siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 The game's up for I and many others methinks. Are we planning for SPL 2 so soon? I said the same on Saturday that we look to be gearing up for SPL2 and if we survive in the Premier league then maybe more cash in the summer will become available! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Wouldn't be my choice but I don't see what his record, as a manager of Airdrie has to do with him becoming Assistant Manager at Motherwell. Just take a look at the likes of Maurice Malpas, Brian Kidd, Archie Knox, Carlos Queiroz and many, many, many more... All very good Assistant Managers but very questionable as actual Managers... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Wouldn't be my choice but I don't see what his record, as a manager of Airdrie has to do with him becoming Assistant Manager at Motherwell. Just take a look at the likes of Maurice Malpas, Brian Kidd, Archie Knox, Carlos Queiroz and many, many, many more... All very good Assistant Managers but very questionable as actual Managers... Basically because he was Airdrie manager It's like Billy Reid being Assistant Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Basically because he was Airdrie managerIt's like Billy Reid being Assistant So it's a step up for him then. And as others have pointed out, he is an ex-Well player. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 So it's a step up for him then. And as others have pointed out, he is an ex-Well player. Im a bit immature i guess, i just cant support for anyone at my club who's had strong ties to Airdrie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Im a bit immature i guess, i just cant support for anyone at my club who's had strong ties to Airdrie Why, when the club he has strong ties to and is remembered for has played us a massive once... in a poor Scottish Cup game, we won, 1-0.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewhitepele Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 So it's a step up for him then. And as others have pointed out, he is an ex-Well player. Aye ex-Well player,arrived half way through 83-84 season from Rangers in a swap deal with Derek Lyall for Nicky Walker,then buggered of to tynecastle at the end of the season when we got relegated,so was here for less than half a season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bigshinyhead Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 No, you're right enough. He's just not 'Motherwell minded' (spoken with nasal twang). Fuck whether anybody can do the job, the first question at any interview should be 'and who do you support then?' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Aye ex-Well player,arrived half way through 83-84 season from Rangers in a swap deal with Derek Lyall for Nicky Walker,then buggered of to tynecastle at the end of the season when we got relegated,so was here for less than half a season.Do you hate Bobby Graham for playing for Accies for 4 years and Willie Pettigrew for his 3 years at Hearts? The team Black managed aren't our rivals - they are Clydebank with different jerseys. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Whats Pettigrew playing with hearts got to do with Motherwell's rivalry with Airdrie? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Larry David Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Im a bit immature i guess, i just cant support for anyone at my club who's had strong ties to Airdrie Owen Coyle? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Owen Coyle? I stand corrected Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Whats Pettigrew playing with hearts got to do with Motherwell's rivalry with Airdrie? TBF Hearts are more our "rivals" than Airdrie United could ever dream of being, never mind actually being. I don't buy this crap that they're Airdrieonians because they're not. As weeyin says, they're Clydebank in Airdrie colours... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hoof hearted Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Whats Pettigrew playing with hearts got to do with Motherwell's rivalry with Airdrie? cos hearts are our rivals tae, u talk sum shite btw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 TBF Hearts are more our "rivals" than Airdrie United could ever dream of being, never mind actually being. I don't buy this crap that they're Airdrieonians because they're not. As weeyin says, they're Clydebank in Airdrie colours... Well i guess we can all agree we dont like Aberdeen Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewhitepele Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Do you hate Bobby Graham for playing for Accies for 4 years and Willie Pettigrew for his 3 years at Hearts? The team Black managed aren't our rivals - they are Clydebank with different jerseys. Would you like to highlight for me exactly were i said i hated anyone?I merely stated 'where Kenny Black came from and when and how long he was here and where he buggered off too at the 1st opportunity after relegation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shotts Well Fan Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Well i guess we can all agree we dont like Aberdeen Amen Brother Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gdalli10 Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 so he was a shite manager, doesn't mean he isn't a good coach. no? also i couldn't give less of a fuck that he used to manage Airdrie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 so he was a shite manager, doesn't mean he isn't a good coach. no? also i couldn't give less of a fuck that he used to manage Airdrie Whilst the fact he used to manage and play for Airdrie doesn't bother me at all (truth be told I actually quite like the fact that it irked their fans when we've signed Coyle and Gow because of how much they liked then) and Black may well go on to prove himself an assistant of some repute, I can't help feeling there should be alarm bells ringing given horrendously poor a reputation he has amongst my mates, whose opinions I generally hold as being pretty sound. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 I'm getting the same reaction from Airdrie supporting mates!!! Chuckle chuckle chuckle appears to be the general consensus! Need to wait and see though, as has been mentioned might be a decent number 2! I think we really need to get someone in ASAP as SMc must be hard worked at the moment with scouting, training, trying to sign players etc! Need to remember that Black has worked with the tactical geniuses(genii) that are Craig Levein and Peter Houston recently so he might have picked up a trick or two! ESP with the attacking football philosophy that SMc wants to approach! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Disappointed we haven't gotten Tommy Craig. That might have worked out to be ideal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Certainly in The Sun, McCall is quoted as saying Black is the current favourite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myteam Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 thought stuarty looked lonely when the cameras zoomed in on him yesterday at the ayr v hibs game. busy busy man Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infamous Wee Grafter Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 I miss Mr Gannon & Mr Ward I'll give McCall time to show what he can do, if he believes Black is best man for the job, then so be it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
underboyleheating Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Black confirmed as new assistant Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...