steelboy Posted February 14, 2011 Report Share Posted February 14, 2011 Remember that question and let's see how many times its brought up over the coming season!!I'm thinking more of boardroom decisions and financial stratagies. I've always thought good leadership and planning worked better than just throwing money at something, with recent managers proving the case. Is S.M. the man for the job? Lets ask the question, who picked him and what was the reasoning? Has the squad enough depth or quality, who made that decision? Players have off days and managers sometimes get tactics wrong.... IMO there's bigger questions in the background needing asked! It would be nice to hear some information on that front but unfortunately it's all gone quiet in that department lately!!!!! who picked him? it seems fairly obvious and the reason he got it is because he's enthusiastic and willing to work with the resources we have (which is the same reason gannon and brown got it). is he the man for the job? we need to give him a chance to bring in players in the summer, then a judgement can be made. as for the squad, we've extremely thin just now but in a way we've been victims of our own success. clubs down south can triple the wages of guys like o'brien, hughes, coke, reynolds and it's very difficult for us to replace with the same quality. succesive managers have chosen to bring in loan signings rather than invest the money we do have in permament players, this is going to come to a head in the summer when it's likely that the only outfield players older than 22 at the club will be craggs, lasley and hammell. this summer is huge for us. the financial results come out next week. we'll have a better idea where we stand then. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted February 15, 2011 Report Share Posted February 15, 2011 Most Shameful Display Ever, of course, is mealy-mouthed Brown's U-turn. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted February 15, 2011 Report Share Posted February 15, 2011 I spoke to my Rangers mates at work about the game and their still ripping me for the game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 15, 2011 Report Share Posted February 15, 2011 I spoke to my Rangers mates at work about the game and their still ripping me for the game Times like this I'm glad I deliberately avoided making friends with Old Firm fans. Wisnae difficult right enough Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted February 15, 2011 Report Share Posted February 15, 2011 Brown left the club as things were gonna go down hill after January and they have, they were right... they left because they felt they couldn't do anymore at motherwell because they were at the best position they could be and were gonna go down hill.. at Aberdeen they were taking over a team that could only do better and they are doing better.. Craig and Archie made the right choice and their reasoning was correct. Motherwell will be in a relegation battle this season and it is no fault of McCalls, the team is thread bare and McCall wasn't given the money to change that Aberdeen well I could see a top 6 place for them, maybe even clinching 4th or 5th place... and that I would hate to see Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
don_keyride Posted February 15, 2011 Report Share Posted February 15, 2011 McCall wasn't given the money to change that You sure about that? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted February 15, 2011 Report Share Posted February 15, 2011 Brown left the club as things were gonna go down hill after January and they have, they were right...they left because they felt they couldn't do anymore at motherwell because they were at the best position they could be and were gonna go down hill.. at Aberdeen they were taking over a team that could only do better and they are doing better.. Craig and Archie made the right choice and their reasoning was correct. Motherwell will be in a relegation battle this season and it is no fault of McCalls, the team is thread bare and McCall wasn't given the money to change that Aberdeen well I could see a top 6 place for them, maybe even clinching 4th or 5th place... and that I would hate to see No way will we be in a serious relegation scrap. No way will Aberdeen finish 4th. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted February 16, 2011 Report Share Posted February 16, 2011 No way will we be in a serious relegation scrap. No way will Aberdeen finish 4th. I don't see it really, I don't think they pulled off what they planned to do.. as for Motherwell.. I see a serious relegation battle brewing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted February 16, 2011 Report Share Posted February 16, 2011 I see a serious relegation battle brewingI think your vision has been impaired by too much smoke. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robyn Posted February 16, 2011 Report Share Posted February 16, 2011 Brown left the club as things were gonna go down hill after January and they have, they were right...they left because they felt they couldn't do anymore at motherwell because they were at the best position they could be and were gonna go down hill.. at Aberdeen they were taking over a team that could only do better and they are doing better.. Craig and Archie made the right choice and their reasoning was correct. Motherwell will be in a relegation battle this season and it is no fault of McCalls, the team is thread bare and McCall wasn't given the money to change that Aberdeen well I could see a top 6 place for them, maybe even clinching 4th or 5th place... and that I would hate to see I thought you were a bit of an eejit, thank you for confirming it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesacs Posted February 16, 2011 Report Share Posted February 16, 2011 who picked him? it seems fairly obvious and the reason he got it is because he's enthusiastic and willing to work with the resources we have (which is the same reason gannon and brown got it). i agree with most of what you are saying - if we flourish and do well, we dont have the money to keep a team together, players will always be attracted to more money (even Las and Hammell -who are MFC stalwarts now) for what we are, we always seem to do well but McCall is working under far more contraints and restrictions then either of the two mentioned above i also agree that this summer is huge for us - but at the same time, i certainly do not see an influx of players - so all those who love the transfer gossip - i think will be disappointed Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted February 16, 2011 Report Share Posted February 16, 2011 I was totally wrong about the outcome of last night's game, and glad I was. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted February 16, 2011 Report Share Posted February 16, 2011 I was totally wrong about the outcome of last night's game, and glad I was. Me too. It feels great!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ScottW1886 Posted February 17, 2011 Report Share Posted February 17, 2011 Brown left the club as things were gonna go down hill after January and they have, they were right...they left because they felt they couldn't do anymore at motherwell because they were at the best position they could be and were gonna go down hill.. at Aberdeen they were taking over a team that could only do better and they are doing better.. Craig and Archie made the right choice and their reasoning was correct. Motherwell will be in a relegation battle this season and it is no fault of McCalls, the team is thread bare and McCall wasn't given the money to change that Aberdeen well I could see a top 6 place for them, maybe even clinching 4th or 5th place... and that I would hate to see No, they didn't. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 17, 2011 Report Share Posted February 17, 2011 No, they didn't. Agreed, they left cos they got a big hoose and a massive great wage rise. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kris*Kaizer 2*Nunn Posted February 17, 2011 Report Share Posted February 17, 2011 Agreed, they left cos they got a big hoose and a massive great wage rise. And broon could stay at the but n ben anytime he wanted! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Catweazles ring piece Posted February 17, 2011 Report Share Posted February 17, 2011 Agreed, they left cos they got a big hoose and a massive great wage rise. Hope auld Craig and Archie settle in well to the big hoose Milne built them. Pity they didn't read the fine print of their contracts (they don't bother with them anyhow) to realise they've been placed in a nursing home for incontinent, pissy panted auld floppers. Anyway, credit to McCall and the team for chamfering a new one up Brown's Box. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superwell87 Posted February 17, 2011 Report Share Posted February 17, 2011 Agreed, they left cos they got a big hoose and a massive great wage rise.Don't forget the brand new tartan shawl Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted February 17, 2011 Report Share Posted February 17, 2011 Luvvit roon ye Granpa' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...