Stu Posted August 5, 2010 Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 Had the radio on in the background so didn't quite catch what was said in full, but I thought I heard Chick Young saying that John Boyle has written to the other SPL chairmen asking for a move to summer football and the use of synthetic pitches such as the one Aalesund use. Did I hear him right? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted August 5, 2010 Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 Aye, that's what he was saying. Seems there's a big piece in tonight's programme about it. He wants the season to run from March until September if I heard right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 5, 2010 Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 Would the plastic pitches not melt in the blistering heat of a Scottish summer....? <_ aye okay then....> Anyways, I think it is a good idea - better to try something new than stagnate to death for fear of trying something new, no? If Summer fitba' doesn't work then we can always switch back in a few years. As for the plastic picthes, I reckon it'll happen sooner or later - and current technology would suggest sooner rather than later. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted August 5, 2010 Author Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 I'm all for it too. As you say, Haggis, at least it'll mean we've tried something new. Boyle's also wanting areas where fans can stand, where fans can smoke and where fans can drink alcohol? He's a revolutionary! <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted August 5, 2010 Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 More like a bloody throwback!! <_> Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted August 5, 2010 Author Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 Interesting to hear the BBC pundits in pretty much unanimous agreement with Boyle's proposals... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cakes Posted August 5, 2010 Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 Boyle's also wanting areas where fans can stand, where fans can smoke and where fans can drink alcohol? He's a revolutionary! <_>I'd love to see the introduction of a Safe Standing section. Sitting down at the fitba just isn't right and we can't all fit into the back row. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 5, 2010 Report Share Posted August 5, 2010 Anyways, I think it is a good idea - better to try something new than stagnate to death for fear of trying something new, no? If Summer fitba' doesn't work then we can always switch back in a few years. As for the plastic picthes, I reckon it'll happen sooner or later - and current technology would suggest sooner rather than later. there's zero chance it'll happen and quite rightly so. the idea that we should just test it and see if it works is mental, half our top teams are millions in debt they don't have any wiggle room. summer fitba would be suicide. right now it's better value to patg if you think you'll miss 4 home games, put the home games up against holidays, festivals, fishing, camping, golf and everything else you can do in the summer that you cannae do in the winter and see how well attendances hold up. right now our season lasts nine and a half months. what would our season be? mid febraury to the end of november? summery as fuck. summer football is up there with league cup sections and an 18 team league as pish spouted by people who just want to go against the status quo without actually thinking of the real effects change might have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paisley Steelman Posted August 6, 2010 Report Share Posted August 6, 2010 Why would folk go to a game in the summer with their kids rather than during the manky winter weather when you got xmas to get cash for !! More income and exposure on tv as them down south have no football to watch on sky during the summer. I can also see english club loaning players to the spl in the off season to increase fitness and experience. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 6, 2010 Report Share Posted August 6, 2010 Why would folk go to a game in the summer with their kids rather than during the manky winter weather when you got xmas to get cash for !!As opposed to spending money on a summer holiday? More income and exposure on tv as them down south have no football to watch on sky during the summer. I can also see english club loaning players to the spl in the off season to increase fitness and experience.Why more income? The only reports I have ever read about summer football showed that the crowd size didn't change. The only difference for the telly is that SPL games would be shuffled around the schedule so the Olympics/Cricket/Boat Race could be shown. And there is no way any English club who had just finished a season would loan out any knackered player for more the summer. The easiest way to improve football for the fans is bring back standing and kick off at 3pm every Saturday. That's too easy for the authorities, however, so they are looking at everything but that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 6, 2010 Report Share Posted August 6, 2010 Why would folk go to a game in the summer with their kids rather than during the manky winter weather when you got xmas to get cash for !! surely it would be sensible to take the kids somewhere free and cheap when it's warm rather than pay them into the fitba. attendances are higher round xmas than normal as well. summer fitba = shite idea propagated by ignorant people Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted August 6, 2010 Report Share Posted August 6, 2010 speaking of boyle did anyone else see him jumping about mad at the side of the dugout during the second half of last nights game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gary_411 Posted August 6, 2010 Report Share Posted August 6, 2010 apparently he was ragin last night at how "small" the attendance was and he's not so sure about summer football now? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...