dazamfc Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 I have been asked to try and find out the goalscorers from the score which in in the title.It happend in the 90's and I have no idea about it.Probaly wasn't even born.Can anyone help me out? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Doogs last goal was it not? Motherwell 6 (3) - 2 (2) Hibernian Arnott 10 Crawford 4 Weir 23 Laverty 8 Garcin 43 McCulloch 81 Coyne 88 McCulloch 89 on 31-01-1998 Motherwell: Woods, Christie, Ian Ross, Newman, Martin (Philliben, 45 ) , Falconer, Weir, Garcin (McSkimming, 72 ) , Coyne, Arnott (McCulloch, 78 ) , Coyle Hibernian: Reid, Miller, Boco, Jackson ( Dow, 77 ) , Dennis, Welsh(sent off 43), Harper, Larusson ( McCaffrey, 87 ) , Crawford, Lavety, McGinlay Subs not used: Walker, Bookings: Falconer (Motherwell) Dennis , Jackson , Welsh (Hibernian) Attendance: 6169 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Did the legend that is John Hendry not actually score 1 or 2 in this game? And didn't this one send the Hibees down or get a manager sacked or something? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Nah, Hendry scored two when we lost 4-2 in October 1995. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Motherwell 6 (3) - 2 (2) Hibernian 'Well Arnott 10 Weir 23 Garcin 43 McCulloch 81 Coyne 88 McCulloch 89 Hibs Crawford 4 Lavety 8 EDIT: I'm as slow as Bob Malcolm. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 on 31-01-1998 No danger, I cannae believe I was 12 at that game! It surely wasn't that long ago!? Okay, I blatantly know it was late-90s - but still! To be fair, Eric Garcin's free-kick was a belter! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Aye, what was more amazing was Lee McCulloch scored twice! I remember the one at Easter Road, no-one who was there could get round the fact Hendry actually managed to score once never mind a second...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Did the legend that is John Hendry not actually score 1 or 2 in this game? And didn't this one send the Hibees down or get a manager sacked or something? It was Jim Duffy, I think it was, who was in charge at the time and that basically sealed his fate. I think we got another week out of McLeish then he was off the Hibees. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Christ. How bad is that hibs team? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 just watched the highlights tonight, saw my 14 year old self sitting down the front row of the east stand. garcin's free kick was as good as i remember it but tommy coyne m'lord's finish in the second half was absolute class. i made the mistake of watching the 2-2 each h*n cup tie after it, woods passing the ball to durie still makes me want to greet. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 Was a funny game that. I recall thinking at 0-2 after just 8 minutes there's no way we are goint to lose to this bunch. We strolled to 3-2, they missed a couple of great opportunities, then flattened them on the break during the last 10. Then McLeish decided to jump ship not long afterwards to go to relegation-bound Hibs. The reception he got when we went to Easter Road soon after was good..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foghorn Posted July 29, 2010 Report Share Posted July 29, 2010 just watched the highlights tonight, saw my 14 year old self sitting down the front row of the east stand. garcin's free kick was as good as i remember it but tommy coyne m'lord's finish in the second half was absolute class. i made the mistake of watching the 2-2 each h*n cup tie after it, woods passing the ball to durie still makes me want to greet. Your worst nightmare. Well intotal control of the game and cruising, then big numpty has a brainstorm. How he is employed escapes me!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 Which numpty? Woods or Martin who showed him where to play it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 Your worst nightmare. Well intotal control of the game and cruising, then big numpty has a brainstorm.How he is employed escapes me!! Woods will never be forgiven for that. Didn't want to go to School for a week after that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 There's no way we should have lost to them anyway - they were pure pish. As I recall, McCulloch only came on for the last ten minutes and bagged a brace. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 Just looking at the starting lineup from that Hibs game, there wasn't much dig about the midfield was there. Attack, attack, attack. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 There's no way we should have lost to them anyway - they were pure pish. As I recall, McCulloch only came on for the last ten minutes and bagged a brace. He did indeed, on 78 minutes for Doogs. Always remember Welsh getting sent off just before half-time (for the foul which gave Garcin his free-kick goal) and how we laughed as the mop-haird clown went. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Burn_Broomfield Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 Kevin Christie and Ian Ross as full backs!!!! OOOfffffttttt, not to mention the blistering pace of Newman and Martin. I actually remember Crawford and Lavety looking World Class for 10 minutes then they went back to normal for the other 80 minutes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desp Posted July 30, 2010 Report Share Posted July 30, 2010 Eric Garcin Remember this game well, even though I was only 11 at the time. Was in the Main Stand that day with my Dad. Tried to copy Garcin's free-kick in the back garden for weeks! Am I right in saying that those were Lee McCulloch's first goals for Motherwell? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Was a funny game that. I recall thinking at 0-2 after just 8 minutes there's no way we are goint to lose to this bunch. We strolled to 3-2, they missed a couple of great opportunities, then flattened them on the break during the last 10. Then McLeish decided to jump ship not long afterwards to go to relegation-bound Hibs. The reception he got when we went to Easter Road soon after was good..... I also recall the year Hibs bought their way back into the SPL there first game of the season was a home tie against then Well. There was a big demand for tickets and quite few hibbiesfound their way into away end. It was a close game and hibs were leading with seconds to go then right at the death we equalised and I'll never forget the glum face of the poor hibbie who was sitting next to me as underboyleheating and I went mental! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 1, 2010 Report Share Posted August 1, 2010 Highlights in NSFW somewhere Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...