dk2301 Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 accies paid a retainer to north lanarkshire council from what ive been told. all there youth set up use the facilty. anytime i have been up there has always been an accies group training indoor or outdoor. on another note ive met alot of motherwell staff with the youth teams training indoor and outdoor. on the price issue its 27 quid for a third of the outdoor 3g for an hour not sure on the price of the indoor park for the quarter. the fives are the same price for an hour and are good parks to play on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 Motherwell have made a statement in response to newspaper articles... Club Statement Wednesday, 01 December 2010 North Lanarkshire Leisure and Ravenscraig Motherwell Football Club today issued the following press release in response to newspaper articles relating to the Ravenscraig Facility and the subsequent response from North Lanarkshire Leisure (NLL). Commenting, Manager Craig Brown said, "The team are chomping at the bit following last Sunday's postponement and emotions were running high yesterday with everyone desperate to train in spite of the recent inclement weather. "However, those frustrations should not have been taken out on North Lanarkshire Leisure, or the Council, and, as a club, we wish to make clear our unreserved apology that a minor situation has been blown out of all proportion." Chief Executive Leeann Dempster added, "Motherwell Football Club enjoys a very positive relationship with our local council and we are working very hard to make a deeper partnership work for everyone. "We have a number of ideas being worked on at present and will only be able to succeed in them if we deliver positively for the Council's agenda as well as our own which I know we can. "The Ravenscraig site is a hugely positive asset for Lanarkshire and Scotland and for sport and football in particular. We want to play our part in making it an even bigger success and hope we can draw a line under this incident and move forward together." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 There's only one way to sort this out......... FIGHT! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 There's only one way to sort this out......... FIGHT! You don’t want to mess with Craig Brown as I believe he is a bit handy with his fists. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 On slightly different issue i want to highlight a problem with the Ravenscraig Centre.... having been to the centre it appears to be all singing and dancing, looks the part and id even agree its exactly what the area has been needing however.....whats the problem you ask?.....well in my humble opinion its..... I am and have been playing with a reasonably well known football team within the area for 8years and we are currently struggling to tie down long term training facitilies. Having used indoor facilities over the last few years we are of the opinion that it limits our methods of training. The only other similar facility to Ravenscraig which is has not got any long term bookings is Wishaw Sports Centre which we are currently struggling to get a regular booking slot at a reasonable time - we all know training at 10pm etc has problems on bodies attending. Back to the problem....Ravanscraig are looking for £54.00 per hour for a third of the 3G/4G outdoor pitch. Although we would like to train twice a week even training once a week at this cost would be to much as we need to consider paying for a pitch on a saturday, strip washing, referee payment etc etc which all mounts up to a substantial cost weekly. We simply can not sustain this. Even outwith an organised club is it really reasonable for 14 mates to get togther to play 7 aside and pay £3.85 each for 1 hours football? So i ask you will these facitlies at Ravanscraig be used to their full capacity? I'm not to sure. That aside should our Local Authorities be whoring this facility as the next best thing and then asking for the community to pay a fortune to use? I dont think so. We've all heard the issues raised about fat kids, xboxes, no longer seeing boys playing football in the street....the above is'nt helping sort this problem Guys this is my opinion. I understand people will have theres........Open for debate if anyone else is interested. Cheers On another note I was quoted £26 for the outdoor and £55 for the indoor. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dk2301 Posted December 1, 2010 Report Share Posted December 1, 2010 those are fairly decent prices considering its £55quid for an hour at the pitz. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 i would put money on it that they will charge more for pro clubs, which could have fuled the argument. im standing by the club on this one, should be supporting the local team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Aye - I'd be chuffed if I'd booked the pitches and Billy Big Baws FC turned up and asked the management to evict me so that they could have a kick aboot. Yeah - we should have use of the facilities. However we're not above having to manage the situation, plan ahead and book them. I'm with NLL on this one. They should be managing the facility and giving all customers the required level of support Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kylie Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Ugly Coatbridge 'f****n' bastard Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albie Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 I'm sure I'd have been chuffed if someone had said "they had the good sense to pre-book" Jobsworth pricks....... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 I'm sure I'd have been chuffed if someone had said "they had the good sense to pre-book" Jobsworth pricks....... Why? A twenty second phone call books it for you. I'm with SteveDiggle on this one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Why? A twenty second phone call books it for you. I'm with SteveDiggle on this one. How can you pre-book when you don't know you need it til that day? