something else Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Sad news indeed Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fal_Dosser Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Like many, my growing up years of watching the Well in the late 60s through the 70s allowed us to watch some truly fantastic players, of which Joe was one. Â He was a sensational left back, and has often been said, had he played for either of the Squirm, he'd have raked in a load of caps for his country. Â Best wishes Joe, for you and the family. Â Â MON RA DOSSERS Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Psycho1991 Posted October 29, 2010 Author Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 am i the only person who thinks people's medical details shouldn't be posted without their permission? all the best to joe and his family but as someone who has seen close hand what alzheimer's does to a person i don't think "getting better" is very likely. If they were a Motherwell player then the fans deserve to know whether a player is ill or not!  Anyway permission was given before this was posted! I have known about this for a year so I didn't just blab because I was choking to !  Why do people have to bring negatives in to a what should be a positive thread ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Well73 Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 When I got the chance a few years ago to have meal and a drink before the game I spoke to the great man, I can't even remember who we played because all I could tell anybody who would listen was I had met the legend that is Joe Wark. Â My thoughts are with you and your family Joe all the very best from me and mine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Like many, my growing up years of watching the Well in the late 60s through the 70s allowed us to watch some truly fantastic players, of which Joe was one. He was a sensational left back, and has often been said, had he played for either of the Squirm, he'd have raked in a load of caps for his country.  Best wishes Joe, for you and the family.   MON RA DOSSERS  He was unlucky to be playing at the sametime as Danny McGrain, thats why he never won caps he should have.  Also how many players can spend so much time with one club that they qualify for 2 testimonial matches??  All the best Joe. As previously said a man worthy of being labled a "Legend" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gordy Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Very sad news indeed.  He is my all time hero.  When I first went to Well games I used to stand down at the wall to see Joe close up, he was the best tackler I have ever seen with his telescopic left leg. To this day, my favourite number is 3 because of Joe  He was brilliant in every game I saw him in and I never saw him get booked. (He got booked late on in his career but I wasn't there so never saw it).  When he was at his best in the 70's he didn't get Scotland caps only because of Old Firm bias. Sandy Jardine and Danny McGrain were right backs but they played McGrain at left back rather than give Joe the cap he deserved.  After the CIS Cup Final in 2005 we came back from Hampden and were heading to the Fir Park Club and Joe was standing outside. He accepted my very drunk invitation to come in for a drink and was the perfect gentleman as he sat and listened to me talking rubbish.  In all my time in watching Motherwell, Joe Wark will always be a true Legend.  Loyal, Consistent, Professional and a cracking guy as well.  My thoughts are with you and your family, Joe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Right guys calm down , if ever there was a time to not let a thread deteriorate into a slagging match this is it . Joe Wark as a man and player -RESPECT a true Motherwell legend. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Psycho1991 Posted October 29, 2010 Author Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Right guys calm down , if ever there was a time to not let a thread deteriorate into a slagging match this is it . Joe Wark as a man and player -RESPECT a true Motherwell legend. Exactly my point sir! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cambo97 Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Exactly my point sir! Â Why didn't you just say you had asked permission first rather than go off on one. Â He is and always will be my Motherwell Legend. I remember him being brought back about 3 years after retiring and being the man of the match. Â Best wishes Joe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madscot Posted October 29, 2010 Report Share Posted October 29, 2010 Joe Wark. One club man. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alex Spark Posted October 30, 2010 Report Share Posted October 30, 2010 A fantastic servant to MFC over many years,truly a legend&surely one of the best ever players to pull on a M'well jersey Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted October 30, 2010 Report Share Posted October 30, 2010 too young to see him as a player, think i played fitba against him though in some bounce match, others on here could confirm/deny this ..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted October 30, 2010 Report Share Posted October 30, 2010 Sad to hear. Pretty sure Joe did play in that Bobath charity game a few years ago now, did you play in that Busta? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted November 3, 2010 Report Share Posted November 3, 2010 He was unlucky to be playing at the sametime as Danny McGrain, thats why he never won caps he should have. Â Â Danny McGrain played at right back, but was capped at left-back on umpteen occasions because Sandy Jardine had the right back berth. Fine player though Sandy was, he couldn't touch McGrain as a right back. Neither of them were as good as Wark at left back. It was just a case of picking the Old Firm player before anyone else. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Will the fans put up the money for a satute of this loyal club servant at the front of the main stand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Will the fans put up the money for a satute of this loyal club servant at the front of the main stand? Er, a wee bit premature for that sort of talk, surely. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Bloody hope so! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Sad news to hear. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Er, a wee bit premature for that sort of talk, surely. Â Why? You don't have to be dead to have a statute put up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Why? You don't have to be dead to have a statute put up. You don't have to be, but it's kind of traditional. How many statues of living people can you think of? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myteam Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 can we get uncle phil,s memorial/statue sorted out 1st please? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 You don't have to be, but it's kind of traditional. How many statues of living people can you think of? Â Numpty in OZ a retired sports legend who is still alive has a statue outside Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane. Â Anyway it was just a thought as Joe is still alive, should be a fitting gesture to a great club servant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alex Spark Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 What about raising money for a relevant charity by getting car/fridge magnets or other mechandise,etc with Joe Wark picture on them. (Obviously subject to Joe Wark&family approval) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
something else Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Only John 'Sailor' Hunter deserves a statue outside Fir Park. No one else. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted November 4, 2010 Report Share Posted November 4, 2010 Only John 'Sailor' Hunter deserves a statue outside Fir Park. No one else. Willie McFadyen? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...