he really wants to play his best football or just pick up a wage. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fat_tony Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Funnily enough, I subscribe to the theory that Injury prone players at one club could possibly be injury free at another,the difference being down to training methods. Just a thought It's not necessarily that daft a theory. Look at Porter for example, who came here with a history of knee (I think) problems and stayed fit almost his entire spell here. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Delighted to have brought in a player with quality and pedigree. If we are going to success from him, he needs to play through the middle imo. Would have been nicer to get him on a longer contract but I'll settle for the fact that I believe we have a player that will make watching Motherwell a more pleasant experience. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeecee Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Just seen on SSN that this new 25 player squad rules state that any player omitted from the squad can be loaned out but the way it came across they can only be loaned out to football league clubs, so cannae see us getting any players in this way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 It would be refreshing to see him fall flat on his face after playing such a poker hand. That said he is perfectly entitled to try and get the best deal for himself. We would all do it ourselves after all. If he is a free agent then I believe he can still sign for any club for a short while longer - that said I am not too sure if I understand the rather convoluted rules. Glad I did not slag him off too much Still 6 months is a strange one. Would take us up to end of February. Is that not after the Xmas transfer window. Would it not have made sense to sign till end of the season?? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 awwww we just signed alan gow on a 6 month deal! bbc sports kids! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 just noticed im miles out of date with my post! everyone already knows haha Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yir Elder Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 I kinda wish it was until the end of the season, otherwise we may have to spend January trying to replace him if he choses to move on. Still, it increases our creative options for the next five months, so very happy with the signing. Good luck Gowser! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dosser1886 Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Glad I did not slag him off too much Still 6 months is a strange one. Would take us up to end of February. Is that not after the Xmas transfer window. Would it not have made sense to sign till end of the season?? 6 months is just fine with his lack of first team football and record of injuries thanks very much. Don't want to be stuck with a (lame) donkey. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 It is the old catch 22 scenario. He turns out to be a revelation and then he inevitably walks to another team or he is a donkey and we are saved further expense. Chances are it will be somewhere in the middle and we can negotiate an extension come January/February........ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paisley Steelman Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Hopefully Gow can be the creative midfielder we need. Can't see it being a major risk, no doubt Archie Knox got the low down from Walter Smith about him. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Humble pie for some of the pant wetters on here?! I still think the squad lacks in quality and depth. Cheers Your friend the pant wetter. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well-army Posted September 1, 2010 Report Share Posted September 1, 2010 Welcome aboard the rollercoaster ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...