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 I'm sure I'd have been chuffed if someone had said "they had the good sense to pre-book" Jobsworth pricks....... Totally agree, they should be encouraging their local club to use the facillity, Oh sorry i forgot its North lanarkshire council, so i suppose the wee ginger ar*e and his celtic team will have a block booking Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Encouraging your local club to use it is different from turfing (no pun intended) out your regular customers out with zero notice. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 FirParkCorner have been using Ravenscraig, both indoor and outdoor, pretty much since it opened. It's a bit more expensive than we'd been used to in the past, but everyone in our team is of the opinion that the increase in quality of both the facilities and service more than compensates for the increase in price. Furthermore, we've had a good few league games played that I am certain wouldn't have been played anywhere else in Lanarkshire, including our indoor game against Hearts last saturday. It does seem like MFC have been acting Billy Big Baws about it so fair play to the council for telling them to GTF. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Totally agree, they should be encouraging their local club to use the facillity, Oh sorry i forgot its North lanarkshire council, so i suppose the wee ginger ar*e and his celtic team will have a block booking Picture the scene - yer regular SteelmenOnline keyboard thumper doon the gym on a treadmill - in comes billy big baws wi the fancy trainers, the muscles and the fancy keep fit gear. Intae reception wi steam comin oot his ears "Right you doll, ya fud - I'm a local billy big baws hawf marathon runner - goan in there and get they fuckin plebs aff the treadmills - cos I'm local billy big baws marathon runner and when I turn up get these fat fuckers tae fuck so i can have a wee jog any time I like" Aye no problem billy big baws I'll go and eject the fatsos" Aye right - get a grip folks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 I think this is a total non story that has most likely been blown out of all proportion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Just surprises me that Craigie often exhibits a text-book display of diplomacy countered by this event. With milo though, slow news week in football due to frozen pitches and Celtic getting their way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 How can you pre-book when you don't know you need it til that day? Surely Monday tae Friday (mornings & afternoons) cannae be that busy, apart fae school holiday times? PS...can you spot this week's topical reference in that post?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted December 2, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Archie Knox went ballistic with council staff when he found out that Celtic’s youth team had beaten his club to training facilities! The young hoops were quick on the draw on Monday when they booked into the Ravenscraig Leisure Centre for some indoor training forcing Motherwell to head to Toryglen. At first Motherwell claimed to have been outpriced by the North Lanarkshire facility but yesterday it emerged that they had been shown a red card after Knox had turned the air blue. According to a report in The Sun today the former Rangers No. 2 hurled abuse at council employees after finding out Celtic’s Under-19s had booked the pitch they wanted. Jim Logue, chair of North Lanarkshire leisure explained: “The coaching staff of Motherwell FC insisted they wished to use the facility yesterday without a booking and that they should take priority over anyone else. “When told we were unable to accommodate them as other clubs who had taken the sensible step of booking were using the pitches, a member of the Motherwell coaching staff became abusive towards one of our reception staff. “While I welcome Motherwell’s more conciliatory approach during the course of today, we have no option but to now investigate this in the context of our non-harassment policy. “ The chief executive of Motherwell FC has stressed those comments do not represent the views of the club regarding our partnership, which I sincerely hope can continue on a positive footing.” Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 Surely Monday tae Friday (mornings & afternoons) cannae be that busy, apart fae school holiday times? PS...can you spot this week's topical reference in that post?? You're right- it's not too busy, and don't call me Shirley... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 You're right- it's not too busy, and don't call me Shirley... Good Man Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well_Jaggy Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 guaranteed that fud at the centre is a sillic fan and couldn't wait to go running to the press. fud. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bomjac Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 guaranteed that fud at the centre is a sillic fan and couldn't wait to go running to the press. fud. Whos paranoid now then ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well_Jaggy Posted December 2, 2010 Report Share Posted December 2, 2010 hahahaha It's not paranoia if they really are out to get you. The whole world is against MFC and this is just another example. I think that man should be sacked for the terrible way he wouldn't let the glorious MFC use the facilities ahead of the nobody sellic under 19's. Also, sack the receptionist who forced Mr Knox (aledgedly) to shout at her. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...