Catweazles ring piece Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Well done to Craig Brown and everyone associated at F.P. for steering our way round a tricky tie against The Icelanders (well done to them also on their first european experience.) Money at FP is obviously tight and Cardiff's plight compounds this further. But to progress further in europe, we urgently require some pace in our left midfield/attack and another forward. Will anyone be bought before our next tie? and will they be fit enough or gel to the teams formation/tactics. Do we speculate to accumulate or do we try or luck with the same players in the next round. What does everyone think? Twist or Stick! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BullRipCheddar Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Whilst I don't know too much about the Norwegian team I don't imagine they will be much better or worse than the team we have just disptached. We need a couple of players anyway but even if nothing happens before the next euro game we should have enough with the current squad to squeeze through. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WishyWell Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 If we get more money for progressing in the Europa League, I'm guessing Paw Broon has a decision to make: does he go for players now to increase the chance of getting past the Norwegians, or hope we get through with what we've got and use the increased cash to get better players? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TAM Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 If the Norwegians have been studied and are deemed a 'good' draw then I would suggest we go against them with what we have and try to get through. if we get to the play-off round we will have the 2 previous rounds cash from Uefa and if it is a tasty draw we could get a decent home gate and maybe TV money, this would then give us a better stash to use to really strengthen for the SPL. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 I'd rather we just bought Jutkiewicz just now and got it out the way! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 the squad is way to thin and a few knocks in Norway could sell disaster for the home leg and the start of the season Craig Brown is no mug and he won't just buy some one in but I hope manages to sign some new player soon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catweazles ring piece Posted July 23, 2010 Author Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 the squad is way to thin and a few knocks in Norway could sell disaster for the home leg and the start of the season Craig Brown is no mug and he won't just buy some one in but I hope manages to sign some new player soon I agree with that Delboy. Craig Brown will get players in sooner or later. But, the right player/players secured, could pay back any expenditure if we progress through the qualifying rounds. If we can't secure players at the moment and fail to progress, it might be a lost oppertunity with knock on effects for the coming season. Fingers crossed, willy auld Broon has something up his sleeve. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Unless I'm much mistaken victory last night was going to secure at least one new signature for next season ,and every thing was in place awaiting the outcome of last nights result. Or perhaps I'm very much mistaken. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmo Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 I think the squad we have just now is good enough to get by this team, i think they finished 12th or 13th in the Norwegian league last year and I think that is of similar overall standard to the SPL. Have faith. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catweazles ring piece Posted July 23, 2010 Author Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Unless I'm much mistaken victory last night was going to secure at least one new signature for next season ,and every thing was in place awaiting the outcome of last nights result. Or perhaps I'm very much mistaken. No normal for a postie to keep his mooth shut Whits the script? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Unless I'm much mistaken victory last night was going to secure at least one new signature for next season ,and every thing was in place awaiting the outcome of last nights result. Or perhaps I'm very much mistaken. I heard much the same thing in the currency exchange queue! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 I never heard anything but the thought has been expressed in a few posts on this board , i don't know anyone to actually get this type of info from. Sorry if Ive given the wrong impression. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 The Fine Art of Backpedaling Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Nae backpeddling here, there were a few Motherwell folk giving it the cloak and dagger about 'Aye did you hear from him about that thing and him' before some chat about the game and its importance related to that. We'll see I guess. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Of course we will - the old I know something you don't know pish is becoming tiresome across the forum Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 Of course we will - the old I know something you don't know pish is becoming tiresome across the forum Been the worst pre-season for it so far. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 My apologies, I wasn't intending to do that to be honest, just passing on the vaguest and most loaded conversation I'd heard in ages! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 I think the squad we have just now is good enough to get by this team, i think they finished 12th or 13th in the Norwegian league last year and I think that is of similar overall standard to the SPL. Have faith. I wish people would stop mentioning where our oppenents ended last season, as that season ended 8-9 months ago FFS! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dazamfc Posted July 23, 2010 Report Share Posted July 23, 2010 I think the squad we have just now is good enough to get by this team, i think they finished 12th or 13th in the Norwegian league last year and I think that is of similar overall standard to the SPL. Have faith. Well if you think about the Scottish/League Cup in the past few years we have been put out off of a few 1st division teams so it not going easy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catweazles ring piece Posted July 25, 2010 Author Report Share Posted July 25, 2010 By the look of things, no players appear to be "in" before Thursdays game!!?? Really hoped a left sided attacking midfielder would be added to the squad to pep up a pedestrian midfield unit. Combined with Sutton playing in a deeper role, I can't see where we can penetrate the oppositions defence. Murphy has shown sparks, but not playing the lone furrow that I believe Craig Brown will play, come Thursday. Disappointed we haven't speculated to accumulate but lets see what the game brings. Hope we can navigate around this tie for some much needed finances, but, I worry that lack of player activity might just see us fall short. Hope Craig Brown has the plan for winning mission #2. Best of luck M.F.C. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...