fatcalf Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 maybe we'll even have a bash at some "tippy-tappy pish" Fuck that, get it up the park!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 The old - as long as we get the points / qualify for europe / dont lose argument doesn't stack up really. 1) We won't achieve as much as we think if we continue to only perform away from home and 2) Supporting 'well at home will become a very lonely pastime. Say whatever you like - if the fitba continues to be pish folk will vote with their feet. The home form is something that the players and management are now at least acknowledging - so maybe we'll try something a bit different in weeks to come. maybe we'll even have a bash at some "tippy-tappy pish" you're going to have your work cut out finding something to moan about if we pump st mirren on saturday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 He'll find something... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 you're going to have your work cut out finding something to moan about if we pump st mirren on saturday. Yeah, I know. What comes across loud and clear in all my posts since day one on here is how I like us to get humped so I can moan. Fuck sake - wasn't that long ago I was head of the happy clappy gang apparently. The 'moan' about us getting it wrong at home and wanting us to play attacking football and win matches is such a negative viewpoint to have. I suppose you can roll out some stats on my negative posts. Remember Steelboy, 'reading' a post is different from 'understanding' it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 He'll find something... Don't be a fud Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 The 'moan' about us getting it wrong at home and wanting us to play attacking football and win matches is such a negative viewpoint to have. that's fair enough. what i don't think is fair is the amount of games you've given the team to produce this attacking football. we've only had three home league games of which i'd write off the celtic game due to us being dead on our feet. the consenus after the hibs game was that we played very well but didn't get a fair crack from the ref and after the aberdeen game that we were poor but aberdeen came to stifle. i don't think that those 3 games are enough to make a judgement on our home form yet. i'll wait until we've played st mirren, dundee united and accies and see what kinds of results we get and fitba we play before drawing any conclusions. last week the gripe was 'boring football' and that we were rubbish to watch which was well and truly blown out the water on saturday. this week i'm quite confident that saturday will see our first home win and that murphy, humphrey and blackman will send the fans home happy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 what i don't think is fair is the amount of games you've given the team to produce this attacking football. we've only had three home league games of which i'd write off the celtic game due to us being dead on our feet. the consenus after the hibs game was that we played very well but didn't get a fair crack from the ref and after the aberdeen game that we were poor but aberdeen came to stifle. i don't think that those 3 games are enough to make a judgement on our home form yet. i'll wait until we've played st mirren, dundee united and accies and see what kinds of results we get and fitba we play before drawing any conclusions. last week the gripe was 'boring football' and that we were rubbish to watch which was well and truly blown out the water on saturday. this week i'm quite confident that saturday will see our first home win and that murphy, humphrey and blackman will send the fans home happy I agree with that, but what worries me about St Mirren game is that we are almost expected to win by everyone. Even by myself! And I usually think we are going to lose every week! (including this Saturday!!) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 I know it's fair enough. All three were there for the taking - but the failings were to feed all three central defences buns all day long with any attempt to change it. The moan last week was that our home form was at odds to our away form - that hopefully will change on Saturday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Apparently it was Steelboys fault we won on Saturday so if we win this Saturday by not sitting back or by humpfing the ball long SD can claim the credit. Sounds fair Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 you're getting mixed up. if diggle keeps talking us down til may and i keep talking us up til may we're certs for europe and a cup win. it's a team effort. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 We can't really complain at all. Since Brown has been here we have had a very good record in the SPL when you take into consideration the size and age of our squad. By all accounts it looked like we played Hearts off the park with a mixture of good passing football and fast counter attacking. As for the home games, well the Hibs game was just one of those days and I certainly seen enough positives from it. The Celtic game we were just knackered after the Euro game, and we still only lost to a dodgy penalty. I never seen the Aberdeen game, but it sounded like they parked the bus and we couldn't find a way through. Again no much we can do about that. Overall this season our form has been excellent. Hence why we are sitting third in the league. Most other clubs would give their right arm to have Craig Brown as their manager. We should count ourselves lucky that we have him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 By all accounts it looked like we played Hearts off the park with a mixture of good passing football and fast counter attacking.Which goes back to my earlier argument against the posters who were saying "We don't care if the football is crap to watch, as long as we win". It's possible to play decent football and win; you don't have to choose one over the other. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Which goes back to my earlier argument against the posters who were saying "We don't care if the football is crap to watch, as long as we win". It's possible to play decent football and win; you don't have to choose one over the other. I understand that, but I feel people are harping on about these three home games too much. There were very valid reasons why didn't win them and its not like we have been thrashed in any game this season. I am sure Brown and Knox don't want us to play the long ball tactic, its just sometimes you have to. Especially if the other team puts 5 centre backs into the squad. I feel we are a very effective team and when we go a goal up seem now to have the ability to catch the other team on the counter attack. Apart from the Hibs game we have been very good at that this season. The St Mirren game will be a good indicator to how far we have come this season I feel. If we can get a good result as the favourites then it will do the teams confidence the world of good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Just did a bit of digging and this is Browns record for every competitive game we have played under him: Played: 32 Won: 16 Drawn: 8 Lost: 8 Thats a fantastic record. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 I understand that, but I feel people are harping on about these three home games too much. There were very valid reasons why didn't win them and its not like we have been thrashed in any game this season. No one is getting too bent out of shape about it. The point remains though that we could have won them - the Hibs game in particular. There was absolutely no need to continually pump the ball through to Bamba. We all appreciate where we are and who we have in charge. Me personally - I feel that the long ball thing IS a definite instruction, it was creeping in last season. And if Brown and Knox were against it they'd be going their dinger to halt it during games and get us to keep it on the floor - I've not seen any evidence of that happening. A win on Saturday will be a tonic for the troops tho Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Whilst I agree with weeyin's point the stat posted by johnstone shows a fantastic record imo. Kind of why I said I'd put up with some of the less attractive performances if it kept up that record. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Just did a bit of digging and this is Browns record for every competitive game we have played under him: Played: 32 Won: 16 Drawn: 8 Lost: 8 Thats a fantastic record. Another interesting point to note is that our defeats were as follows: Celtic x 3 Odense x 2 Dundee Utd x 2 Hibs x 1 Falkirk x 1 So since Brown has taken over we have only been beaten once by a team who finished below us in the SPL. Also I noticed we have actually been beaten 9 times not 8, but two of them are in the Europa League. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted September 28, 2010 Report Share Posted September 28, 2010 Eh we are missing Inverness It still is a great record though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...