bigcol Posted December 18, 2010 Report Share Posted December 18, 2010 Anybody know if Mark Hately is due for an interview? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted December 18, 2010 Report Share Posted December 18, 2010 Its all bollocks anyway. Did stubbs go to celtic for the love of the hoops. Did he Fuck. He went for the ridiculous wages they were offering at the time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted December 18, 2010 Report Share Posted December 18, 2010 For what it is worth here is a section from today's Daily Record; Â The Lanarkshire club have been interviewing candidates and other names in the frame include Gus MacPherson, Chris McCart, Stuart McCall, Jimmy Calderwood, Pat Fenlon and John Hughes. Â Seems unlikely due to compensation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al Pacino Posted December 18, 2010 Report Share Posted December 18, 2010 i'll be massively disapointed if we end up with stubbs, mccall or sutton. they've all done heehaw in management and have nothing going for them except OF name recognition. appointing stubbs would be a recipe for disaster, we'd only ever be a short bad spell away from a maplas style fans revolt. appointing someone the fans are unlikely ever to accept is a terrible idea, you'd be as well bringing mcghee back.  Why would the fans be unlikely ever to accept Stubbs? He wouldn't be my first choice but I'm sure the vast majority would accept him if he did well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 Why would the fans be unlikely ever to accept Stubbs? He wouldn't be my first choice but I'm sure the vast majority would accept him if he did well. Â his only association with scottish football is as a celtic player. Â add that to the fact he's got no managerial track record and i don't think he'd get much leeway from the fans. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al Pacino Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 his only association with scottish football is as a celtic player. Â add that to the fact he's got no managerial track record and i don't think he'd get much leeway from the fans. Â I don't think the Celtic connection should (or would) be an issue to the majority of fans if he came in and did a decent job. However, I'm still hoping that John Boyle is going to pull a rabbit out the hat and none of the names mentioned so far will get the job! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian-in-Oz Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 i really don't want any manager with any connection to the old firm. That is all What's Wim Jansen doing these days? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 If the likes of McPherson, Calderwood, Hughes or McGhee got the job I'd be devastated. Â While none of us know much about the coaching ability and tactical awareness of Stubbs, I'm far more excited about the prospect of a left-field appointment than the aforementioned names. Obviously Stubbs is a risk but we have scope to take a risk at the moment. From what we have seen of Stubbs as a player and personality over the years, he strikes me as someone who may well have the attributes to make it as a manager. Â In years gone by, similar threads on here have seen folk rule out the the likes of Lambert and Coyle due to their lack of experience and unknown ability. Look at the pair of them now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 In years gone by, similar threads on here have seen folk rule out the the likes of Lambert and Coyle due to their lack of experience and unknown ability. Look at the pair of them now. Â That might be true but for every Lambert and Coyle there's a Malpas or May. Â Any rookie appointment is a calculated gamble. However the names being bandied about for our shortlist don't fill me with confidence - I just hope thee are dark horses not mentioned by the media. Going by past appointments that's a strong possibility of course. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
punk_in_drublic Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 I've waited for a wee while to see what names would be thrown up. I must admit, its a struggle to pick anyone as they are all pretty uninspiratinonal. Â Out of the ones mentioned so far i would say Derek McInnes, however he is with a club so probably no chance. Plus i would feel bad at poaching someone elses manager as it aint a nice feeling. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 what about mio hres managed red star Belgrade and won the league with them twice and has his european licence also think he could find a few gems from abroad as well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 In years gone by, similar threads on here have seen folk rule out the the likes of Lambert and Coyle due to their lack of experience and unknown ability. Look at the pair of them now. Â both of them are in their fourth jobs and have walked out on clubs which gave them a great opportunity to go rivals. Â stubbs should be a non starter. fuck letting an ex old firm player use our club to see how they get on as a manager. i'd rather have calderwood. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 I've waited for a wee while to see what names would be thrown up. I must admit, its a struggle to pick anyone as they are all pretty uninspiratinonal. Out of the ones mentioned so far i would say Derek McInnes, however he is with a club so probably no chance. Plus i would feel bad at poaching someone elses manager as it aint a nice feeling.  Entirely agree with you on McInnes, but the St Johnstone chairman does nothing but get his money's worth. We could never afford to bring him here, sadly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 what about mio hres managed red star Belgrade and won the league with them twice and has his european licence also think he could find a few gems from abroad as well  Eh..no he hasn't. He manages Celtic's under 17s. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 Eh..no he hasn't. He manages Celtic's under 17s. eh aye he has m8 ma da works wae him tae n hees gt a wiki page and facebook page n they say he managed them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 eh aye he has m8 ma da works wae him tae n hees gt a wiki page and facebook page n they say he managed them pardon? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 ma da works wae um at celtic he has also said that he managed red star an was gd friends wae vidic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albie Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 ma da works wae um at celtic he has also said that he managed red star an was gd friends wae vidic  Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 mio said 2 us he managed at red star go onto his wiki page n you'll c that he did manage them won 2 leagues n a cup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 mio said 2 us he managed at red star go onto his wiki page n you'll c that he did manage them won 2 leagues n a cup  If you're going to pretend that it actually does say on Wikipedia that he managed Red Star at some point, at least have the committment to edit it to back up your claim. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 sorry every 1 my mistake it was when he played 4 them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigmcd Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 what about mio hres managed red star Belgrade and won the league with them twice and has his european licence also think he could find a few gems from abroad as well   on the wiki page it does say red star belgrade and won 2 league titles and a cup but if you look at the dates you will c it was in the 1983-84 and 87-88 and won the cup in 84. he was at red star for 4 years when he was 24 -28 years old as he was born in 1959. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 on the wiki page it does say red star belgrade and won 2 league titles and a cup but if you look at the dates you will c it was in the 1983-84 and 87-88 and won the cup in 84. he was at red star for 4 years when he was 24 -28 years old as he was born in 1959. yea i no my mistake Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 why doesn't everyone just wait and see who the manager is gonna be instead of all the pointless guesses on here Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stephmfc1993 Posted December 19, 2010 Report Share Posted December 19, 2010 why doesn't everyone just wait and see who the manager is gonna be instead of all the pointless guesses on here cause its ghd 2 hav a discussion an debate Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...