Scuddee Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Motherwell have decided not to renew the contract of striker Alan Gow and the former Falkirk and Rangers man has left the club. The 28-year-old signed a short-term deal during the summer and played seventeen times in Claret and Amber, scoring twice. However, manager Stuart McCall has decided not to offer the player an extended deal, and even although his contract expires next week, injury has ruled him out of Sunday’s clash with Dundee so he has been allowed to leave early. McCall will now use the additional resource to strengthen the team elsewhere. “The reason we have released Alan has nothing to do with his ability, it is financial,” said the ‘Well boss. “We can strengthen other areas of the team using that wage, and we are looking to bring in players in the near future.” Motherwell Football Club would like to thank Alan for all his efforts whilst at Fir Park and wish him every success in the future. A decision on the future of fellow out-of-contract player Marc Fitzpatrick will be taken next week whilst the club remains hopeful of securing Blackburn’s Nick Blackman on an additional loan. Good thing? Free up some wages Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Bring in Scotlands best kept secret Ikechi Anya! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ikechi_Anya Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Bring in Scotlands best kept secret Ikechi Anya! Ikechi_Anya Aye, because we can afford the £500K-£1m price tag (Mallorca had a £650K bid rejected). Why don't we go the whole hog and try and sign Ryan Harper too - currently playing for Real Betis "B".... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Aye, because we can afford the £500K-£1m price tag (Mallorca had a £650K bid rejected). Why don't we go the whole hog and try and sign Ryan Harper too - currently playing for Real Betis "B".... Ryan Harper? ppfffttt he's pish compared to his wee brother who plays with Real Madrid Bring Kevin Kerr in! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Good riddance, he was baws. And, given he's an ex-h*n, was probably on a decent whack. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paisley Steelman Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 The best thing from that statement was that the club are still confident of bring Blackman back !! Get it right up you , Craig Broon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 The best thing from that statement was that the club are still confident of bring Blackman back !! Get it right up you , Craig Broon the best part is when it says Gow got released Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Strengthen other areas of the team though? I hope what they are really saying is "We made a boo boo with Gow's wages and now realise we can bring in two players for what we were paying him. One will be another striker". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 failed to impress and when down to easy for my liking (you can take the player out of the old firm but you can't take the old firm out of the player Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joeboy Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 We've lost far greater players in the past. Not bothered by it at all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Del_Superwell Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Great news, he was utter shite, glad Gow has gone. Hopefully we can use the wages freed up by this to bring in a couple new faces. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
boab_mfc Posted January 7, 2011 Report Share Posted January 7, 2011 Thank fuck! waste of space...that is all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Craig Posted January 8, 2011 Report Share Posted January 8, 2011 Done absolute hee-haw! Set up a goal for Lasley and scored a tap-in. Let's see what kind of players big Stuarty will bring in... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cameltoe Posted January 8, 2011 Report Share Posted January 8, 2011 Best news in ages thats for sure. Hope McCall can put his own stamp on the squad and pit Gow's wage to a better use. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...