ekwellfan Posted May 24, 2010 Author Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 Draw for round 1 and 2 on June 21st. Round 3 July 16th Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 We can't get a Liverpool or a German team as we are a big boy just like them in the 3rd round . I know we have a hurdle to jump in the 2nd round. That is why I said I was dreaming. Aye but liverpool and german teams will likely make the play-offs from the 3rd round and be seeded. We might make the play-offs and wont be seeded. Then could play liverpool or a german team there. Probably what was meant. When you look at the teams already seeded for the play-offs... and the teams likely to be seeded who get past the third round... there is almost no chance of avoiding a glamour tie! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 This site is worth a butchers. Seems to have all the teams, seedings and co-efficients and also seems to have put all/most of the teams in place on the assumption that the seeded teams qualify from their round. It has Motherwell making it to the play-offs based on our co-efficient. So it makes it easier to see possible opponents. http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/seedel2010.html Going by that, our best chance of getting to the group stage would be a game against Cliftonville in the 2nd QF, a game against Cibalia Vinkovci in the 2rd QF and BATE Borisov in the PLay-offs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davie boy Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/seedel2010.html Good wee guide that Anyone fancy a trip back 2 Dortmund! (Wasn`t there personally, in Germany, Dads mate brought me a programme back tho!) Member getin away fae school early for a visit 2 "The dentist" for the home leg Good times. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell89 Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 Liverpool *3 Eng 115.371 FC Porto Por 76.659 CSKA Moscow Rus 66.758 PSV Eindhoven Ned 66.309 Juventus *3 Ita 59.867 Sporting CP Lisbon *3 Por 57.659 Olympiakos Piraeus ** Gre 54.979 VfB Stuttgart *3 Ger 52.841 AZ Alkmaar *3 Ned 48.309 Steaua Bucuresti Rom 47.898 Lille OSC Fra 46.748 Galatasaray *3 Tur 43.890 Bayer Leverkusen Ger 40.841 Paris Saint-Germain Fra 39.748 Celtic @3 Sco 38.158 Club Brugge Bel 36.580 Palermo Ita 35.867 Getafe Esp 33.894 Besiktas ** Tur 33.890 Manchester City Eng 33.371 Dinamo Bucuresti ** Rom 28.898 AEK Athens Gre 25.979 Aston Villa Eng 25.871 Lokomotiv Moscow Rus 25.758 Metalist Kharkiv Ukr 25.410 Levski Sofia ** Bul 25.400 Maccabi Haifa *3 Isr 19.775 Unirea Urziceni @3 Rom 18.898 Austria Wien ** Aut 16.915 Feyenoord Ned 16.309 Real Mallorca Esp 15.951 CSKA Sofia *3 Bul 15.400 OB Odense *3 Den 14.970 Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk *3 Ukr 14.910 Napoli Ita 14.867 Borussia Dortmund Ger 14.841 BATE Borisov @3 Bls 13.308 I would prefer we get someone from this list we can beat, group stages would just be so good for us.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 Why are Celtic there aren't they in the Champions League? Or are the powers that be just assuming Celtic will get punted out at the qualifiers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGaryMFC Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 I presume since they aren't seeded in the Champions League qualifier then the guy is assuming they will be knocked out and therefore entered into the Europa League Qualifiers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 scotland have been papped out the u19 qualifiers so there's no chance of a club versus country debate in july. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted May 24, 2010 Report Share Posted May 24, 2010 I presume since they aren't seeded in the Champions League qualifier then the guy is assuming they will be knocked out and therefore entered into the Europa League Qualifiers. Valid assumption, Sellik are gash Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 Given the teams that are already (or likely) to be in the 4th QF, if we did manage to make it that far, would anyone happily take Celtic? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 ^No, the tv revenue would be crap and we'd still probably get pumped out. We find it hard enough going to darkheid in the league, never mind a european night. A big German mob, would mean a good trip and good tv money. That would be ideal. Obviously it means we wouldnt be making the group stages, but I can't see that happening anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shallow Dave Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 Given the teams that are already (or likely) to be in the 4th QF, if we did manage to make it that far, would anyone happily take Celtic? I've got a feeling that clubs from the same associations are kept apart until the quarter/semi finals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell89 Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 Hold liverpool at fir park 0-0 then go to anfield and sneak a goal 1-1 best possible outcome I can think of Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 Liverpool *3 Eng 115.371 FC Porto Por 76.659 CSKA Moscow Rus 66.758 PSV Eindhoven Ned 66.309 Juventus *3 Ita 59.867 Sporting CP Lisbon *3 Por 57.659 Olympiakos Piraeus ** Gre 54.979 VfB Stuttgart *3 Ger 52.841 AZ Alkmaar *3 