AndyRoss Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 10 years before my arrival but I am sure most will enjoy! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Nice one. A bit of a rare Joe Wark effort there too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 What a find Andra, haven't seen that in years. I tried to find this clip but was told lots of material had been destroyed including this one. How many more are out there I wonder. Andy Lynch's two OG's in a 3-0 win over Shellic perhaps? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Look at that crowd! Magic! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Tremendous stuff - large crowd back then when it was fairly cheap to get in and little live TV to spoil things. Bet it was Saturday 3pm kick off too. Just sayin'..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuwell Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Outstanding stuff - nearly jumped off my seat when the 3rd goal went in! Just got to pick the right time to show this to my Rangers supporting boss Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperCC Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Funny seeing wee Tommy with the cross for Rangers goal! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brisbaneMFC Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Magic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Good clip but bloody hell, thought we played in claret and amber no canary yellow! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Great stuff! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
2/6 tae get in Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Was at that game with a cousin up from England,remember going 'mental' when Pettigrew scored the second and him trying to calm me down as there were gers fans next to us in the old enclosure in front of the main stand . Great memories of old Fir Park and of one of Well's best ever teams in my opinion. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Claret and amber has been completely bastardised by Motherwell over the years, to be fair. I like the shades that we play in just now but I strongly doubt the Dulux colour chart would have them down as claret and amber. I bought the 1991 cup-winning retro strip the other week and was surprised to see just how orange it was! Frazzle Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craig Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 excellent find. the fans celebrating at the end is class. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ya Bezzer! Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Man, those goalkeepers were pish! No wonder Greavsie and Emlyn Hughes just to joke about us and Alan Rough won 50 odd caps! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Claret and amber has been completely bastardised by Motherwell over the years, to be fair. I like the shades that we play in just now but I strongly doubt the Dulux colour chart would have them down as claret and amber. I bought the 1991 cup-winning retro strip the other week and was surprised to see just how orange it was! Frazzle I agree we should have stuck to that Canary Yellow colour of 76' I get what your saying, Think the 'amber' in todays kits is much better but the 'claret' is just a few shades too dark. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Seeing the players that many of us reminisce about was superb. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Was at that game with a cousin up from England,remember going 'mental' when Pettigrew scored the second and him trying to calm me down as there were gers fans next to us in the old enclosure in front of the main stand . Great memories of old Fir Park and of one of Well's best ever teams in my opinion. I remember doing the same thing when we beat Shellic 2-1 in the game McClair got his double. Stood right behind the goals at the South Stand end surrounded by Shellic fans and was the only Motherwell fan in sight - got many grumbles of abuse when the first went in. Wasn't so bad in the 89th minute, there weren't too many of them left at that point! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest mockchop Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 that is class,big gregor Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 That is quality!! Love seeing 'Well pictures/players from before my time. Especially the old FP, I know they are few and far between but anyone got old photies of FP, even really old FP before the main stand as I am trying to put something together?? Cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Jeez!! Great to see this again. I was at this game with my brother - in the old enclosure in front of the Main Stand. IMO this is the best 'Well side I have seen at FP. Great quality and terrific to see all the 'old' players again. What a first goal set up by Vic Davidson. Now that's what a midfielder should be like. He was pure class. WP doing what came really naturally to him scoring great goals. Like a whippet and when he got a glimpse of the white of the goals he wouldn't stop to think - just shoot. This is the later in the same year that Rangers robbed us of a Scottish Cup final against Hearts when we lost 3-2 at Hampden in the March after being 2-0 up with 15 minutes to go. Still hurts even after all this time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Think semi final was previous season Grew, Admiral kit was worn in that semi for the first time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 What an amazing find ! Cheers !! That was my first ever game against Rangers.........remember going feckin' wild at that third goal with tears of joy streamin' doon ma face !! Magic......magic........ Vic Davidson was some player mind......one of my favourites of all time (as per the other thread). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
casey Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Brilliant find! Must be the first time I've seen those goals since 1976. Was in the Knowetop end for this game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 IMO this is the best 'Well side I have seen at FP.......................This is the later in the same year that Rangers robbed us of a Scottish Cup final against Hearts when we lost 3-2 at Hampden in the March after being 2-0 up with 15 minutes to go. Still hurts even after all this time. Echo those thoughts. Great MFC team then, sadly no silverware though. Only down side ......... me with long hair then Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
casey Posted January 22, 2009 Report Share Posted January 22, 2009 Good site this. Here's another good clip http://video.stv.tv/bc/sport-football-2008...well-hibs-1978/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...