Pepper Posted May 2, 2009 Report Share Posted May 2, 2009 The prospect of european football next season might be the very incentive we need to keep the likes of Hughes and Smith. It may be what seals the deal when we're fighting for a players signature with some league 1 english team. Don't underestimate just how important it is, even if we do get there by the back door! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pepper Posted May 2, 2009 Report Share Posted May 2, 2009 I think most folk are now awaiting next Friday's Fair Play Table than Motherwell actually playing just now! Like us getting beat on Shetanta, that's a certainty! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted May 3, 2009 Report Share Posted May 3, 2009 The prospect of european football next season might be the very incentive we need to keep the likes of Hughes and Smith. Christ, I hope we don't qualify then... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deaddogman Posted May 3, 2009 Report Share Posted May 3, 2009 Indeed it has, and although I'm not a regular paper reader I was of the opinion that the SFA decided that (on the back of Gretna's and St Johnstone's .... edit Qo' South, sorry european adventures), only the Cup winners would represent this country in the UEFA cup amd should that team already be an entrant in the Champions League then the place would be allocated according to an SPL finish. This indeed was mooted, but Michel Platini, knocked it back stating that this fairytale route is the only chance lower league clubs have and so , they would not sanction such moves Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheLip69 Posted May 4, 2009 Report Share Posted May 4, 2009 Even if we don't get through all 3 rounds of qualifying, I believe that competitive matches will make us sharper for the start of the season than the usual round of friendlies. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 How are we looking now after getting four players booked on Sat? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 They stopped counting this years on the 30th of April they are counting for the 09/10 season now Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welldaft Mk1 Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 I wondered that too. But the two leagues are seperate. The UEFA fair play league as has been discussed closed end of last month - so Scotland will either be in the top 3 or not as it will proabably turn out to be the case! But is only the best (or second best to Celtic) or well disciplined club in Scotland who go forward to represent Scotland. I assume therefore that our fair play league runs until the end of the season. It would be somewhat ironic if Scotland were in the top 3 but we were not in pole in the scottish league. 4 yellow cards did not help, but we should know this week whether Scotland are in line for that extra UEFA cup place. If that is the case then I would not play Klimpl again this season Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 As I posted earlier I checked the news reports on Man City last year and they found out the week after uefa finished counting at the end of april. So it really is a case of waiting till friday to see if Scotland made the top 3. Fingers crossed Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DC'd Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 As I posted earlier I checked the news reports on Man City last year and they found out the week after uefa finished counting at the end of april. So it really is a case of waiting till friday to see if Scotland made the top 3. Fingers crossed Are you sure? As remember, last season, Richard Dunne was sent off early in Man City's last fixture of the season. And they weren't sure whether that affected their Fair Play standing, and almost allowed the then nearly relegated Fulham to take the place. That is why Man City sat back and refused to tackle for the rest of the game and ultimately lost 8-1. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 Last year's table was up until 31st May. This years is to 30th April, that's why City were Citting themselves! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tartan_Special Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 Sorry guys I think yer right. Tae the hall of the damned wi ma pish!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 Just to wet the appetites of the optimistic among us... complete list of possible destinations if we do qualify through fair play.... Israel, Sweden, Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Croatia, Cyprus, Slovenia, Finland, Latvia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Lithuania, Moldova, Republic of Ireland, F.Y.R. Macedonia, Iceland, Georgia, Liechtenstein, Belarus, Estonia, Azerbaijan, Albania, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland, Wales, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Andorra, San Marino... + the two other fair play qualifying nations. Short trip to Ireland or Wales... wee package deal to Cyprus hmmm Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The African Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 Wouldn't fancy Israel, and Moldova is pretty ropey- most of the rest would do nicely. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 so basically europe then? Sure!... if you consider england, spain, italy, france, germany, russia, romania, portugal, netherlands, turkey, ukraine, belgium, greece, czech republic, switzerland, bulgaria, norway, denmark, austria and serbia.... to be part of africa Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
john_M_F_C Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 I think in the very early stages of the UEFA cup the draws are regionalised. Basically should we get it you end up the Ireland, Northern Ireland, Wales and the Scandanavian nations. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
el-pidge Posted May 5, 2009 Report Share Posted May 5, 2009 That makes sense... probably favourable too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewhitepele Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 Radio Scotland just said Scotland have got fair play place and now its between st mirren and us to see who finishes best in our fair play league...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 Right, nae tackling for the rest of the season, and any c**t that gets a yellow card for time wasting, diving or dissent gets fined a week's wages. Sorted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelEdge Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 F*ck. See if that mob beat us to a fair play place, I'll no be a happy chappy! However, good news that Scotland have a place!!! Anyone know what the standings are in the SPL fair play table? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iain7_mfc Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 St Midden have 3 more yellow cards than we do and 1 more red card. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 Radio Scotland just said Scotland have got fair play place and now its between st mirren and us to see who finishes best in our fair play league...... I'd be absolutely speechless if that mob beat us to it. This table is up-to-date but includes the week-end and our four yellows (which don't count as the qualifying point is up to the end of April).... Soccernet I imagine Radio Scotland were trawling the net and found this story....(check the date).... Way, way back........ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 Bear in mind though that it's not just the card count that is used to determine the UEFA fair play place. Theres loads of other disciplinary things that are taken into consideration. Respect towards referees and opponents, positive play, fouls, crowd behavior and behaviour of club officials are all taken into account. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 Respect for refs? Well, considering they've Jim Hamilton in their side, that rules them out!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MFCGMFC Posted May 7, 2009 Report Share Posted May 7, 2009 so Scotland definitely have the place? its just up to us to make it ours? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...