andybug Posted January 18, 2011 Report Share Posted January 18, 2011 We are crying out for a left sided defender/midfielder - how about Jim Paterson? Any others? so far I'm uninspired by who we've been linked with maybe we can help out! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shaka Posted January 18, 2011 Report Share Posted January 18, 2011 if we can find a new left midfielder great,if not Id like to see Jon Page installed @ left back + Stevie Hammell at left mid. Or Jordan Halsman called back and tried on the left. Both would mean blooding one of our young talents with Hammell on the same side helping them out with his experience Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted January 18, 2011 Report Share Posted January 18, 2011 keep Murphy ot there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted January 18, 2011 Report Share Posted January 18, 2011 Hammell has never had a good game in left midfield Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted January 18, 2011 Report Share Posted January 18, 2011 Because he's not a Left midfielder. Same Pish was spouted about Mark Reynolds for years tae (put him in Midfield/left back) I also don't think Johnny Page is a left back. could be wrong though Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 keep Murphy ot there Total waste of a player. He's best playing off the striker, finding space and bringing other players into the game. Also: Paterson was really poor at Aberdeen when he was there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxi Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Total waste of a player. He's best playing off the striker, finding space and bringing other players into the game. Also: Paterson was really poor at Aberdeen when he was there. Only played a couple of games due to injury though. Starting to feature a bit at Plymouth. Contracts up at end of season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Motherwell has a long tradition of left sided players (something to do with the slop I think) mind you Hammel seems to be the last of them at the moment Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Big Cedric is the man for the job. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee g Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 3 good left footers at the club at this moment :- Halsman, Pollock & Lawless and also the young boy McKinnon in the under 19`s. Halsman is a left back and is playing well with Annan. Pollock and Lawless are the most skillful but need built up a bit more. So the tradition of left sided footballers at the club is still there. We should start to get the benefit of these guys beginning of next season or if not sooner. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Because he's not a Left midfielder. Same Pish was spouted about Mark Reynolds for years tae (put him in Midfield/left back) I also don't think Johnny Page is a left back. could be wrong though And you are happy for Murphy to play left midfield, quite hypocritical Busta!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tree Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Watched Halsman all season and he has played both in defence and midfield (on the left). If you were asking me his best position, I'd say left midfield due mainly to his goal threat. Defensively, Bob Harris at Queens would be worth a shout - contract expires in the summer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Watched Halsman all season and he has played both in defence and midfield (on the left). If you were asking me his best position, I'd say left midfield due mainly to his goal threat. Defensively, Bob Harris at Queens would be worth a shout - contract expires in the summer. How's he been playing. Does he look a decent player? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Gardyne from Ross County? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TAM Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Gardyne from Ross County? left out last night as rumoured to be going to Hibs! Adams connection... so yes may even see this one at FP this weekend but not in C&A! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted January 19, 2011 Report Share Posted January 19, 2011 Siebsbarmyarmy: Sorry I've not been clear here, My point was that if we don't get a left midfielder in, Jamie Murphy will continue to be our best option there, not where he'd like to play, or where i'd rather see him. No left mid brought in though and he's our best option. Were as Steve Hammell is a good left back, I can't imagine him causing terror in opposition defences Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted January 20, 2011 Report Share Posted January 20, 2011 Busta Nut That's explained far better and for the record I agree with you 100%! Makes it a lot easier when you put a valid opinion across rather than just coming on and saying folk are 'talking pish'. Causes less agro and the world is a happier place Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busta Nut Posted January 20, 2011 Report Share Posted January 20, 2011 nice of us to agree Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wee g Posted January 21, 2011 Report Share Posted January 21, 2011 Halsman back at Motherwell. he refused to sign another loan contract at Annan. Another left footer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...