underboyleheating Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 Football fans in training Starting at Fir Park soon Football Fans in Training (FFIT) is a new nationwide health project being launched across every club in the SPL, and set to kick off this September at Motherwell FC. Supporters can sign up to take part in sessions aimed at increasing physical activity, improving diet and promoting a healthy lifestyle. FFIT is open to 35-65 year old overweight males and is being provided by Motherwell FC as a FREE service to our supporters! You will become part of the club for 12 weeks, being issued with official Motherwell FC training kit to work with our football and health coaches one evening per week. Similar programmes have proved a massive success with clubs in the English Premiership and Championship. Now we will be leading the way in Scotland! To sign up all you have to do is meet the criteria below, and contact us with your details. It’s a great opportunity to improve your fitness, lose weight, and train with fellow supporters at Fir Park. Motherwell FC Football Fans in Training Start Date: 21/09/2010, 3pm-5pm and 5.15pm to 7.15pm. Venue: Davie Cooper Suite, Fir Park Eligibility You are eligible to take part if you are a male between 35 and 65 years old and meet any of the following criteria: BMI of 27+ (Calculate this by visiting http://www.nhlbisupport.com/bmi/ ) Belly 100cm + (measure your waist and go around your belly!) Trouser waist size of 38 inches + Contact To get involved please email us on Graeme.mcarthur@motherwellfc.co.uk]Graeme.mcarthur@motherwellfc.co.uk[/email] This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it or call 01698 239926 with the details below: Name Address Postcode Contact Telephone BMI / Belly / Trouser size Or contact the Motherwell FC FFIT team on: Telephone: 01698 239926 Email: Graeme.mcarthur@motherwellfc.co.uk This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it CLUB ACTION: Scottish Government funding requires us to keep a record of everyone who has responded even if they turn out not to be eligible, or drop out of the programme. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 no comment Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
daver Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 I'm between 35 and 65 and I'm overweight but I don't meet the 38" waist criterion so I think I'm allowed to stay on the Chapman's pies for a bit yet! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 I'm between 35 and 65 and I'm overweight but I don't meet the 38" waist criterion so I think I'm allowed to stay on the Chapman's pies for a bit yet! Calculate your BMI, or measure your gut, I'm not 38" waist but am over 100cm and a BMI of 30 and I only weigh about 215lbs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tassinari Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 29.2 on the BMI scale. Sign me up!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 26.8. I'll get into training with a kebab tonight Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfcmainstand Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 fit the criteria except the age gutted would have been interested Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 fit the criteria except the age gutted would have been interestedDitto. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 I just noticed the age thing! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
casey Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 Sounds good but I'll stick to the Aquatec! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 29.2 on the BMI scale. Sign me up!!!! You're not 7ft 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albie Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 I'm in. Now registered for the evening slot Will the bar be open in the Cooper after the sessions? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc_in_the_community Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 Guys - if you are swithering - this is a great course to get involved in. The SPL Trust have brought in some really good people to develop the course, and Graeme McArthur who is leading the course for Motherwell FC is one of our top community coaches with wide experience of health and wellbeing. Stevie Kirk will also be popping in now and again, and you will get the chance to meet some of the players. There will also be a competition between the SPL Clubs to see which team's fans lose the most weight. So it would be great to see the 'Well topping this particular league table. Give Graeme a call or drop him a line on the contact details provided. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 Celtic will win that, they seem adept at losing pounds they thought they'd have. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc_in_the_community Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 LOL! Seriously though support your team by getting healthier and fitter! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted September 6, 2010 Author Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 It’s about time Motherwell did something for skinny guys like myself, these salad dodgers have all the fun. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bop Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 fit the criteria except the age gutted would have been interested I dont understand this, cant you just stop being fat without a gimmick from a football club? I dont aim this at you personally, I mean anyone at all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albie Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 This is a great opportunity for all of us with the middle age spread. Personally this is ideal for me without committing to a direct debit to some gym. That may come later if/ when I start to benefit from this scheme. All I can say is get aff yir fat arses and join in. You know who you are!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well_Jaggy Posted September 6, 2010 Report Share Posted September 6, 2010 I meet the criteria except for the BMI / Waist size / trouser size. (its close though!) If I hd know this was coming up I would have drank more beer and eaten more curries! I would love to have taken part in this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted September 7, 2010 Report Share Posted September 7, 2010 Will John Boyle be attanding this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted September 7, 2010 Report Share Posted September 7, 2010 Aye fair play to Motherwell for doing this. Good way to get people active. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tassinari Posted September 7, 2010 Report Share Posted September 7, 2010 You're not 7ft 3 And with that the gauntlet was thrown, ya cheeky b'stard. I've signed up for the 5.15 sessions so come early December we'll see who has shed the most flab Mr Turd. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigshinyhead Posted September 7, 2010 Report Share Posted September 7, 2010 I'd be up for this. Why are the times seemingly selected to suit the unemployed? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ColtnessDosser Posted September 7, 2010 Report Share Posted September 7, 2010 Just got myself registered on the 5.15 sessions too. Sounds like a good idea, wee bit of motivation for a fat lazy b'stard like me, and once I start to see and feel the benefits might even commit to a gym membership for the first time in 10 years. You think they will fit us wi a tag which sets off an alarm every time we go near the Pie Stalls?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted September 7, 2010 Report Share Posted September 7, 2010 Anyone on the 3 o'clock? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...