Ned 48.309 Steaua Bucuresti Rom 47.898 Lille OSC Fra 46.748 Galatasaray *3 Tur 43.890 Bayer Leverkusen Ger 40.841 Paris Saint-Germain Fra 39.748 Celtic @3 Sco 38.158 Club Brugge Bel 36.580 Palermo Ita 35.867 Getafe Esp 33.894 Besiktas ** Tur 33.890 Manchester City Eng 33.371 Dinamo Bucuresti ** Rom 28.898 AEK Athens Gre 25.979 Aston Villa Eng 25.871 Lokomotiv Moscow Rus 25.758 Metalist Kharkiv Ukr 25.410 Levski Sofia ** Bul 25.400 Maccabi Haifa *3 Isr 19.775 Unirea Urziceni @3 Rom 18.898 Austria Wien ** Aut 16.915 Feyenoord Ned 16.309 Real Mallorca Esp 15.951 CSKA Sofia *3 Bul 15.400 OB Odense *3 Den 14.970 Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk *3 Ukr 14.910 Napoli Ita 14.867 Borussia Dortmund Ger 14.841 BATE Borisov @3 Bls 13.308 I would prefer we get someone from this list we can beat, group stages would just be so good for us.. Im not too sure there is anyone in that list we could beat... they all seem like big names to me... all with at least double our co-efficient (mind you aberdeen have double our co-efficient). There are probably a good few we could have a right good go at though! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ernie Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 Hold liverpool at fir park 0-0 then go to anfield and sneak a goal 1-1 best possible outcome I can think of Sorry but I would be looking for a more secure 2-1 away win Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 I think out of that giant list the Scottish Clubs (and I would probably include the Old Firm when I say Scottish never mind just us, Hibs and United) could put up some sort of fight are BATE Borisov, Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk, OB Odense and Metalist Kharkiv. The sad fact is though, every single club on that list are not just bigger than us, but also technically more gifted than us. What we as fans have to decide is, do we want a glamour tie and have almost impossible task of getting to the group stages or do we want a less glamourous tie with the likes of the above named and maybe sneak into the Group Stages if everyting goes well on the night - even as doubtful as it is. Sadly I think I would rather play Dnipro and Odense etc than a glamour tie on the off chance we can get into the Group Stages Waits for some fisherman from Iceland or something to knock us out in the 2nd Qualification Round. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 I'll take papped out at with a glamour tie. No more of yer Mypa-47 pish! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shallow Dave Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 I'll take papped out at with a glamour tie. No more of yer Mypa-47 pish! Arguably, Hari Kampman wouldn't have joined us had that game not occured. Edit: Thought Simo came from them and just found out he didn't.....numpty Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 I'll take as many wee teams as they can give us. If you keep beating them you'll eventually get your big team anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CoF Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 Can anyone else see similarities to Englands "who will we get in the semis" patter here? I know I've contributed too, just an observation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 I'll take as many wee teams as they can give us. If you keep beating them you'll eventually get your big team anyway. Agreed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 What we as fans have to decide is, do we want a glamour tie and have almost impossible task of getting to the group stages or do we want a less glamourous tie with the likes of the above named and maybe sneak into the Group Stages if everyting goes well on the night - even as doubtful as it is. What we as fans have to decide is........ fuck all!! We get who we get nothing us fans can do about it. Our job is just to support the team & try to help them get past each round starting with the pishy team we will get first who have every chance of pumping us out. I swear some people here think we are gonna win this tourny. Geez if Falkirk can beat us then anyone can. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaag Posted May 25, 2010 Report Share Posted May 25, 2010 What we as fans have to decide is........ fuck all!! We get who we get nothing us fans can do about it. Our job is just to support the team & try to help them get past each round starting with the pishy team we will get first who have every chance of pumping us out. I swear some people here think we are gonna win this tourny. Geez if Falkirk can beat us then anyone can. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted May 26, 2010 Report Share Posted May 26, 2010 What we as fans have to decide is........ fuck all!! We get who we get nothing us fans can do about it. Our job is just to support the team & try to help them get past each round starting with the pishy team we will get first who have every chance of pumping us out. I swear some people here think we are gonna win this tourny. Geez if Falkirk can beat us then anyone can. BUt if the Champions cannae beat us then who's to say........ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted May 26, 2010 Report Share Posted May 26, 2010 i had a dream last night we got galatasaray Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...